We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is my new favourite hotel in NOLA!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Bourbon Orleans Hotel to your Saves list
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Off & Free WiFi
Ranked #8 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“This is my new favourite hotel in NOLA!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We go to NOLA 2-4 times per year for weddings, birthdays, bachelorette parties, etc. So, we have stayed at several of the hotels in and around the quarter. I love the size of the rooms and the bathrooms! Especially the courtyard rooms with the extended bath counter.. a must for laides to be able to spread out their make-up. This is also my new favourite hotel becuase of the proximity to the tings we enjoy doing: daytime shopping at the Market and along Chartres & Royal streets, evenings out on Bourbon Street. The only drawback is that it's a 15-20 minute walk to Mother's Restaurant (one of our staples) and it's at the opposite end of Bourbon from Mango Mango (who has the best late-night street pizza in the quarter) & Krystals (our other option for the late-night snack).

Room Tip: I was on the 2nd floor and my firends were on the first floor. None of us had noise issues, but mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,133
    524
    122
    24
    18
See reviews for
271
774
51
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (782)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Paper thin walls. Worst hotel stay in 30 years of business and personal travel. To put this experience in context, I have stayed at several hundred different hotels across North America as well as stays in France and the UK.
I was very excited to be staying in "the Quarter". We were upsold to a Suite the first night. Unfortunately, even though on a side street to Bourbon street, noise was terrible. We asked to be moved to a courtyard room. The front desk accommodated and moved us "inside", then commented that the staff checking us in should have warned us of the noise and provided ear plugs.
Night number three of our stay the drunks next door had the TV blaring at 1am for almost an hour. Then the male guest next door proceeded to attempt to cough up a lung for 6 consecutive hours. Bubonic plague? Black Lung disease? I got up and put rolled up Kleenex into both ear canals, and was still kept awake by his coughing. I'm surprised he didn't set off the Richter scale....

In the morning, as we were preparing to leave, I could hear his BREATHING (no, not snoring - -his breathing).

Complained as we were checking out. Was told that "we have manager on staff at all times", but they were in a shift change and the manager wasn't available. To me, either they have a manager on hand or they don't.

Left my name and phone number so I could talk to manager. No response.

If you're into a drug or alcohol induced sleep, this is the place for you. Otherwise, stay away.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I am on the board of a national nonprofit, and had to book a meeting with sleeping rooms in New Orleans on a budget for our members. The entire staff, from the group sales management to every housekeeper I encountered, were very professional, friendly, and top-notch. The location is perfect for those who want to stay in the French Quarter and I would highly recommend the Bourbon Orleans. We were there the weekend after Mardi Gras and it was a bit loud, but I would just use earplugs in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

First time in New Orleans - it couldn't be better. The hotel is located in the French Quarter one block from Bourbon street. Although quiet and affording excellent environmnet for a good night sleep or relaxing by the pool. And the staff - just excellent. Helpful and nice. The room was spacious and clean. Couldn't do anyhing else than giving them a top score:-) Love to come back

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Albert, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The staff was very friendly and also accommodating when we wanted to make changes to another room and have our friends stay in the same hotel. It was also within walking distance to a lot of great things to see.
A very classy hotel.

Room Tip: We had a queen and a king....both great....I couldn't get over the giant bed. Wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville,NJ
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Our stay at this hotel greatly enhanced my first trip to New Orleans. We read Trip Advisor reviews and when booking, we requested a room on a top floor overlooking the courtyard where it would be quiet to sleep. It was! We choose not to get a car and the location of the Bourbon Orleans was wonderful. We were able to walk everywhere......When we first checked in to the lobby filled with fresh flowers and comfortable furniture,we visited the concierge, Ron, who was a wealth of knowledge and gave us fabulous information. He listened to our desires and recommended a City Tour, which picked up and dropped off at the hotel, and made reservations at many of the top restaurants... we were set for our mini vacation.

We found the room and bedding to be comfortable. The staff was excellent from the receptionist, Gio, at the front desk... to Rosetta,housekeeping manager who lent me scissors for a quick trim of my bangs. We ate and enjoyed an excellent brunch, with fresh cooked eggs and enhanced by the services of our waiter, Mark. We appreciated the courtesy coffee, citrus filled water and ice tea offered throughout the day.

The pool area was peaceful. We tried the bar, on Bourbon St. and it was our one disappointment, the service was good but the bar lacked the character and charm of the rest of the hotel. It was filled to the brim with smokers and we made a quick exit. In talking to the manager, we think they have plans to "redo" the bar, we hope so.

We will recommend this hotel to our friends.

Room Tip: Ask to stay on the Courtyard up high where it is quiet and peaceful......
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I was so excited to stay at this historic hotel in New Orleans after reading all the reviews. Because I'm traveling with family, I had some concerns about the size of the room we'd be staying in and we were considering booking an additional room, possibly a loft suite. I made my initial booking through the off-property reservations center that you are immediately transferred to when you request reservations. Unfortunately, they are not on-site and were unable to answer any of my questions regarding room sizes, etc.

On two consecutive days, I called and requested the Front Desk (as Reservations had recommended). Both times the call was answered by a very brusque woman who was rude and unhelpful. The first time, I had no more started to ask the question then she interrupted me and said I'd need to talk to Reservations. I told her they'd said to talk to the Front Desk, and with no further ado, she transferred me to Reservations. I called back the second day, hoping to get to talk to someone with better hospitality and phone manners. Unfortunately, it was the same woman and she was just unbelievably rude on the phone. She kept telling me I'd have to ask Reservations any questions I had about the room size or adding an additional room. I told her that Reservations had said I needed to talk to her. Finally, I asked to speak with a manager. She said, "Why do you want to talk to a manager?" And kept repeating that question every time I asked for a manager. Finally, I said, "So I can cancel my reservation!" She then promptly transferred me...guess where? To Reservations!

Sorry, Bourbon Orleans. The staff at your Front Desk are the first impression your guests have of your lovely hotel. Unfortunately, the impression was lasting but wasn't good. Hope you can retrain the employee in question. I'm betting you'll recognize her from my review. She has an accent and works evenings at the Front Desk.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bourbon Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Address: 717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bourbon Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where old world charm meets new world luxury. Nestled in the heart of the French Quarter, the Bourbon Orleans New Orleans Hotel features a rich history and opulent French styling reminiscent of the early 1800s. Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, galleries and nightlife in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Jetsetter, Orbitz, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Venere, getaroom.com and Tingo so you can book your Bourbon Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bourbon Orleans
Wndham New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bourbon Orleans Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.