We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't Rave Enough!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bourbon Orleans Hotel to your Saves list
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Off & Free WiFi
Ranked #5 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
“Can't Rave Enough!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I can't say enough nice things about the Bourbon Orleans Hotel in New Orleans. My husband and I stayed 4 nights and had a wonderful stay!

Booking - I booked our stay online and had no problems. I used the promo code here on Trip Advisor to get the bed and breakfast package for free - bonus!

Location - This hotel is PERFECTLY located! It is about 1/2 block off Bourbon Street and 1/2 block off of St. Louis Cathedral - so right in the heart of the French Quarter! We wanted someplace where we could walk to everything and this was it!

Check In - We arrived in New Orleans about 11am and after a short cab ride were at the hotel around noon. We got our room right away without any delay. The check-in girl was very welcoming and gave us all of our vouchers and keys, carefully explaining them all.

Room - We were in Room 505 - which is a balcony room that faces Orleans Street, but not too close to Bourbon Street. Don't get me wrong, we head street noise each night we were there (especially Friday night), but knew that would happen with a balcony room facing the street...which we wanted for atmosphere and to be able to sit and people watch in the morning and at night. It's not crazy loud, but you will hear people. Our room was lovely. A lot of the reviews here talk about the small size of the rooms, but I didn't find ours small...not huge, but not small. We had a king sized bed with fabulously comfy bedding and pillows. There was an iphone/ipod charger on the alarm clock which was handy. The TV was a nice, large size with a remote which you don't always find in hotels. The closet was decent sized with an ironing board and iron which we needed this trip. Also in the main room was a little cubby type area where the coffee maker was located - however this had an outlet and made a perfect place for me to straighten and do my hair outside of a steamy or occupied bathroom! The bathroom itself was actually quite large. Only a shower, no tub, but no big deal to us this trip.

Restaurants - We had vouchers for breakfast each morning, so we ate at Roux on Orleans four times. The vouchers state that you can only get the Classic Breakfast - 2 eggs any style, choice of breakfast meats (smoked bacon, andouille sausage, or ham I think), grits or breakfast potatoes, and toast...with any beverages you would like (coffee, tea, soda, juice). The first two days we each ordered the Classic which is ALOT of food. And yummy traditional breakfast food. My eggs were perfect and had a little cheese on them the second day. My hubby liked the crispness of the bacon while I loved the andouille sausage. The grits were ok I guess, but I preferred the breakfast potatoes. And toast is toast! They do have butter balls and jelly on the table for you. The third day we were there the waitress said we could order anything on the menu since "it wasn't our first day." I ordered the pancakes with both fresh berries and a butter pecan syrup, which both came on the side, as well as more andouille sausage...YUMMY! The syrup and berries totally made the dish! My hubby got an omelette that day which he said was also good. The last day was Saturday morning when they have a buffet which they let us use our voucers on. Many of the same items we had eaten other days and still as yummy. Plus I tried a breakfast sandwich which was ok - ham which is not my favorite...would have been awesome with the sausage on the croissant instead! We did not eat dinner there during our stay - was never very crowded from what we could tell.

Bar - The Bourbon "O" is an attached bar that faces Bourbon Street, but I don't think is owned by the hotel. We had 4 vouchers as part of our package. The bartenders seemed attentive and made me a yummy fruity drink with whipped cream vodka when I asked for a suggestion. The manager (new according to her!) made my visits though when she had me try a new drink she was making - an adult version of a rootbeer float with local run, local rootbear, and local ice cream...THE BEST!!! I used my second voucher another night to order this "Creole Float" - try it, it's amazing! The bar was never too crowded and kind of quiet for Bourbon Street which I appreciated. There was live piano music and singing on Friday night which livened it up just a little bit.

Pool - So many pictures online of this pool, but much smaller than person than I thought it would be. Seemed to be enough chairs for a cooler-than-normal-mid-May, but when it's warmer I bet it gets crowded. Looked clean and with plenty of towel available.

