We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less than satisfactory” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Dupre Hotel

Save Saved
You added Chateau Dupre Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chateau Dupre Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   131 Rue Decatur, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Ramada Inn French Quarter) (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #146 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Less than satisfactory”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

The carpet had stains, the first night a towel was stained, the bed boxspring had plastic on it, the tvs were outdated, the beds were uncomfortable. In my estimation old, outdated, and motel 6 would be considered luxury.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    29
    47
    56
    145
See reviews for
24
77
14
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The location was great for us and we just wanted a place to stay that was cheap, where we could shower and sleep so we did not spend much time in the room. It is a very old hotel but that is what we expected. Looks like this hotel has been through a lot from parties, etc. but us ladies had no major issues with the place. Did have to ask for extra towels one day because there were 4 of us in the room but after that we just left a nice note to housekeeping each day and we got our towels; also ran low on hot water after showers. The front desk staff was very helpful and nice to all of us. The bar/restaurant next to the hotel was very nice to have a drink, etc. before going out. The elevator door does close very fast so you have to jump on quickly or have someone hold the open button for you while you get on...the front desk staff informed us about this before hand. We all enjoyed our stay and had a great time in New Orleans!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

we stayed there may 2013. the staff good.. the rooms..yikes..and GOOD GOD watch the elevator the door will slam shut FAST !!!!! Room had enough dust on lamps, bathroom lights, floors that if you have allergies beware. Phone broken, hair dryer broken, lamp shades broken, bedspread has BURN holes even though it is a no smoking room.. only good thing is the location............

Room Tip: not worth the money folks (no pool or fitness center by the way not sure why i had to grade that par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The only positive comment I can make about this hotel is that it is in a good location, you are right in the French Quarter. Otherwise it is run down, dirty, moldy. I had to change room 3 times to be able to have a bit of comfort, I woke up in the morning with a couple of small cockroaches crawling on my leg...Most of the TV channels did not work and when they did it was all foggy.
I was charged $269.00 per night because it was Jazz Fest.

Room Tip: There is a decent restaurant next door where you can have breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is close to everything, it has an excellent location. Before arriving I was nervous about the quality of the hotel but it is overall ok. It is a good hotel to stay for cheap and explore the city. The staff is nice we were able to get our room before check in, I really appreciated that. They also store our bags after we check out. It is a good value with good service, and a perfect location!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I went to New Orleans and paid $500 for 2 nights at this place. It was not worth $100 a night. I was in a king size "bed" that was actually a king size mattress that was sitting on 2 twin size box springs. One of the box springs had a huge brown stain on it, the curtains had similar stains on it, and there was a hole the window frame that was covered by masking tape and had obvious water damage. The hotel was located right beside a recycling/trash center so it was hard to get any sleep due to the dumping of bottles every other hour. Then, my last night there it rains. I wake up in the middle of the night with the window leaking large amounts of water. I was so exhausted that I did not tell the front desk until check out. When I was checking out, I started to mention the window and the front desk clerk cut me off and said,"It's leaking?" Obviously we weren't the first customers to complain about it. If you are get a room here for less than $75 a night, go for it. If you are looking to pay more, I would suggest an establishment that takes pride in themselves.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osage Beach, Missouri, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The hotel is located in the French Quarter within walking distance of a lot of activities, the fun stops there though. Yes it is an older building--brick on one side of the room and plaster on the other, long and narrow that sort of thing-- and that didn't bother me or my sister. The beds weren't really comfortable the type you can feel the springs when you sit down on it. We had two towels in the bathroom that was it no washcloths or hand towels; towels that are so small and thin you wonder why you bother. Towels were replaced just once and with stained towels over the 4 night stay. Things only got worse the storm that had gone through left and it got hotter, and humid. Our air conditioning didn't work. They didn't care, 'we don't have anywhere to put you'...no offer to get someone in to fix it or anything. The maintenance man at least got us a few fans. The same day our shower's hot water stopped working, he did attempt to fix it but needless to say after one of us took a shower it broke again. Again the maintenance man offered to let us in another room luckily we were leaving that day. Oh and the safety hazards, NO FIRE ALARM, wires coming out the wall where the telephone was plugged in, the shower was mildewy--I wore flip flops in there all week--, and just general repair was poor paint colors didn't match, tiles in the bathroom cracked, and the elevator only stays open for about 5 seconds so be quick. We loved our trip but not our hotel. If you go there just remember you are paying for the location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau Dupre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Dupre Hotel

Address: 131 Rue Decatur, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Ramada Inn French Quarter)
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Chateau Dupre Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the French Quarter, this 80-year old inn has been home to statesmen, magnates, and matriarchs of New Orleans society. Now you, too, can sleep beneath the Inn's grand ceilings and enjoy its charming hospitality! Visit our site to learn more about our amenities and guest rooms ... and reserve your stay with us for your next visit to New Orleans! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Chateau Dupre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Dupre New Orleans
Hotel Chateau Dupre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Dupre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.