We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location in the best of both worlds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Bourbon Orleans Hotel to your Saves list
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Off & Free WiFi
Ranked #3 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Millbrae, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Location in the best of both worlds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Bourbon Orleans is located in the heart of everything the French Quarter has to offer. Between Bourbon and Royal and behind Jackson Square. Steps away from the charming shops, art galleries and restaurant on Royal and music and endless bars on Bourbon. Best of both worlds. Stroll through the bar and music scene on Bourbon and escape to solace on Royal. Walk 2 minutes to Jackson Square lined with street artists and the famous Cafe Dumond for pipping hot beignets moulded with powder sugar. Pat O'Briens and Preservation Hall are around the corner along with many legendary places.

Even though Bourbon Orleans is in the midst of everything rooms are extremely quiet! Pleasantly surprised. If you want to enjoy the scene on Bourbon Street, opt for the upgraded balcony room overlooking the action. There are less desirable streets on Bourbon and these balconies do not look over this section.

Rooms are newly renovated, with large showers, extremely comfortable beds and pillows, large LCD TVs and free wi-fi. The staff is just wonderful. Their pleasant personalities are a testament to a good working environment.....in hotels that translates to happy guests.

I would highly recommend the Bourbon Orleans and look forward to visiting again soon.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,576
    695
    158
    38
    23
See reviews for
376
1,093
63
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,054)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bramhall, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We arrived late at night after our travel agent had made a mess of our booking (see my review of the Maison Dupuy). The reception staff, who were excellent throughout our stay, upgraded us to King suites after they'd heard of the problems we'd encountered even though it was not of their making. The top floor rooms were of a good size, nicely furnished, clean and had a good view over the French Quarter towards the CBD. The beautiful lobby with its original chandeliers reflected the elegance of the Old South. Chris the night auditor besides being very helpful was also very informative concerning the history of the hotel and the Quarter. Nothing was too much trouble for Louis the parking valet and as for Caleb the bell captain, he was a laugh a minute, always cheerful. We didn't really want to leave to go on our caribbean cruise but the welcome we got on our return in order to spend a few more days before flying home, felt genuine. All of the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful but the cherry on the icing was the concierge Mr Ron. What a great asset he is to this hotel. Very helpful and his knowledge of the city is 2nd to none. Staying there was a home from home. Will definitely return without a doubt.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

just checked in at the hotel, why is that when you try to smile and be nice to others , people act snobbish , the receptionist gave me that worst room , when you open the windom , it faces a wall, knowing fully well, the next two rooms are not occupied !!! she is going to keep those rooms empty , yet not make the traveller happy, would not recommend , if you get room 654 the receptionist does not like you, thank God there is more to do in new orleans !!!!

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent only one night and were more than pleased with our stay. The location couldn't be better... Right in the heart of the Quarter. Quick story to illustrate the staffs attentiveness... I used up all the in-room coffee and called down for more. The receptionist misunderstood me and thought I needs two more coffee makers;). Without batting an eye she sent up two more coffee makers! I explained he misunderstanding to the staff member and took the coffee packets. Where else is that going to happen?

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicksburg, Mississippi
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This is the best hotel for the money . Convenient and great service .

It is the ONLY place my wife and I stay when we come to New Orleans (and that's been for 30+ years . )

When we come we love to have a drink in the bar , then go ou and walk around the Quarter.

Room Tip: Call in advance and talk to the front desk. They are always helpful picking the room to fit your ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, FL
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for New Years Eve, and we were very pleased. The hotel had a great location. The lobby was very well kept, and the check-in desk made us feel very welcome. We stayed in a loft suite, which was amazing! It had tons of room, an enormous balcony, comfortable bed, and well equipped bathroom. We were only three rooms away from Bourbon St, and while the view was great, we did get some street noise, so I would definitely recommend bringing ear plugs. The rooms a little further away were probably quieter, and you couldn't hear anything inside the courtyard, so I would imagine outside noise isn't a problem in those rooms. We had a wonderful trip, and would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I am a customer service SNOB! And I can honestly say EVERYONE and I mean everyone of the staff members I had contact with was anxious to help in whatever way they could, even go above and beyond!
We found our room to be spacious, quiet (courtyard, over looking the well maintained and nicely landscaped pool), clean and charming!
There is even a clean bar attached.
All this in a Great location!

Room Tip: 1st floor courtyard is quiet, convenient and a serene view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#8 of 155 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,793 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#2 of 155 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,047 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 155 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 4,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#6 of 155 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 1,742 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 155 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 stars 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourbon Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Address: 717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bourbon Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where old world charm meets new world luxury. Nestled in the heart of the French Quarter, the Bourbon Orleans New Orleans Hotel features a rich history and opulent French styling reminiscent of the early 1800s. Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, galleries and nightlife in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelClick, Priceline, Orbitz, EasyToBook, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Bourbon Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bourbon Orleans
Wndham New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bourbon Orleans Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.