We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible let down on a advanced planned mini getaway” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bienville House

Save Saved
You added Bienville House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Bienville House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   320 Decatur Street, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 152 hotels in New Orleans
Vicksburg, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Terrible let down on a advanced planned mini getaway”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We made reservations months ago for a double room with a sun patio and arrived early on 10/26, completed early check in and went to a late lunch. We arrived back at 430pm only to be told a water leak caused ceiling damage and we would have to relocate to Monteleone due to them having no other rooms available, but we could come back to the hotel for the continental breakfast and we were given a lower nightly rate along with a upgrade. I was so upset because we planned this around the Krewe of Boo parade that was coming right by the hotel and I was so looking forward to some wine on the patio.. we drove our vehicle and checked in at Moneteleone where we were informed that we were being booked in to a double b/c Bienville had overbooked. I was so upset! Then we were told it was no upgrade, we were in a room similar to what we had at Bienville just no sun garden, but oh we had a view! No we did not, it was all of roof tops! Then we were told that we were booked for one day, I refused to go back to Bienville after one night so they did change it to two days. Monteleone was pretty but our room was ridiculous, the air was awful, but they fixed it, the refrigerator did not work properly, and worst of all we had to walk to catch the parade and get ready in one hour as opposed to two or three b/c of Bienville deciding to kick us to Moneteleone. I feel we were moved b/c we had a great rate due to advanced booking for two days months before we arrived. We will not choose to stay at Bienville House again! They had our phone number but did not call, they lied about the damage when in reality they just overbooked! We did a early check in but it was not worth the paper it was on. The only bright side was the Manager did take care of one night of valet but whatever...such a disappointment!

Room Tip: Don't rely on a early check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Bienville House.

I regret that you did not receive the level of service we are capable of providing and I apologize. Your remarks are well taken and have been brought to the attention of our management team for review.

We greatly value your patronage and do hope that you will reconsider and give us another opportunity to display to you the type of hospitality and service upon which our reputation is based and which you have every right to expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    262
    218
    66
    38
    34
See reviews for
91
250
23
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The Bienville is a small hotel on Decatur. Top notch service in a quiet location. Excellent continental breakfast. Book a garden terrace room to get away from it all. We parked in the hotel lot which is safe and secure. We also had to wait for check-in which seems to be a common problem.

Room Tip: 4th floor is very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for the review! Your remarks about check-in have been brought to the management team for review. We hope to see you back in NOLA soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston, tx
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We had a lovely and reasonably spacious room and shower. Nicely appointed and quite romantic. Really friendly and helpful staff, in every way. Great location within walking distance of most important things. As usual it was great not having a car there....crowded parking so we were glad to avoid that. I'd give it a 5 star rating, but you could hear everything in the room next to us and up and down the hallway. It's an old hotel that I think was once a house of ill repute, but it's otherwise just terrific. We didn't have a balcony, but that sort of thing isn't an issue for us, a nice court yard area was there, so could have used that. Cobra427sc

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for the kind review of Bienville House! We're so happy you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This hotel is a great location for NOLA. The rooms very comfortable, great bed, nice linens. We arrived on a weekend when there were 3 wedding parties staying at the hotel. We did not get into our room until 4:30 or so even though checkin is at 3:00 p.m. Staff was very apologetic. The hotel is very quaint and cozy. Not too large and impersonal. Continental breakfast is not anything special. We were in a room that faced the fire station and had a step down the minute you walked into the door of the room.. I nearly killed myself when I walked into the room even though there is a sign on the door that tells you to watch your step. The trash truck also comes along at the crack of dawn if you are in a room that faces Decator street. It was still a lovely place. There are rooms on the 4th floor that have small patio's with tables and that would be a nice place to stay if I were to return to stay there. The front desk staff recommended a great place for breakfast right around the corner and we surely thank her for that. It was the Fluer de Leis cafe. I hold back from 5 stars as I was a bit irritated that we left early in the morning to go on a tour and did not return until nearly 3 p.m and our room still had not been cleaned. The staff came about 4 p.m. and we were in the middle of getting ready for the wedding. However on the day we checked out of the hotel we were a little after noon returning from breakfast and the front desk person was quite curt about check out being at 12 noon and when we went up to get our luggage our room key had already been disabled. I was irritated that the two days prior there was no rush to get us checked in or clean our room but when it was time to leave it was a big rush to get us out to clean the room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with Bienville House.

I regret that you did receive the level of service we are capable of providing and I apologize. Your remarks are well taken and have been brought to the attention of our management team for review.

We greatly value your patronage and glad you enjoyed so many other aspects of our hotel. We hope to see you in NOLA again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed at the Bienville House this past week and really enjoyed the visit. Our room was number 416, we had asked for an upper floor and also a king bed. There are few king rooms in this hotel as it seems they have mainly doubles. The fourth floor has many gardens if you just want to relax for a while. The hotel location is great, five minutes from the heart of Bourbon Street, Canal Street, Jackson Square or most anywhere you want to wander. The staff was extremely polite and very helpful. Morning breakfast was standard fare with yogurt, bagels, pastry, etc. My one word of caution, and what prevented a five star rating was that our room was small and our bathroom was literally 3x8 feet. When I got out of the shower it was difficult to attempt to dry off without hitting a wall on either side. I guess they sort of squeezed the room in the corner, we made do. Would we return, absolutely.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with Bienville House. We are glad you enjoyed your trip! The Bienville House is a historic property, and with that comes a unique floor plan with varying room sizes. We have tried our best to preserve the history of the building while still providing guests with a comfortable place to stay. We appreciate your understanding, and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everywhere
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Went to the Alabama vs LSU championship and stayed here while in town. Very good location!! It was very close to the fanfare and it was a great place to crash after spending the day in NOLA. Great resturants are nearby and you can walk to almost all places of interest.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
So pleased you enjoyed your stay at Bienville House. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, AL
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Since there were three wedding parties at the hotel, we were not able to get a room with a balcony...could also be because we booked through Expedia. Our room was spacious with frig, microwave, and coffee maker. Very clean and with a four poster bed. I would have liked a more appealing breakfast, but Cafe Dumonde is nearby. Our car was parked on site which was nice although parking in NOLA is always ridiculous. Staff was very friendly. Will stay here again...if I can get a balcony room!

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony. You hear the garbage truck at 4 am if you are in room 216.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us! Next time you visit, we would love the chance to accommodate a room request for a room with a balcony, just let our front desk staff know when booking!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bienville House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bienville House

Also Known As:
Bienville House Hotel
Bienville House Hotel New Orleans
Bienville Hotel New Orleans
Bienville New Orleans
Address: 320 Decatur Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#26 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#58 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bienville House 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just as the French Quarter is perfectly situated in the heart of New Orleans, the Bienville House New Orleans hotel is perfectly situated in the midst of the historic French Quarter. Having just completed a multi-million dollar renovation, the 83-room hotel is a truly distinctive downtown New Orleans hotel establishment.  It has a sense of style and grace only to be found in America’s most interesting city, within this New Orleans' boutique hotel accommodations in the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, Asiatravel.com Holdings, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Bienville House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bienville House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.