We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Bourbon Orleans Hotel to your Saves list
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Off & Free WiFi
Ranked #5 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Marksville, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

My friends and I stayed here recently while in town for a concert. I visit New Orleans often, and usually stay on or near Bourbon Street when it is a "girl getaway". I booked this hotel only because the one I usually choose to stay at was booked. The Bourbon Orleans was cheaper for it's location which made me a little skeptical! Much to my surprise, this hotel surpassed my expectations! It is beautiful, historic, and offers the hospitality that you expect when in New Orleans!!! All of the employees we encountered were so warm and friendly, especially Derek, the bellman and Alex at the front desk. We were upgraded to a suite with a balcony overlooking Bourbon St.!!! Check out was effortless, and the vallet team was always available and offered service with a smile!!! My only problem was a $50 pending charge on my debit card which I wasn't aware of. I left a message with one of the managers, Scott Campbell, and he promply returned my call and informed me this was standard procedure when booking through another company such as Expedia. I wll most definitely stay here again, and I will recommend the Bourbon Orleans Hotel to my friends!

Room Tip: Bourbon Street balconies are on the farther end of Bourbon, so not too crowded and noisey down below...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,218
    557
    130
    26
    18
See reviews for
288
836
53
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (832)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leesville, Louisiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The location is perfect, staff was friendly and helpful, and the room quality was amazing! Worth the splurge if you're looking for a nice time in downtown New Orleans. The shower was huge and open, which was interesting and different.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We get to NOLA a few times a year and have stayed in lots of different places. The Bourbon Orleans was one of the better places. It's right off bourbon street but quiet. The staff were very friendly and the hotel was clean. Only down side was it appears to be the spot for wedding receptions and our room was near the ballroom. Lots of clanging and talking during the cleanup late at night then again early the next morning for Santa brunch. All in all, we'd stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humble, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed at the Bourbon Orleans for 3 nights and we absolutely loved it! Perfect location, very clean and they had an awesome front desk/doormen! The only reason I didn't give the hotel an "excellent" rating was because of the shower. The shower area is pretty open and the water just got all over the bathroom. Weird quirk, I know.

I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: The traditional queen room is kind of small, perfect for 2 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Perfect location. Courteous staff. Very clean. Surprised rooms didn't have refrigerators or microwaves. Bed was not comfortable to me, but I'm picky. And I think my room was on a side where there was early morning trash pickup. But I don't really feel I can book a room that deep in the Quarter and complain about a little noise. Overall, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

If you want to be in the middle of all activity in the French Quarter, this is the place to stay! You will be within walking distance of all of the important, don't miss attractions and have plenty of help from the staff getting you to other areas of interest as well. The bell staff is outstanding, friendly, fun and helpful. Unfortunately, the breakfast buffet is slightly overpriced and the Eggs Benedict toast was hard and inedible. I will say that the table service is impeccable though and we might give it another chance. Be sure to ask for courtyard room unless you want to sleep with earplugs but if you want to see Bourbon Street in full swing, go for the balcony room! Everyone should try it once and we did!!

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are quieter I understand. Go for the balcony for a party time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This is an exceptional hotel in an exceptional location, and an exceptional value. Large, comfortable rooms, well maintained, and architecturally authentic to the New Orleans heritage. Located in the center of the French Quarter, ALL points of interest in the Quarter are within walking distance. Now, our hotel of choice when vacationing in The Big Easy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bourbon Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Address: 717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bourbon Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where old world charm meets new world luxury. Nestled in the heart of the French Quarter, the Bourbon Orleans New Orleans Hotel features a rich history and opulent French styling reminiscent of the early 1800s. Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, galleries and nightlife in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Bourbon Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bourbon Orleans
Wndham New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bourbon Orleans Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.