We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Romantic Getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Bourbon Orleans Hotel to your Saves list
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Off & Free WiFi
Ranked #6 of 156 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Lafayette,LA
1 review
“Perfect Romantic Getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Upon arriving to Bourbon Orleans, I was very anxious. My fiance and I have always stayed at his sisters house b/c she lives in New Orleans. I decided to get a hotel room downtown b/c I wanted to experience the nightlife without having to drive afterwards.
I was VERY please when we arrived at the hotel. The employees were very nice and very helpful. Our room was on the bottom floor and our windows looked out into the pool area. The room is GORGEOUS and BEAUTIFUL!! Huge room, king size bed, huge bathroom. We relaxed and then got ready for dinner and a night out. The hotel bar was also great. They had a gentleman playing the piano and it was so relaxing. Enjoyed a night out on Bourbon street also. Had a great night sleep in the most comfortable bed.. woke up with a smile. The food at the restaurant in the hotel was also excellent. Checking out the hotel was done within minutes.
Thank you so much for an FANTASIC night for us.
Already have friends that i referred staying there next month for a wedding and also a few corporate employees from Ohio coming in beginning of December.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,643
    722
    161
    39
    25
See reviews for
403
1,139
65
251
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,085)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
99 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I have stayed here multiple times over the past few years and have never had any complaint about the rooms, location, etc. The rooms are clean, comfortable, spacious and the location is perfect! I am sure I will stay here again. The cons I have experienced at this hotel are minor but worth mentioning. 1. The lack of reliable wifi
2. On more than one occasion I have experienced an unfriendly and/or inexperienced employee. On my last visit here, I had to stand for over 30 minutes waiting to get checked in for a room I had booked online. (This might not have been such a big deal to me if I hadnt been alone at check in with an infant and a full suit of luggage.)
More pros than cons to this hotel though!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

My girlfriend and I have been to New Orleans together three times in the past year and a half. We have been twice around New Year's, and once in the summer. This is the perfect hotel for anyone who wants to stay in the French Quarter, pay a reasonable price, and feel safe. The hotel itself has that New Orleans charm that one goes there in search for. It is an older hotel with a festive, accommodating staff, valet parking, nice TVs, nice bathrooms, but older carpet. If you can get past that, this is the place to be. It also has a pool, on-site laundry services, and a food bar with that serves Starbucks coffee. The location is amazing because you are less than a 5 minute walk to Jackson square where all the artists display their work, Cafe Du Monde, and other kiosks. Not to mention, right across the way is the coolest little wine bar with a horseshoe bar, great small plates, classic drinks, and a piano that plays by itself. It's quite quaint, and makes for a perfect intimate dinner.

Back to the hotel, the service is wonderful. They are very assertive about carrying your luggage, promptly serving you, and making sure you have a pleasant time overall. The only thing I would say this place lacks is having an informative person that can tell you where all the non-touristy spots are. Which might be the case for a lot of hotels down there.

One thing I would suggest is to request being on the non-bourbon side of the hotel to ensure a better night's rest in terms of noise.

In any case, I do stand by the fact that this is by far the best bang for you buck when staying in The Big Easy.

Room Tip: Call ahead to request a room that is not on the Bourbon Street side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We had a great time it was the best birthday ever. The staff were so nice. The bellman Derrick was friendly and very helpful. It is in a great spot to walk to everything. We were on the top floor
Very nice view. We will definitely be back. Excellent job on customer service, very professional. Beautiful hotel inside.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Close to everything, Charming newly remodelled room. nice pool, functional workout room. We have been staying here everytime we come to New Orleans and this is my 7th stay in this hotel never been disappointed. The room are a bit expensive especially around holiday time but the location is great.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed at Bourbon Orleans for three nights and found the total hotel experience excellent. The Check in process was easy and quick. The elevator is slightly small and appears to be a little older but we did not have any issues with it. The room we were given was on the 6th floor with a view of the swimming pool. We were worried the room at the hotel would be loud due to Southern Decadence but were very pleased with how quiet the room turned out to be. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was an excellent size with a great layout. I really liked the shower knob being on the opposite wall of the walk in shower. The location of the hotel can't be beat!! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stay four nights at Bourbon Orleans from August 23rd-August 27th, 2012. The entire staff was very friendly, helpful, informative and courteous. Tanner, Alex, and Kianna were fantastic at the front desk keeping us informed of any changes in our itinerary. Our room was spacious and beautifully decorated and clean. The hotel was within five to seven block walking distance for the majority of our activities. We felt very safe and secure in the French Quarter. Judy Labronk was great at scheduling our reservations and answering all of our questions long distance. 5 STARS for the staff and the hotel. Thanks so much for making our recent trip delightful, secure and memorable. We hope everyone is safe after Hurrican Isaac.

Room Tip: Elevator was noisy (sounded like grindy of gears). Request room away from elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#7 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,890 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#2 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,123 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 4,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#5 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 1,785 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourbon Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Address: 717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bourbon Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where old world charm meets new world luxury. Nestled in the heart of the French Quarter, the Bourbon Orleans New Orleans Hotel features a rich history and opulent French styling reminiscent of the early 1800s. Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, galleries and nightlife in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, TravelClick, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Bourbon Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bourbon Orleans
Wndham New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bourbon Orleans Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.