We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic French Quarter Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Bourbon Orleans Hotel to your Saves list
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Off & Free WiFi
Ranked #5 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Kihei, Hawaii
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic French Quarter Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

I was concerned after reading about the renovations that I would be disappointed with our choice of hotels, however, we were greeted with a free room upgrade and never even noticed that construction was happening during the seven days we were there. We had arranged for a balcony queen room and were upgraded to a two floor suite. The other couple we were traveling with got the same treatment! The staff was fantastic...I should have asked the name of the lady cleaning our room so I could complement her. The beds were SO comfy! I would just say that if you want a quiet stay, request a room on the interior. If noise and hustle is what you are after, the balcony rooms are fantastic! The bartenders at the hotel bar were fantastic as well ~ We will definitely be back! My only regret is that we had to leave!

Room Tip: Interior rooms are more quiet...balcony rooms are more fun~
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,222
    557
    130
    26
    18
See reviews for
288
840
53
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (833)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

The front staff, maids, and dining crew were all extremely helpful and courteous while showing a smile the entire time. The pool stays at a warm temperature and you're right on bourbon street without being on bourbon street (no noise in your room). With everything from allowing us to have an early check-in to a late check-out and a very attentive luggage handler and waiter in the restaurant, this is officially 'OUR' hotel for all future New Orleans trips.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldsmar
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

We were lucky enough to stay at the Bourbon Orleans for several nights and really enjoyed the facility. The hotel employees were great and the hotel itself was centrally located in the French Quarter. Our first night at the hotel, another couple and us decided to eat at the hotel restaurant. After placing our order (2 hamburgers, a pizza, and a salad) we waited for 40+ minutes before the food was delivered. The food server, who was a new employee, was very helpful and apologetic. Because the wait for the food was so long, our friends were ready to walk out. We decided that we would not eat at the hotel again, but would definitely stay again.

We also were lucky enough to experience a haunting. We were in our room at approximately 11:30 at night and we heard children running down the hallway. there were no children on our floor.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Although I've visited NOLA many times & stayed at various hotels, the Bourbon Orleans was my very first hotel -& the one I stayed in last. 10 years have pasted by, with several renovations & changes in management at the property, but I fortunately found the Bourbon Orleans atmosphere as I remembered it & the "MAGIC" still there. Upon check in, I was upgraded to a 2-story townhouse suite for the price of a room -the same great VIP hospitality I previously experienced years before! Located in the epicenter, this place epitomizes what a French Quarter hotel should be: casual elegance yet funky, a bygone era yet contemporary, romantic yet mysterious, tolerant yet responsible. No immaculate or pretentious Ritz Carlton here! Property features include a wonderfully grand columned lobby & a beautiful tropically landscaped courtyard sporting a large heated saltwater swimming pool. This place will ALWAYS have a special place in my heart -& hopefully yours too!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BourbonOrleansHotel, Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Thank you for your nice review. We are so glad you enjoyed your time here in New Orleans and with us at the Bourbon Orleans Hotel! We are very excited to hear you found your trip as magical as the first. We hope to welcome you back time and time again and continue to create magical memories for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foley, Alabama, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

My entire family went down to New Orleans last weekend and stayed at the Bourbon Orleans Hotel right in the middle of the French Quarter. This hotel was GREAT. The staff was so helpful with anything we needed or asked about, they were on it. We occupied a King Room and a Double Room and both were spacious, clean and inviting. The beds were great and so comfortable. This is the only place we will ever stay when we travel to New Orleans!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BourbonOrleansHotel, Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Thank you so much for the fantastic review! We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again in the future. I will share your wonderful comments with our staff. Thank you for selecting the Bourbon Orleans Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Em4112
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

I stayed at the Bourbon Orleans for a bachelorette party with a small group of girls (we were all in our late 20s or early 30s). We were in one of the two-story suites with a queen bed upstairs and a pull out sofa on the first floor. We also requested a roll away bed in our reservation.

The location for this hotel is fantastic and is its biggest benefit. The pool and the lobby are also very nice. The queen bed was fine, but the pull out bed was falling apart. At the bottom of the bed, the frame did not support the mattress so the mattress drooped to the ground. They did not bring us the roll away bed the first night we were there and did not seem to care that they were not accommodating this request.

I would only consider staying here again because of the location. It would have to be a great deal though.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BourbonOrleansHotel, Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
First I would like to say thank you for selecting the Bourbon Orleans for such a wonderful occasion. We are delighted that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay and truly apologize for the condition of the pull out bed in your suite. Thanks to your feedback we have addressed the condition of the furniture in that particular suite, so that it will not be a problem again. It is of our utmost priority that we make every experience a wonderful memory of your time in New Orleans. I hope you will consider the Bourbon Orleans for your next stay and we can show you all aspects of the hotel are wonderful. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Bourbon Orleans is in a great location in the French Quarter. Staff and service was very good and we will stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BourbonOrleansHotel, Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Thank you for your nice review. We are so glad you enjoyed your time here in New Orleans and with us at the Bourbon Orleans Hotel! We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back next January for Pardi Gras 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bourbon Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Address: 717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bourbon Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where old world charm meets new world luxury. Nestled in the heart of the French Quarter, the Bourbon Orleans New Orleans Hotel features a rich history and opulent French styling reminiscent of the early 1800s. Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, galleries and nightlife in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Bourbon Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bourbon Orleans
Wndham New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bourbon Orleans Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.