We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Orleans Charm and Hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Bourbon Orleans Hotel to your Saves list
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Off & Free WiFi
Ranked #5 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Naperville, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“New Orleans Charm and Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the Bourbon Orleans while I was at a conference and she was checking out Tulane. We couldn't have been treated nicer. Each time we left, the doormen said, "Have a wonderful day." and we when we returned, "Welcome back to the Orleans." Small gestures but really nice. The room was great and the breakfast (included) was wonderful. The waitstaff always remembered what I had ordered from the day before and asked if I wanted, "Your usual today, sir?" Just a great place and would recommend to anyone who wanted to be in the French Quarter without breaking the bank and also have some quiet nights (a half block from Bourbon Street!!).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for writing your great review about you and your daughter's recent stay at our hotel. Our Staff strives to make our guests feel welcomed and special as they should. Sometimes it's the small gestures that make the most difference in how a guest will perceive their experience. We offer packages that include different components so be sure to check our website to see what we have available to best suit your needs. I hope your daughter was impressed with Tulane University and that her decision will have you and your family back as our guests whenever you visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,955 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,222
    558
    131
    26
    18
See reviews for
288
841
53
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (834)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Walton Beach, Florida, Usa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

we spent a long weekend after Thanksgiving here. it was super luxurious & we felt so pampered! its close to the action on bourbon street & the staff everywhere we went was super friendly & helpful. from the valet parking to the balcony in our room we loved it all! would recommend it! as a plus we like the fun of a ghost tour & met to start our tour in the bar downstairs. I got pictures of a blue orb & a white mist under the chandelier in the old ball room! & that was all before the voodoo mojos we drank...lol. we will definitely be back!!!!

Room Tip: we got a balcony room & it was soooo worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for being a guest of our hotel and for taking the time to write a great review about your stay. I am happy to hear you had a wonderful time and found everything to be up to your expectations from our friendly and helpful Staff to your Balcony Loft Suite accommodations. As you mentioned we are located in the middle of all the excitement of the French Quarter and have nightly ghost tours that depart from our bar. We are considered a Haunted Hotel so you just might get to see one of our "Dearly Departed Residents"!! We look forward to having you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stopped at the newly renovated Bourbon Orleans bar to catch some air conditioning and a cold drink after wandering through the streets of New Orleans, and our bartender: Carrie, suggested a root beer float to cool us down! Now this wasn't your everyday float...apparently they have Abita Root Beer (yum!) on tap, which they add some creole cream cheese ice cream to a locally produced rum (not sure of the brand) and WOW! Watching her put this masterpiece together was a show in itself, but the concoction that was set in front of me was a masterpiece! We ended up ordering 3 more and had a nice collection of admirers asking all sorts of questions! Carrie was very knowledgable about the drinks, and even offered us some tips on where to go next and what to avoid. We thoroughly enjoyed our time here and will definitely be back to see Carrie again! The Root Beer Float at Bourbon O is a "must-have" when visiting NOLA, just be sure to ask for Carrie! You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write an awesome review about our newly renovated bar! Earlier this year we hired our wonderful bar manager and she has literally turned our bar around with her exciting ideas. The new look with its elegant and inviting ambiance has our hotel guests, along with the many visitors and locals enjoying this end of Bourbon Street, stopping in for one of our fresh cocktails. Your description of our version of the Root Beer Float has made this drink one of our top selling favorites. The knowledge of our bar staff with their entertaining way of preparing cocktails, would make Tom Cruise turn in his shakers! I will be sure to pass along your compliments to Carrie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gahanna, Ohio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

What a wonderful hotel. Close to everything you would ever want to see in the Quarter. The staff is friendly, attentive and professional. I usually avoid hotel bars but this one is a treat and Carrie may be the best bartender in New Orleans. The staff go out of there way to help. We wanted a cab, one drove by in the midnight monsoon, and the young man RAN down the street to make him return to pick us up. Merely one in several instances where the staff went out of their way to be accommodating. I will never stay anywhere else when in New Orleans.

