We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Vacation, First day of Mardi Gras Parades” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Bourbon Orleans Hotel to your Saves list
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Off & Free WiFi
Ranked #5 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Malverne, New York
1 review
“Family Vacation, First day of Mardi Gras Parades”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Everything was great!! Room, pool, bar, restaurant!! And all the people were friendly and hospitable!! The room was extremely clean, never heard anyone in the other rooms. It was a Beautiful hotel, with a convenient location to everything!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for celebrating the beginning of Mardi Gras with us here at the Bourbon Orleans. As I write this note the party continues here in the French Quarter. We look forward to serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,945 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,215
    557
    129
    26
    18
See reviews for
288
834
53
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (830)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Andalusia, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Great!
We booked a group though your group person Susan Mack. She was fantastic. She helped us with our reservations and got us just what we wanted.
We had stayed at the Royal Sonesta for ten years prior and thought that was best hotel in NO.

Wrong! You guys beat them hands down--- rooms size,cleanliness, service,and just generally more friendly.

Thanks for making us feel special!
We want to come back next year!

Lester O'Nea

Room Tip: Don't get the small room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for your very nice comments. Our entire team is focused on creating a ”feeling of being special” while a guest of the Bourbon Orleans Hotel and I was delighted to read your review. I will share your comments with Susan……..hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stay at Bourbon Orleans every time we are in town. On the corner of Bourbon and Orleans (and Royal) Streets, it is in the middle of the French Quarter (translated literally into French = "Carre Francais" and not "Vieux Carre" which means Old Square.) The main lobby is large and elegant with a high ceiling. Has nice electric grand piano; even given bottle of wine by the management for playing the piano for them. Above the main lobby is a large ballroom where special functions such as weddings and balls are held. The rooms are comfortable. Ours, room 543, had a balcony overlooking Orleans Street and we could see the Mardi Gras parades passing by. The minibar has been removed which is a good thing as I always spend the first five minutes in a hotel room removing everything out so I can use it as a refrigerator. The beds are very comfortable and housekeeping is very efficient.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for your loyalty to the Bourbon Orleans Hotel and staying with us again this month. I was happy to read that you enjoyed one of our Private Balcony guestrooms and recently restored lobby. We look forward to your next visit. Happy Mardi Gras!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

From the impressive façade to the welcoming lobby to the comfortable rooms, this is a great hotel with excellent, courteous service without being stuffy. The only problem we had was that there was a problem with the plumbing in our room which they could not fix, so they moved us to another room. Most hotels of this quality will move you to a nicer room when something like this happens, but the room we were moved to was actually not quite as nice, which was disappointing. We would certainly go back though, as I'm sure that's an atypical occurrence and the staff did the best they could.
A tip about music- if you are looking for jazz and Dixieland, Bourbon St itself only has 2 places to offer these days, Maison Bourbon and Fritzels. Both are on Bourbon just a few blocks east of the hotel. The rest of Bourbon St, sadly, is strictly an inebriated party scene now. The real music scene is on Frenchman, about a 15 or 20 minute walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: We asked for a room on the courtyard- Bourbon Street is fine but when it's time to sleep you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding our property. We always strive to a fun, friendly, and authentic guest experience and I am delighted you experienced this. Please feel free to contact me directly when planning your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We would not stay anywhere else in The Quarter. From the moment we arrive in our car, Louis greets us with a hug and a handshake, Derek gets us situated in our room and Carolina at the front desk welcomes us with just the room (Loft Suite) we ask for.

This is more than a hotel; it's history.

Very nice and clean rooms, spacious balconies, perfect location in the center of The Quarter and the staff treats us like family.

Our fifth stay in two years was a special as every other time we've been.

Room Tip: Spring for a loft and balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Wow! What a nice compliment. We certainly want to be everyone’s home away from home and I am delighted you felt like family hear at the Bourbon Orleans Hotel. I will be certain to pass on your nice comments to Louis, Derek, and Carolina. Hope to meet you upon your next visit. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

my husband and I just got back from our great stay at the Bourbon Orleans . The staff was wonderful and very helpful for our first time to New Orleans. We could not have found a better location. Charming, beautiful, and seconds away from the action. Charles at the from desk was a great help, and the beautiful tall thin hostess at the breakfast buffet was so fun to talk to!! Also very friendly and interesting was Lynn at the bar!! I can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for staying with us here at the Bourbon Orleans. I appreciate your nice comments regarding our associates Charles at the Front Desk, Che in our restaurant, Roux on Orleans, and Lynn our mixologist at the Bourbon O Bar. I have shared your review with all of our staff and we are all ready to welcome you back! Thank you again for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

If you want to be at the centre of all the action in the French quarter then you can't do much better than this hotel. Located right behind Jackson square it's harder to be more perfectly located and the hotel has as much character as the buildings that surround it. The staff were very friendly and after a long night of partying the bed is very comfortable. It can be a little noises if you've an outward facing room, but then don't book a hotel in the French quarter if you want peace and quiet.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for staying with us during your visit to the USA. We appreciate your nice comments regarding the friendliness of our staff. We are always working to ensure an authentic French Quarter experience. Please let all your friends in London know about New Orleans and the Bourbon Orleans Hotel. Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bourbon Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Address: 717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bourbon Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where old world charm meets new world luxury. Nestled in the heart of the French Quarter, the Bourbon Orleans New Orleans Hotel features a rich history and opulent French styling reminiscent of the early 1800s. Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, galleries and nightlife in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Bourbon Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bourbon Orleans
Wndham New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bourbon Orleans Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.