We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great Nawlins experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bienville House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Bienville House to your Saves list
Bienville House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   320 Decatur Street, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Santiago, Chile
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A great Nawlins experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I searched for the best offer in the French Quarter to experience New Orleans and found Bienville which offers a good rate for its location. Situated in the French Quarters but not right smack in it, gives me a quieter atmosphere of French Quarter, away from the noise in Bourbon St but very near to go there. The hotel is beautiful but the room is a bit small but you'll ignore that because of the beautiful decor. All the interesting touristy places such as Bourbon st, Royal St, Jackson Square etc are just a walking distance away and the Mississippi River is just across the road. Overall a great beautiful hotel and would love to come again one day.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your time with us! Excellent choice. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    250
    78
    44
    37
See reviews for
116
302
24
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Bienville House was a great place to stay. Very close to Jackson Square. The staff was great especially Cynthia, she went above and beyond to assist us. The breakfast was nice and the server was friendly and attentive.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for the kind review! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Check in was great- very friendly and welcoming staff. Had no problems leaving our car with Valet (they even looked after it the day we checked out while we went on a tour, and at no charge!). Our room was nice, big enough and the bed very comfortable. The pool and courtyard is very cute and a nice place to relax. Breakfast was fine, not a lot of variety but what was on offer was fresh and tasty. Good location- walking distance to Bourbon St and nightlife but far enough away so it's quiet and feels safer. Would stay again and highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your stay at Bienville House! We hope you will visit us again in NOLA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Lovely french quarter hotel on a quiet street in the french quarter. Small rooms, but they have character and charm. The pool and courtyard are small but inviting. The continental breakfast was not impressive and the coffee was awful. But, I would stay there again for the price, location and charm.

Note that they accept pets, which meant that there was a yappy dog next to us. Luckily it kept quiet while we slept.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for the review! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed many of our amenities. Your remarks regarding the coffee and breakfast have been brought to the management team for review. We do hope to see you in NOLA again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abi
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Reasons not to stay:

1.) Smelly old rooms

2.) Brkfst sucked- nothing but stale pastries

3.) Room was not ready at check in. After roaming the city for 6hrs we decided to return and check for the room since we never received a courtesy call like the clerk said she would. When we returned there was a different clerk at desk who said they were too busy to call! Talk about horrible customer service.

4.) Did I mention horrible customer service!!

5.) Did I also mention that it's dirty! Sticky stuff all over the remote. Granted, remotes are the filthiest items in hotels but c'mon, this was the nastiest I've seen!

6.) No extra bed sheet like requested at the time of reservation. Basically, don't make any requests cos it won't happen.

7.) Wifi connection WEAK!!! You'd be lucky if you got a room with decent connection.

Reasons to stay:

1.) Decent location

2.) Free cookies around 5p.m

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
I regret to hear about the problems you endured during your recent visit to New Orleans. I apologize that we failed in our responsibility to you as our guest. Your comments have been brought to the attention of our management for review.

I hope you will reconsider your impression of Bienville House and allow us another opportunity to provide you the type of hospitality, ambience, and service upon which our reputation is established and which you have every right to expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicksburg, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We made reservations months ago for a double room with a sun patio and arrived early on 10/26, completed early check in and went to a late lunch. We arrived back at 430pm only to be told a water leak caused ceiling damage and we would have to relocate to Monteleone due to them having no other rooms available, but we could come back to the hotel for the continental breakfast and we were given a lower nightly rate along with a upgrade. I was so upset because we planned this around the Krewe of Boo parade that was coming right by the hotel and I was so looking forward to some wine on the patio.. we drove our vehicle and checked in at Moneteleone where we were informed that we were being booked in to a double b/c Bienville had overbooked. I was so upset! Then we were told it was no upgrade, we were in a room similar to what we had at Bienville just no sun garden, but oh we had a view! No we did not, it was all of roof tops! Then we were told that we were booked for one day, I refused to go back to Bienville after one night so they did change it to two days. Monteleone was pretty but our room was ridiculous, the air was awful, but they fixed it, the refrigerator did not work properly, and worst of all we had to walk to catch the parade and get ready in one hour as opposed to two or three b/c of Bienville deciding to kick us to Moneteleone. I feel we were moved b/c we had a great rate due to advanced booking for two days months before we arrived. We will not choose to stay at Bienville House again! They had our phone number but did not call, they lied about the damage when in reality they just overbooked! We did a early check in but it was not worth the paper it was on. The only bright side was the Manager did take care of one night of valet but whatever...such a disappointment!

Room Tip: Don't rely on a early check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Bienville House.

I regret that you did not receive the level of service we are capable of providing and I apologize. Your remarks are well taken and have been brought to the attention of our management team for review.

We greatly value your patronage and do hope that you will reconsider and give us another opportunity to display to you the type of hospitality and service upon which our reputation is based and which you have every right to expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The Bienville is a small hotel on Decatur. Top notch service in a quiet location. Excellent continental breakfast. Book a garden terrace room to get away from it all. We parked in the hotel lot which is safe and secure. We also had to wait for check-in which seems to be a common problem.

Room Tip: 4th floor is very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for the review! Your remarks about check-in have been brought to the management team for review. We hope to see you back in NOLA soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bienville House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bienville House

Address: 320 Decatur Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#30 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#40 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#50 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bienville House 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just as the French Quarter is perfectly situated in the heart of New Orleans, the Bienville House New Orleans hotel is perfectly situated in the midst of the historic French Quarter. Having just completed a multi-million dollar renovation, the 83-room hotel is a truly distinctive downtown New Orleans hotel establishment.  It has a sense of style and grace only to be found in America’s most interesting city, within this New Orleans' boutique hotel accommodations in the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bienville House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bienville House Hotel New Orleans
Bienville Hotel New Orleans
Bienville New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bienville House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.