We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bienville House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bienville House to your Saves list
Bienville House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   320 Decatur Street, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Columbus,OH
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2004

My husband and I stayed here 9/3-9/6/2004. Had a king balcony room. The room was on the small side, but I expected that from an old building in the French Quarter. Bed was very comfortable, and the balcony had two chairs overlooking the courtyard and pool and had beautiful flowers cascading from it. Bathroom was pretty standard. Only problem we had was a small lizard had made a home in our room the second night of our stay. Probably came in via the balcony. We asked the front desk to take care of it, but we still aren't sure if they did. Overall the staff was accommodating and answered all of our questions. Would stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    302
    101
    55
    43
See reviews for
163
379
29
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2004

Lovely decor in this tidy room (request a window). We arrived knowing about the French Quarter's old hotels, small rooms with paper thin walls, and all that goes with Old World charm. Our Beinville room was quiet, spacious enough, and in a great location in the Quarter. Though the elevator wasn't working, we were more than compensated for the inconvenience. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2004

We stayed at the hotel Aug. 24-28, 2004 after making a reservation through Travelzoo (really good price). We were pleasantly surprised. As per the ad, we were upgraded to a balcony room overlooking the pool. My kids (5 & 7) and hsuband enjoyed the pool. The room was large, nice touches: bathrobe, suction mat in tub, towels provided by pool. The location was great, valet parking worked well $15 and the staff was extremely nice and courteous. We'd stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2004

The rooms themselves were nice and the daytime clerk was nice, if not short on attitude, and the bellboys were an absolute riot. Parking is 2 blocks away with no valet, very big minus if you are already paying that much to park. Elevator was out while we were there, forcing the use of either stairs or service elevator. Friday night the service elevator was locked and the security guard felt put out to allow us to use it, until I corrected his and the night clerks attitudes. We also asked for a smoking room which they did not provide.

There are many hotels in the French Quarter and it is doubtful that I will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2004

Just got back from a wonderful stay at the Bienville. It is a charming historic hotel in the middle of everything in the French Quarter. The rooms are spaciaous and the beds are incredibly comfortable. On the day of our arrival, the lobby elevator malfunctioned and trapped me inside...which was terrible but the purpose of my story is to commend the staff for their quick action and wonderful service recovery. The restaurant in the hotel, Heritage Cafe, is also very good.

  • Stayed August 2004, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bienville House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bienville House

Address: 320 Decatur Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#35 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#48 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bienville House 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just as the French Quarter is perfectly situated in the heart of New Orleans, the Bienville House New Orleans hotel is perfectly situated in the midst of the historic French Quarter. Having just completed a multi-million dollar renovation, the 83-room hotel is a truly distinctive downtown New Orleans hotel establishment.  It has a sense of style and grace only to be found in America’s most interesting city, within this New Orleans' boutique hotel accommodations in the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Bienville House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bienville House Hotel New Orleans
Bienville Hotel New Orleans
Bienville New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bienville House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.