We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Style in the French Quarter” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bourbon Orleans Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #6 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Chelmsford, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Style in the French Quarter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We had other friends who had previously stayed at the Bourbon Orleans, and raved about their experience. As it turns out, they were absolutely right. The Bourbon Orleans is a great boutique hotel perfectly located a block away from Bourbon Street. The Services and amenities were excellent. I cannot commend enough how friendly and accommodating the entire staff is. Everyone made you feel very welcome. The location is a convenient walk to everywhere -- the French Market, Cafe du Monde, the Jazz River Boats and even Harrahs (a bit of a walk, but doable), and of course all the great restaurants in the area. We'll be back!

Room Tip: We had an inside room facing the church and courtyard. It was good to get away from the noise and h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,528 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    940
    444
    107
    22
    15
See reviews for
225
647
44
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (636)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

This was meant to be a romantic and fun birthday weekend for my wife and I and we were given a room facing the pool for a bit more quiet and calming atmosphere but what proved to be the case was the two connecting rooms across the hall contained a bachelorette weekend group that felt it was appropriate to "party" in the hall outside our room and theirs instead of inside from 2:30am until 5:30am Friday and Saturday and Sunday. After calls to security each night plus my wife opening the door to try and give them an idea that they should go inside or back down to the bars we finally had some peace only to have it repeated the next night. Given that we were not the only guests on the hall this weekend and that we had complained numerous times our expectations for a hotel of this caliber and price would be that they monitor situations like this and do all they can to keep ALL guests comfortable, relaxed and rested. This ended up being a very expensive sleep deprived weekend without the rest and relaxation we desired.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Great visit with friends, I have been to NOLA many times but had not stayed at the Bourbon Orleans. Great location, easily accessible to all attractions. The staff was wonderful, so friendly and helpful. The only issue was breakfast, over priced for what was offered on the buffet. I realize the hotel is not "known" for their food and there are many other places to eat; but if your in a rush and needing to eat quick it is not a great option. I would return in the future, and recommend to others.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flanders, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

After researching different places to stay while in New Orleans, we picked the Bourbon Orleans. It was the perfect location, the staff was amazing and our loft room was one of the nicest rooms we have stayed in. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borås, Sweden
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Very stylish, clean nicely furbished rooms. Nice and very friendly staff. Can't beat the location in French quarter just off Bourbon street. Parking is a hassle though, use valet at hotel , worth the money though it is expensive. Would recommend the hotel to all I know!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

My fiancé and I stayed at the Bourbon Orleans on our recent trip from Australia. This historic hotel is beautiful and full of character...as well as a few ghosts apparently. We had a ground floor king room on the pool side of the building. The room was spotless, spacious and the bed was extremely comfortable. You simply couldn't ask for a better location - in the famous French Quarter, right off Bourbon St. Despite being so close to the action, our room was really quiet and we couldn't hear a thing. Total value for money. I could not recommend this hotel highly enough!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shavertown, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Been to NOLA several times. I've stayed in balcony rooms on Bourbon, Suites in hotels across Canal St., and smaller guest houses around the French Quarter. This first stay at Bourbon Orleans was the best of them all.
The location is prime, right off Bourbon, but far enough down to be noise buffered. Since Orleans Street ends at Royal (not a through street to Chartres or Decatur) traffic past the hotel was minimal. Pirate's Alley is right at Royal, with close easy access to Jackson Sq., French Market, etc. A nice walk straight up Orleans away from the river is the entrance to Armstrong Park, and go a few blocks more and you can visit St, Louis Cemetery #1 at the edge of Treme (only until 3PM daily)
Hotel is very nice, you feel rich and important when the doorman opens the door to the large lobby with comfy sofas and chairs, high ceilings and and open airy feel.
The two elevators are a bit small, and sometimes slow to arrive, but fast between floors. But once your luggage is in your room, take the stairs instead, they're bright and clean.
Rooms are well appointed, most of the standards (TV, wardrobe, desk, coffee maker, hair dryer, etc.) Free wireless had a plenty strong signal, but there's also an ENET cable. A pleasant surprise is the FREE bottled water (I've seen hotels charge ridiculous $$ if you open the bottles they provide a a 'convenience'.)
The room did not have a refrigerator. Other rooms may, I didn't miss it at all.
The Community Coffee Co. coffee served free in the lobby every morning was very good, just grab a cup on your way out. Ice cold water was available later in the day, with a specific 'fruit infusion' each day - lemon, lime, strawberry, etc.
We didn't use the heated saltwater pool, but it was part of the pleasant oasis in the private couryard with umbrella tables and lounge chairs to enjoy.
The front desk is separated from the comfy lobby so can feel a little dark, and crowded if more than two parties are checking in/out at the same time, but the staff is very nice and friendly, as was pretty much everyone we met in NOLA (except one crabby waitress who seemed in desperate need of a cocktail, a cigarette, or both.)
Bottom line, the price is low for the experience you get when staying at the Bourbon Orleans. This will be the hotel I choose from now on.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bourbon Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Address: 717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bourbon Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where old world charm meets new world luxury. Nestled in the heart of the French Quarter, the Bourbon Orleans New Orleans Hotel features a rich history and opulent French styling reminiscent of the early 1800s. Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, galleries and nightlife in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Otel, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Bourbon Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bourbon Orleans
Wndham New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bourbon Orleans Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.