Room Tip: The balcony suites make you part of the party. If that is not your wish then select a loft suite as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
I am so happy to hear you had a great stay at our hotel during your recent visit to New Orleans. Our location in the Heart of the French Quarter has our guest’s just steps away from all the area has to offer. Our Staff is outstanding and as you mentioned, will go above and beyond to help and make you feel welcome. I will be sure to pass along your compliments to our Valet team. Our newly renovated bar with its warm and elegant ambiance, along with our knowledgeable and friendly bartenders, provides a great alternative to the typical Bourbon Street Bars scene. We look forward to having you back as our guest when you return to the Big Easy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

My sister and I spent four perfect days at the Bourbon Orleans. The property is beautiful, its location is central to everything in the Quarter, our room was lovely and the staff is top drawer. It's also indie owned, another plus for us.

Let's talk about the staff... I am a professional speaker; I travel for a living and am lucky to have the opportunity to stay at the best places where the hotel staff is polite and accommodating -- at varying levels. To the person, the staff at Bourbon Orleans were wonderful, in a genuine, we really care about you, not just reciting the company line kind of way. Special shout out to Kiyana and Dennis at the front desk, Caleb the bellman, Roger II in Valet, and Mark the hotel manager.

Get a room with a balcony! Ours faced Orleans Street, very close to Bourbon Street and about 2-3 blocks from Jackson Square. It's loud. You are in a city in the heart of the French Quarter, so if that bothers you don't stay anywhere near Bourbon Street. We wanted to be surrounded by the action -- there is so much going on! Ask the front desk for ear plugs, they drown out everything.

Bourbon Orleans is said to be the most haunted hotel in New Orleans. We had three "What the heck was that?" moments during our stay, two in the room and one in the ladies room near the bar. The bar was closed and I was the only one (alive) in there...

Great property -- stay here on your next trip to NOLA! Geo

Room Tip: We were in room 511, a Petite Balcony room. It was very nice and had a wonderful view of the Quarter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
WOW!! What a Great Review! I would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your recent visit to New Orleans and our Hotel. Your comments make me proud of our staff and that you were the recipient of what we are "All About". Our mission is to provide the very best accommodations to our guests and to surround them with a friendly and knowledgeable staff. As you mentioned, we are located in the Heart of the French Quarter which puts you steps away from the best shopping, dining, nightlife and attractions this part of New Orleans has to offer. Yes, we are a "Haunted" Hotel and you were lucky to have a visit from one of our Residents! We look forward to having you back with us the next time you travel to the Big Easy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

There was a muck up with our booking & my friend & i ended up having to share a bed. But the hotel was very nice,clean & in a great location. Thought it may have been noisy but no it was fine. Room was nice. I would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for writing about your recent stay at our hotel. I am glad to hear you found your accommodations clean and nice even though you had a mix up with the room type you needed. As you mentioned, our hotel offers interior courtyard facing rooms which provide a quieter atmosphere from the excitement of Bourbon Street and the French Quarter. We look forward to having you back as our guest in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Had a fantastic time one I won't soon forget!!!! I would like to personally thank Yamini (sp) our server at breakfast you are truly and inspiration and a joy! Please never loose your smile its contagious :-)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
I am thrilled to hear you had a wonderful time at our hotel and we helped to make your visit to New Orleans special! You mentioned Yamini, one of our restaurant servers, who is truly an asset to our hotel and the definition of true “Southern Hospitality”. I will be sure to pass along your compliments. Please consider being our guest the next time you visit New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bourbon Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Address: 717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bourbon Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where old world charm meets new world luxury. Nestled in the heart of the French Quarter, the Bourbon Orleans New Orleans Hotel features a rich history and opulent French styling reminiscent of the early 1800s. Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, galleries and nightlife in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Bourbon Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bourbon Orleans
Wndham New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bourbon Orleans Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.