We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bourbon Orleans Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #6 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed June 28 - July 4 and had an amazing time. staff is extremely nice and helpful. Didn't eat at the restaurant, but had nightly drinks at the bar. It's a nice break from the bustle of Bourbon street and bartenders were great!
Perfect location too!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Jay D,

We are delighted that you had an amazing time here in New Orleans and the French Quarter. Our city is truly distinctive and unique in America. Thank you for your nice comments regarding our staff and in particular our bartenders in the Bourbon O! There are some really fun Tiki drinks for summer being offered, and you can keep the mug.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,539 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    950
    444
    107
    23
    15
See reviews for
226
651
44
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (641)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucks County, PA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Right at the heart of French Quarter - sandwiched between the revelry on Bourbon Street and the artsy Royal Street. Jackson Square is a few minutes walk. The tram lines on Canal Street is about 15 minutes walk. Restaurants and bars - numerous. Location - outstanding.

Lobby is well appointed. Room was adequate - clean - nothing out of ordinary. Black tiles in bathroom is a nice touch. Miles of corridor.

Jazz places nearby. Overall - a very attractive location without compromising on room quality.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Confluence,

Thank you for staying with us here at the Bourbon Orleans Hotel. Yes, we are blessed with a terrific location and a unique hotel that we work very hard to keep clean and attractive. We look forward to serving you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the Bourbon Orleans hotel for 4 nights (June 30th-July 4) and absolutely loved it. Rooms were clean and comfortable, with spacious bathrooms and comfortable beds. We had a room that opened up onto the saltwater pool, which was lovely. It gets so hot in the afternoon in New Orleans at this time of year that the pool was absolutely essential for cooling off, and it was great to relax in the water, listening to the jazz music playing. The lobby was also gorgeous -- it was always great to come back to the hotel and smell the fresh flowers they had in this room. Loved the little details - free coffee in the lobby in the morning, water and sweet tea in the afternoon, friendly and polite staff. Will definitely come back here!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear MAWill2014,

Thank you for staying with us and traveling all the way from Toronto. Our poolside rooms are very unique and relaxing. The little details are what the hotel business is all about, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and my Niece and I stayed here early July. This hotel is amazing! It's right on the heart of Bourbon St. Lots of ambiance and character. It's definitely worth taking the time to research and read about the history. Also take the time to look at the items in the lobby, lots of history! All of the staff are extremely nice and made us feel very welcome. Top notch security also.
We stayed in room 641. The room was very comfortable and clean. Now for the spooky part. After spending time in the French Quarter, we returned to our room. My husband fell asleep quickly. My niece and I were both reading, and suddenly we heard whispering. It was right in our room! It kept saying "hey, can you hear me now?" I jumped into my niece's bed and we huddled under the covers. We didn't sleep much, but we still thought it was exciting, even if it was kind of scary. I would definitely go back to this hotel! Thank you Bourbon Orleans for an unforgettable vacation!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear OHbeachlover,

Thank you for staying with us here at the Bourbon Orleans Hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed our many history pieces in the lobby. Yes, the 6th floor is said to be haunted…..sounds like you had a visitor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southlake, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The food and drinks were wonderful. The staff was courteous and friendly. The room and patio was lovely. We had a great weekend. Thank you for everything. The guys in front of the hotel were friendly and gave good directions.

Room Tip: We loved the 5.00 mimosa and bloody mary bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear CJohnston616,

Thank you for staying with us in June. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our weekend lobby Bloody Mary Bar. It is a fun way to start the day! Please tell all your friends and family in Texas we are ready to welcome them to the French Quarter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have wanted to stay in this hotel for years but always ended up elsewhere. Well, it was worth the wait !! Spent the weekend with dear friends and had a blast.
This Hotel is immaculate and the staff are so nice and can't do enough to help you. The rooms are gorgeous and so comfortable its hard to leave them. The shower was amazing as well, the hotel was very busy and we never had a problem with hot water or water pressure. The pool area is an inviting place to have an early morning cup of coffee and just relax, it is beautiful. The bloodymary bar in the lobby was a personal favorite and it was all the better due to a very personable mixologist named Kelvin. We have missed his craft. I have tried to come up with anything to complain about but just can't. Well, Sunday morning someone was dragging patio chairs around at the pool at 7am, but I am not sure who that was so really can't complain about that either. I plan a return visit in November and can't wait. This hotel is in the PERFECT location. If your on the fence, I have stayed all over Nola and this place is in a category all its own.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Sandyfeet 97,

We are delighted you were finally able to stay with us here at the Bourbon Orleans Hotel! Please let all your family and friends in Seattle know we are here for them. Thank you for the endorsement and come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I Spent 4days and 3 nights at this hotel, let’s start off with the location of the hotel, Bourbon street and Orleans street PERFECT!!! If you are visiting New Orleans for the first time believe me when i tell you this is where you want to be. Almost everything you will want to see or visit is within walking distance or a very cheap cab ride.

The hotel is beautiful the staff professional and helpful!
From the guys at the door, the housekeepers all make you feel at home,

But three staff members made our stay there very remember able and because of them has me looking forward to my next visit let’s start with Kiana at the front desk and i hope i spelt her name right, she made us feel welcomed and was willing helpful with any questions we had it was a joy interacting with her.

Now Cheryl and Steven i cannot say enough nice things about these two, I miss them already, you have to visit the bar in the hotel, Steven is something special he is a mixologist and for those of you who don’t know what that is, he is like a Chef but he makes drinks........ Some of the best cocktails you will ever have in your life, and he will make you feel right at home, Cheryl is the manager of the bar, she is such a warm and friendly person ask her to show you a trick or two you will be amazed.

Now i only have two constructive comments 1. The hotel is to beautiful to have poker machines i hope the owner considers removing them cause i spent quite a bit of time in the bar and didn’t see one person using them...

2. The hotel restaurant in a city with very good restaurants the hotel should step up their food standards or have another operation operate the kitchen at the hotel, i would strongly suggest going to eat in the morning at a restaurant called Desire on Bourbon street its walking distance from the hotel you will enjoy that a lot better than what’s being offered in the hotel.

Another point of interest when booking your room i would suggest you ask for a room with a view of the pool this way you won’t hear any noise from bourbon street, and i guess it depends on what time of the year you go for noise to be a factor.

I am recommending this hotel to all my family and friends in Montreal who plan on visiting New Orleans.

Room Tip: Another point of interest when booking your room i would suggest you ask for a room with a view of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Ctaitt 2000,

Thank you for your nice comments about our staff and the feeling of being at home. We are truly committed to a unique guest experience and a feeling of comfort and wellbeing. I will be certain to share your comments with Steven and Cheryl in the Bourbon O Bar. They are the real thing in terms of “craft cocktail creations”.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bourbon Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Address: 717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bourbon Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where old world charm meets new world luxury. Nestled in the heart of the French Quarter, the Bourbon Orleans New Orleans Hotel features a rich history and opulent French styling reminiscent of the early 1800s. Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, galleries and nightlife in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Amex, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Bourbon Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bourbon Orleans
Wndham New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bourbon Orleans Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.