We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Bourbon Orleans is excellent in all aspects” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bourbon Orleans Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #6 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Ft. Thomas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
“The Bourbon Orleans is excellent in all aspects”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We have stayed at the Bourbon Orleans many times and have never been disappointed. The accommodations and staff are excellent. The staff goes out of their way to be friendly and helpful. On our most recent visit in October, our friend fell in front of the hotel and broke his hip. Some of the staff remained with us until the ambulance came. Our friend had surgery on his hip and was in the hospital a week. The staff always asked about him whenever they saw us and showed their concern. They went over and above their duties to help us with this situation. To us, the earmarks of an excellent facility are not only the physical aspects, but also the staff, and the Bourbon Orleans has both! We highly recommend the Bourbon Orleans to anyone visiting New Orleans.

Gordon and Kris Wilshire

Room Tip: Rooms on the inside (courtyard) and quieter than those on Bourbon Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,490 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    914
    435
    105
    21
    15
See reviews for
221
633
43
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (621)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mandeville
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Stayed at property as part of a wedding party,having lived in city since birth now 57,truly amazed at quality of this hotel.Will stay again for rest trip.Door staff was great and location unbeatable always use valet parking well worth price in town.

Room Tip: Get pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed on December 2 and 3rd of 2012. We had two rooms. We reserved a double and a king room. When we upgraded the king room to a balcony king room we were charged. When this same hotel was with the Wyndham chain we were never charged extra for an available upgrade. This is really nickel and diming you to charge for an upgrade. We left both rooms from 11 a.m. to 8 p.m. and returned to two rooms with unmade beds, full trash, no replenished towels etc. Are you listening management. Part of going to a hotel on vacation is not having to make the bed, empty the trash and having to clean a bathroom. We ask for a late check out to make up for the lack of housekeeping. They told us 1:30 p.m. was the latest they could do. The next day the agent said it was 1 p.m. They said they would have to charge if we stayed later than that.....back to the nickel and diming. We did call and got the trash emptied and some other housekeeping issues taken care of but at that point we would have rather not been dealing with all that and been able to relax in our room. I think the rates are too high at this hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise on the Orleans side.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarburg, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Ok our stay at the Bourbon Orleans was OK and I am being generous with the word OK. The first complaint was our room. It was so small, all the mice in the room were hunchback. We asked for a courtyard view and we got one, sort of. In order to see the courtyard you would have had to tie the curtains around your waist and hang half your body out the window. Let's just say I was not willing to catch a glimpse. The kid serving us brunch was argumentative and snotty. I can assure you my tip was not in the double digits. One day room service forgot to give us towels, so my wife had to roll around on the carpet like a German Sheppard to get dry. Me, I called the front desk for towels and 20 minutes later they arrived still moist of course. Now the good news, checkout was a breeze and the doormen were oh plenty and polite.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nocera Umbra, Italy
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The service was great, the facilities more than adequate and our room was clean, cosy and quiet despite being just two steps off Bourbon Street and its fantastic night life. In fact you couldn't ask for a better location to get a real taste of New Orleans.
The hotel's restaurant was always empty which surprised us because on the two occasions we ate there the food was really good.

Room Tip: A point to note is that the very popular and possibly overrated bistro opposite the hotel entrance w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Many years ago, I used to think this hotel had seen better days, but they are doing a great job with keeping things up to date, clean, and comfortable. The room price was excellent (we were there for a wedding at St Louis Cathedral), the staff was wonderful--very courteous, friendly, and helpful--and more than anything else, I had forgotten what a great location this is. Located between Royal and Bourbon right behind the Cathedral. Easy walks to Mr. B's for dinner and Acme Oyster House for lunch, and only one block from Muriel's on Jackson Square for another dinner. Cafe du Monde,the river, Jackson Square, Pat O'Brien's, Royal Street shops all just a very short walk. They even had a very nice holiday tree lighting party on the third floor balcony while we were there (beginning of December). We highly recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: The only drawback that we experienced was that the walls were paper thin. We could hear everybody i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We decided to stay in a historic hotel in the french quarter for 3 nights in November. We picked the Bourbon Orleans and booked one of their King with balcony rooms. The balcony overlooked Orleans Street just half a block from Bourbon Street. Consequently it was noisy! An interior room would have been a better choice. The room was not large and in need of some redecorating. There was no bath but the shower worked well, good water pressure and lots of hot water. The buffet breakfasts were disappointing. Not a lot of selections and quite expensive. The staff were generally helpful and the valet parking worked well - although bepreparedto wait 20 minutes for it to be brought to the door. The bar had absolutely no atmosphere, dark, dingy, with 2 sports channel TV's.
The location was good for the french quarter, but if we visit again I will stay in an uptown hotel and take a cab to spend an evening in the quarter. Cabs were very reasonable trips across town for $8.

Room Tip: Choose an interior room if you like to sleep before 2:00am
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bourbon Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Address: 717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bourbon Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where old world charm meets new world luxury. Nestled in the heart of the French Quarter, the Bourbon Orleans New Orleans Hotel features a rich history and opulent French styling reminiscent of the early 1800s. Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, galleries and nightlife in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Amex, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Jetsetter, BookIt.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Bourbon Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bourbon Orleans
Wndham New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bourbon Orleans Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.