We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Bourbon Orleans Hotel to your Saves list
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% Off & Free WiFi
Ranked #6 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Nanaimo, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

We stayed for 5 days before our cruise and found this hotel to be great. We had one of the new townhouse rooms it was beautiful. There was a bit of noise at night from the services but when your room is at street level you need to expect it. Our room faced one of the back streets but we didn't get any of the party noise at all. The staff made our stay most enjoyable (Hi Caleb!). Our room must have been just renovated because there was still tape holding some mouldings onto the wall. The room had a very large lower level with a big seating area and the bedroom and bath are upstairs. The bed had a comforter so warm and light that I would have brought it home but it wouldn't fit in my suitcase.We will be going back next year in April hopefully and will stay here again because everyone made us feel welcome and they even remembered our names after the first day.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,170
    542
    127
    25
    18
See reviews for
277
809
51
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (805)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

This was such a pleasant find!

This hotel looks to have been recently updated with new everything. Paint, carpet, beds, linens, etc. were in excellent condition. I've stayed in many hotels through the years and that includes some very posh, elegant hotels and I can say - hands down - this hotel has the nicest towels I've ever seen! That probably sounds a bit strange to pick that particular item out, but it was so nice to get out of the shower with these towels. By the way, our bathroom has a rainforest shower head and black granite throughout - shower included!

They have an excellent breakfast buffet, as well. And, if you really don't want to leave the hotel, they have a beautiful pool and the bar is the part of the hotel that opens up onto Bourbon Street.

The only drawback was that there was no refrigerator in the room.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurnee, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

The hotel has a wonderful location to the French Quarter and Jackson Square. The hotel is beautiful with a hint of old world charm. Every single staff person was extremely helpful, courteous, polite and seemed genuinely happy. The customer service provided was so far above and beyond any expectations. We had a couple of special requests and the staff did whatever needed to be done to gives us what we wanted. And the staff seemed genuinely happy to accommodate us. It is the high level of customer service that made our stay so wonderful.

Room Tip: We hadvtwo rooms on opposite sides of the hall. Both rooms were equally good so I am not sure hoevt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012 via mobile

Just two of the many positives of staying at the Bourbon Orleans. The hotel is just at the edge of the heart of the madness, general drunkeness and trannys but close enough where stumbling to these pleasures is no problem. We were treated with complimentary drink tickets each night. The staff was extremly friendly as well and the pool is heated when its cold.

Only downside is the rooms are small but we weren't in them enough to care.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
347 reviews 347 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Unbelievably beautiful lobby.

My room was large but I did not like it - it had 2 small windows providing little light. The window could not be closed properly so in early morning the light was coming in impairing the sleep. So you get the light when you don't need it (during the night/early morning), and don't have it when you need it (during the day)

There was shower but not bath. Shower room had hair on the wall - this to me killed any good feeling about the hotel. This is just taboo for such a hotel. Clearly, the bath was not washed. Ugly!

Room smelled when I entered - probably from cleaning materials. Carpet in room not the most comfortable.

Reception not courteous. I asked for simple help and it was given - but with reluctance. Seems like the reception staff is 1. too immature (in the evening two young kids who were obviously not in their comfort zone to provide good service), 2. too overburden and 3. simply lazy to help.

Perfect location next to the action/night life but does not make up for the inferior room + service.

Room Tip: check your bathroom immediately upon entering the room so you can change it before you unpack and in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

This hotel is in a great location. Well within walking distance of the Riverwalk, Bourbon Street and the parade area. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is showing a little wear, but renovations (unobtrusive) are underway.

I had read other reviews that the waitstaff in the Roux restaurant were not helpful, but we did not find this to be the case. The breakfast buffet is beautiful with lots of variety. The grits were cooked perfectly and the sugarcane syrup was an interesting and tasty change from maple.

The only suggestions I have for this hotel to make a great experience even better is to find a way to lower the noise level in the bar. It was full of people shouting at each other; such a contrast to the sedate manner that the rest of the hotel portrays. My other suggestion is to vacuum the rooms more thoroughly. Our room was perfectly clean with one of the most comfortable hotel beds I have ever slept in, but the floor had not been vacuumed and the shower floor needed cleaning before use, but hot water was plentiful.

One the plus side, the nicely appointed room has an alarm clock radio with an MP3 dock, a beautiful black polished stone bathroom with a large shower, hair dryer, make-up mirror, large flat screen TV with keyboard, and a very comfortable desk chair. A grocery market is only a few blocks away and a CVS and Walgreens is near the riverwalk on Decatur Street about three blocks away. I would most definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights in a 2-queen bed corner room overlooking the French Quarter. The hotel is centrally located & convenient to all the major attractions & restuarants in the Quarter. Our room((s) was spacious, clean; the beds very comfortable. The sitting room lacked furniture ( no sofa, table or lamp) & when I mentioned this to the front desk, was told that they hadn't finished the renovations in the rooms. We were offered the opportunity to change rooms which we declined. We liked the room & view. However, e were compensated for the inconvenience during checkout. A little thing, but with I like real glassware in the room & bathroom. Since the room came with a wet bar in the sitting room, the disposable plastic cups seemed out of place. I did "borrow" some wine glasses from the dining room. I had dinner in the hotel restaurant one night (alone) & had a thoroughly good time. The food was fantastic; the service attentive & the staff engaging. I enjoyed the complimentary "small plate" as well as perfectly roasted chicken. We travel to New Orleans 4-5 times a year on business. The Bourbon Orleans is our top choice. The entire staff, from the bellman, valet & housekeeping was very attentive & friendly & made an effort to remember your name. We will definitely stay again on our next trip. Tip: the Grapevine Wine Bar & Bistro across the street is exceleent. We had dinner there one night & drinks & dessert on another evening.

Room Tip: Corner room on a higher floor (we were on 5) gives you a good view of the Quarter & makes for gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bourbon Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Address: 717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bourbon Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where old world charm meets new world luxury. Nestled in the heart of the French Quarter, the Bourbon Orleans New Orleans Hotel features a rich history and opulent French styling reminiscent of the early 1800s. Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, galleries and nightlife in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Otel, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Venere, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Bourbon Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bourbon Orleans
Wndham New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bourbon Orleans Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.