Business Center - This is just 2 computers by the elevators on the main level where you can buy internet time (like $6 or $8 I can't remember for 15 minutes) or use for free to print out boarding passes. More than enough for our needs.

Customer Service - Everybody we encountered went above and beyond with customer service. NO complaints.

Lobby - FYI there is iced tea and cool water in the lobby in the afternoons and coffee in the mornings. Nice extra.
Check Out - We used Express Checkout and put it all on the card on file so nothing more than turning in our keys!

Room Tip: A balcony on Orleans Street will have street noise, but not overwhelming, and you get a great place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,403
    631
    152
    31
    22
See reviews for
326
986
56
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (952)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We recently stayed at the Bourbon Orleans and really enjoyed it! Rooms were clean and stylish we really liked the art deco shower in our room. Restaurant for breakfast is very good with large portions. Location is perfect as you can walk almost anywhere, or take a short cab ride if need be. Staff was very friendly and courteous, and helpful as well. This will be my choice going forward when I venture to New Orleans.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I booked this hotel for our family's reunion. There were 6 couples in 6 rooms. we were greeted by friendly personnel and offered a drink upon our arrival. The hotel is in a great location in the middle of the Quarter, a couple of blocks from Jackson Square. My wife and I plan to stay there on our next trip.

Room Tip: best to stay on the courtyard side. Rooms over Bourbon St. might be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a couple of days and also got married at the hotel. The hotel staff was courteous and attentive to our every need. Nothing but positive things to say about the hotel and its exceptional staff. Upon checking in we were automatically upgraded to the loft suite for our first night. This hotel will continue to get my business anytime I return to New Orleans.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Convenient to everything you'd want to do in the French Quarter.
Beautiful, historic building. Comfortable rooms. Professional, friendly staff.
Every effort was made to accommodate any & all requests.
No complaints - loved it!

Room Tip: Rooms are all a little noisy. It's New Orleans! People are not going to go quietly! :-) Enjoy!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteca, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

If you were to visit an esteemed and accomplished family that lived in New Orleans 100 years ago, chances are they owned a stately city-home similar to the Bourbon Orleans Hotel. Take a trip back in time, and experience southern elegance, charm, grace, and grandeur at its best. Classic, Clean, comfortable, quiet, posh, & charming. That says a lot coming from an experienced hotelier, however we were impressed from the moment we arrived.

The hotel offers superb curb appeal, "white-glove service" and amazing architecture of yesteryear. Our rooms were smartly renovated and well appointed with luxurious crisp white linen, beautifully polished hardwood floors, decorated with rich bold colors remnant of the old south. The hotel is conveniently located in the French Quarters on Bourbon & Orleans Street. Our room had a fantastic view of Bourbon Street, and yet we hardly heard any noise inside. Our hotel suite was finely prepared, and freshly cleaned. We were pleased to find classic jazz playing softly on the desk radio, a befitting welcome to New Orleans vibrant jazz culture. In the evening we sat on the veranda-like porch, which is an extension of the hotel bar. The porch overlooked Bourbon Street, which allowed us to comfortably remain seated enjoying cocktails while yet being part of the festivities. The service is top-notch detail oriented, and customer focused, just what you’d expect from “southern hospitality”. We're pleased with our stay, and reassured on our next visit we will be visiting our "old-friend’s city-home” at Bourbon Orleans Hotel. Excellence Uncompromised.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

This hotel could not be more convenient. It is centrally located by great restaurants, quaint shops, and the night life of Bourbon street. Yes the rooms are small, but its a historical building filled with tons of history. It reminded us a lot of the Menses in Sydney Australia. We are looking forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bourbon Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Address: 717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bourbon Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where old world charm meets new world luxury. Nestled in the heart of the French Quarter, the Bourbon Orleans New Orleans Hotel features a rich history and opulent French styling reminiscent of the early 1800s. Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, galleries and nightlife in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and BookIt.com so you can book your Bourbon Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bourbon Orleans
Wndham New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bourbon Orleans Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.