We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Time Ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bourbon Orleans Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #6 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Palatine, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The Best Time Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My significant other had never been to New Orleans & I was really nervous about overwhelming him with a balcony suite on Bourbon St., but thanks to this great hotel, not only is he a big fan of N.O., but after 12 yrs. we're engaged. I apologize I've lost my notes & can't give specific names. When we pulled up, they took our luggage & our car. All we had to do was walk into one of the most beautiful lobbies. Check-in was a breeze, the pool area inviting, & our suite was awesome. As I suspected, he thought I was crazy & the whole thing was awful. Fortunately by the next morning, I could barely get him off the balcony & we had a ball going out at night. Breakfast was only made better by the gentlemen that served them (1/22 & 1/23). He is still talking about the great breakfast. I had a discusssion with the manager who will provide us with next year's mardi gras schedule so we can make our reservation right away. The gentlemen at the door were helpful & accurate with their information. Can't say enough about the gentleman who helped us checkout the morning of 1/23. The DiSylvestros will be back again & again. Thank you

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,497 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    919
    437
    105
    21
    15
See reviews for
222
636
43
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (623)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Pros: The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable with a nice view of the pool. You couldn't ask for a better location! Just close enough to be in the action but far enough away you didn't hear it.

Cons: The maintenance personnel are not called after hours for a/c issues. The bar downstairs is dark and a little creepy.

We would highly recommend this hotel. We will be back again soon!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Great hotel. Staff was very efficient & courteous. The breakfast was absolutely the best and the prices were very reasonable. The location of the hotel is close to everything so visiting all the night spots & attractions was easy. We will stay there again & recommend the Bourbon Orleans to anyone visiting New Orleans.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longwood
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is the BEST place to stay if the French Quarter figures highly in your visit. The staff and accomodations are excellent, the location can't be beat. You are steps away from Jackson Square, right on Burbon Street and Royal Street...central to all the action. It is the only place I'd consider when in NO. EZ walk to cable cars for access to other parts of town as well.
This is my fourth stay here and other places pale to this one.

I would also like to compliment the staff particulary for their friendliness and willingness to please. Shane in the bar was considerate enough to offer his laptop so I could check my emails quickly and the desk clerk helped me set my iPhone so I could use the wi-fi. Everyone was most accomodating.

Room Tip: The single queen room was small but pleasant and worked for our purposes. If I planned more time in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The Bourbon Orleans Hotel is where we ended up after Le Marais sold the room I prepaid for two months before my arrival to New Orleans. While not exactly comparable to Le Marais, the Bourbon Orleans is nicely situated near Jackson Park.

The hotel is old New Orleans but the rooms have been updated with large LG flat screen tv's and contemporary bathrooms. Our room was on the first floor by the courtyard pool. It was very quiet and the courtyard is lovely. While it was not the hotel that I booked, the Bourbon Orleans was a comfortable alternative and I would definitely avoid Le Marais Hotel in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Bluffs
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed here for one night after a board meeting at another downtown hotel. We love the french quarter because of its' architecture and uniqueness and this hotel does not disappoint. Be sure to bring a sound machine because of the late night revelers on Bourbon Street, but other than that, our stay was perfect. Great location. Great Staff. Loved it and will be back. Heated pool but didnt' have our bathing suits. Darn. Wonderful stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This was my fourth visit to the B-O. The rooms are simple but very comfortable especially the beds. As can happen anywhere at ant time, excrement occurs. The cable broke in one of the two elevators during my stay but the staff opened the staff elevator up for use. It turned out to be a very minor inconvenience.
I am not one who generally believes in Ghosts but the 6th floor (where my room was) allegedly is inhabited my a couple Ghost Nuns. Having some quiet time in my room the toilet flushed. It did it again later. Also when i approached the elevator on the sixth floor, I never had to push the button to summon the elevator.
If you are looking for peace and quiet, you need to be on an upper floor. It is Bourbon St. after all.
Staff was very friendly and accommodating.
I hope to stay there again, next year.

Room Tip: Upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bourbon Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Address: 717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bourbon Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where old world charm meets new world luxury. Nestled in the heart of the French Quarter, the Bourbon Orleans New Orleans Hotel features a rich history and opulent French styling reminiscent of the early 1800s. Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, galleries and nightlife in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Amex, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Jetsetter, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Bourbon Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bourbon Orleans
Wndham New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bourbon Orleans Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.