We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location was the best, Stay on the 6th floor its not Haunted!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Bourbon Orleans Hotel to your Saves list
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Off & Free WiFi
Ranked #5 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Location was the best, Stay on the 6th floor its not Haunted!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Our experience at bourbon orleans hotel was one of a kind. This was our first time to new orleans so we did not know what to expect. The location was the best as it is located between bourbon and royal street in the center of the french quarter.

We booked our hotel before finding out that this hotel is considered to be one of the most haunted hotel in new orleans. We had read that the 3rd and 6th floor were the "haunted" floors. We specifically requested the 5th floor because we were not in the business of being ghost busters. We just wanted to party it up during st patricks day and not be cuddle up with little children at night as the story goes. Maybe it was the booze but we do not have a ghost story. We chose a room facing the pool to avoid the loud noise from the street. We were not disappointed.

I was most impressed with the hospitality of the hotel staff heck most of new orleans locals are just down right nice, too nice for three girls from los angeles. We were welcomed to hotel with a complimentary drink, we had an Abita beer. Just so you know it was not all good, my friend had a negative experience as her luggage was brought up to the room with a broken handle. However, the hotel manager responded and helped my friend resolve the situation. We could not have picked a better hotel in new orleans.

Room Tip: Dare to stay in the 3rd or 6th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,945 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,215
    557
    129
    26
    18
See reviews for
288
834
53
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (830)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for a week leading up to our wedding (the reception was held in the hotel). The hotel staff were very helpful and welcoming. The hotel manager even assisted us with a last minute booking for a family member in for the wedding. Our rooms were always cleaned and fresh. The loft suite is a beautiful room overlooking the French Quarter, though I did hear from our guests that the basic guest rooms are a bit small. I was very happy with the service from the hotel staff as well as the catering and events staff. The location is really ideal, and the facility itself is in top condition.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navarre, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We just returned from a 4 day/3 night stay at the Bourbon Orleans Hotel. It is a beautiful property and I am so glad we chose it for our visit to New Orleans.

The location is perfect for just about anything you want to do in the area, situated on the corner of Bourbon and Orleans, just behind the Cathedral and Jackson Square. Easy walk to just about anywhere you want to go.

The building itself has an interesting history, having been a convent and an orphanage in the past. There are also reports of it being haunted. The lobby is gorgeous and beautifully appointed. Rooms are nice and while they have modern conveniences, they still retain their historic charm. Bathroom was beautiful and modern, with nice hot water and good water pressure in the shower. The fan in the bathroom turned on automatically and was hard to control - a minor annoyance, especially at 4am.

The staff are fantastic, very professional and truly caring. Caleb is great. The valet parking is a necessity in the French Quarter, but they park your car some distance away, so they need at least a half-hour's advance notice to bring it around for you. The bar opens up onto Bourbon Street and they have a piano player/ singer at night. A nice way to begin or end your night either way. The pool in the courtyard is beautiful, but the weather was not nice enough for us to spend much time out there, unfortunately. The hotel itself is nonsmoking, but smoking is allowed out in the courtyard.

Our next trip to New Orleans, we will definitely stay here. I highly recommend.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the courtyard are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This hotel had a great location. We could see bourbon street from our balcony and it was in a safe part of the french quarter. When we went out at night things were well lit and it was easy to get back to the hotel. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We went through several bottles of water and every time we needed towels they sent us some quickly. They offered free check in for flights on their computers which was great, especially for Southwest passengers! They had free tea and water upon entrance and every time we came through we were greeted.

Unfortunately the noise is pretty bad, even speaking of room to room. I could hear someone sneeze and it did not come from my room! To have noise come from the interior and of course the exterior (until about 7:00 AM) was not pleasant, but for me doable. It would have been 5 stars but I feel like the hotel is not kept up very well. We found moldy cheese and milk in our fridge from a previous guest, a hat under a chair (don't know how long that was there), and bugs by the bathroom. The walls and floors definitely need to be taken care of and the place just feels like it needs a fresh coat of paint. Even things such as the rugs in the hallways are crooked and I saw a worker hot gluing them to the floor. These are little things that help keep the hotel looking nice and make it seem okay to spend $410 a night for a suite.

Despite the furnishing problems and noise level, I would still return because you just can't beat the location. It is nice to be close to bourbon street and feel safe in the part of town.

For those who do not know- a cab is the way to go to get to this hotel from the airport- no need for a car at any time when you are here really if your plan is so stay in the french quarter. The cab was $33 for two people and took us directly to the hotel. The shuttle is $38 round trip per person, and takes over an hour, even close to two if they have more stops to make.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We had a lovely stay at the Bourbon Orleans for 5 days. Perfect location, in the physical center of the French Quarter, so walkability to everything is great. Looks like rooms have been recently upgraded and are attractive. And thanks to their concierge Ron, our trip was loaded with fun activities. One of my favorite experiences was actually chatting with Ron about what we needed to know about enjoying New Orleans to the fullest. I have never had a concierge experience like that...what a wealth of information, simply amazing. This added immeasurably to the depth of our Bourbon Orleans and New Orleans experiences. Thank you and we look forward to being back with you as soon as we can!

Room Tip: We had a quiet courtyard-facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Pros: The hotel was very clean and located in the French quarter. The rooms are spacious and somewhat modern. The hotel staff is very professional and gracious. They go out of their way to ensure that your stay is an enjoyable one. Caleb was a welcome change to some of the bell captains we have encountered!

Cons: The interior walls of the hotel are extremely thin! We heard the elevator all night long. We could hear our neighbors speaking in a normal tone. Just imagine how interesting it became when all of the partiers returned to their rooms in the middle of the morning. We could hear them falling, yelling, screaming and attempting to whisper. sidebar - we were in a "quiet room" per the hotel staff. The toiletries were nice. However, you never knew what you were going to get - 2 shampoos and no conditioner one day and 3 lotions and no shampoo the next. I will say that the maid service was thorough just lacked the attention to detail on the toiletries. Hot water in the bathroom after 4pm is a rareity. The Bourbon Bar (attached to the hotel) is deselate to say the least and the VooDoo Cafe (attached to the hotel) has been closed for some time. The concierge appears to work tuesday - friday.

Believe it or not I would recommend this property. The staff outweighs the shortcomings....

Room Tip: Try for a quiet room and hope for the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This hotel was just a dream, located in the heart of Bourbon Street, the rooms were decorated great, they had a beautiful pool area and bar. The management was great and took care of your every need. I would surely stay there again when I visit New Orleans.

Room Tip: I like the rooms overlooking the court yard and pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bourbon Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Address: 717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bourbon Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where old world charm meets new world luxury. Nestled in the heart of the French Quarter, the Bourbon Orleans New Orleans Hotel features a rich history and opulent French styling reminiscent of the early 1800s. Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, galleries and nightlife in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Bourbon Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bourbon Orleans
Wndham New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bourbon Orleans Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.