We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel & Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Bourbon Orleans Hotel to your Saves list
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Off & Free WiFi
Ranked #6 of 156 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel & Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Great hotel and in perfect location. Extremely satisfied with the accommodation and friendliness of staff. Beautiful lobby and receiving a ticket for a complimentary drink was a plus.Will definitely return there.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Judy R,

Thank you for your nice comments regarding our hotel and staff. Our lobby, dating back to 1817, offers a very special “sense of arrival” to our hotel, I am very happy you enjoyed it. Thank you for staying with us here at the Bourbon Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,643
    721
    161
    39
    25
See reviews for
402
1,139
65
251
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,085)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

This can't be beat for location, but that's really all it has going for it. We stayed four nights and were botherd the first two nights by obnoxious hotel guests in our hallway until the wee hours. We called the front desk to complain several times. Security finally did something about it, but the hotel offered us nothing to make amends. The beds are not comfortable, all the plugs in the walls were pretty useless if you wanted something to actually stayed plugged in while you were using it, the lightbulb in our floor lamp worked but was just hanging out of its socket (I'm sure that's perfectly safe), and the walls in the bathroom look like they are never wiped down. The hair in the drain was a nice touch, too. The French Quarter is not that big. Everything is within walking distance so save some money and stay at a good hotel on Canal Street. This hotel was a bit pricey for the experience we had. If you do book this hotel, do so online with Orbitz or the like, if you try calling them to make a reservation, they will have a different story/offer and price every time you call. I was excited to stay here based on all the reviews, but I was not at all impressed.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard room away from the elevators so you have a quieter experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear freebird9r,

Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback on your guestroom. We will be addressing the areas you have mentioned and take all guest comments very seriously. Should you plan a return trip, please reach out to my office directly and we will ensure you a restful and comfortable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We searched long and hard for a place to stay and were really happy with our decision. From the lobby, to the bar, to the pool, to the room, everything was great. The location cannot be beat, one step away from Bourbon street, but without the noise and craziness. The pool is a great way to relax, with drinks served by the bar, on a hot summer afternoon. Service was excellent, including the valet parking (which was a relief not to have to deal with parking our car in New Orleans).
Overall a great stay and we would recommend this to anyone (family and/or couples) that want a fabulous stay in the Quarter.

Room Tip: As far away from the elevators as possible (noisy returning party goers...)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear L_DTravellers,


Thank you for coming all the way from New Zealand to visit our great city. Certainly we occupy a coveted location in the French Quarter, located between Bourbon and Royal streets, adjacent to Jackson Square. I am delighted you enjoyed our poolside libations as well. Come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Fab hotel, right in the guts of it all, yet serene, pool and all. Very tasteful decor. We opted for a room with 2 double beds, price excellent. Towels etc plentiful. Lovely house bar , everyone friendly. Short wait for room, the comped us a couple of drinks for the inconvenience. Would absolutely recommend if you want quality on bourbon st.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Natalie S,

Thank you for staying with us here at the Bourbon Orleans Hotel. We like to think we are an “Oasis in a sea of Celebration”. Please tell all your family and friends we are ready to welcome New Zealand to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Booked a Vieux Carre Queens room. It was fairly spacious, had a wet bar, comfortable beds, and since I requested a courtyard room, was VERY QUIET. The staff was generally quite personable and helpful and did a better job of making quests feel welcome than other NOLA hotels at which I've stayed. The lobby is beautiful, comfortable and inviting and the complimentary ice teas and infused waters they had each day were a nice touch and much appreciated.

The bathroom was roomy and had plenty of counter space. My only real complaint was the shower. Because it's an open, walk-in shower, they have the shower nozzle installed so it doesn't spray out the door opening. However, as a result, you have to hug the wall under the nozzle to rinse your hair. It's a tad awkward.

Didn't eat in the restaurant but the Bourbon O Bar very nice. Steve is friendly, attentive and very knowledgeable. Singer Eudora Evans has a lovely voice!

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are quieter. Vieux Carre Queens rooms are more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear BLK47rs,

Thank you for your nice comments regarding our friendly staff of associates. Steven in the bar is a very special mixologist! I will be sure to share your comments with Eudora Evans as well. Eudora will be with us Thursday and Friday nights in 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Our trip to New Orleans was our first, and we certainly chose the best place to stay. Just a few steps to Bourbon Street and easy access to everywhere else in New Orleans. Room was excellent - clean and quiet with a very comfortable bed. Staff were all very helpful from check in to check out. Highly recommend, and if we were to go back we would certainly stay there

Room Tip: Our room had view of rooftops. Am guessing there may be rooms with street views. This did not worry...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Anne D,

Thank you for coming all the way from “down under” to visit us here in New Orleans. We are very fortunate to have so many Australians and New Zealanders staying with us. We have some wonderful barbequed shrimp here in the French Quarter, when you come back let’s have your shrimp on the barbee! Our Executive Chef will help prepare!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

My husband & I checked into the Bourbon Orleans last week to celebrate his 60th birthday. Upon arrival they upgraded our room to an amazing loft suite & sent a bottle of champagne to our room. The hotels' staff was incredible. Rooms were clean & beautifully decorated. The location is the best!! We can't wait to go back to Nawlins to stay at the Bourbon Orleans!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear 156amy57,

Thank you for staying with us for a very special occasion. I am delighted you experienced one of our balcony loft suites, the experience is unique in the French Quarter. Come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#7 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,890 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#2 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,120 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 4,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#5 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 1,785 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourbon Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Address: 717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bourbon Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where old world charm meets new world luxury. Nestled in the heart of the French Quarter, the Bourbon Orleans New Orleans Hotel features a rich history and opulent French styling reminiscent of the early 1800s. Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, galleries and nightlife in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TravelClick, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Bourbon Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bourbon Orleans
Wndham New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bourbon Orleans Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.