We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in the French Quarter of New Orleans” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bienville House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bienville House to your Saves list
Bienville House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   320 Decatur Street, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Oasis in the French Quarter of New Orleans”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The Bienville is a small hotel on Decatur. Top notch service in a quiet location. Excellent continental breakfast. Book a garden terrace room to get away from it all. We parked in the hotel lot which is safe and secure. We also had to wait for check-in which seems to be a common problem.

Room Tip: 4th floor is very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for the review! Your remarks about check-in have been brought to the management team for review. We hope to see you back in NOLA soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    323
    112
    58
    44
See reviews for
181
404
31
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
houston, tx
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We had a lovely and reasonably spacious room and shower. Nicely appointed and quite romantic. Really friendly and helpful staff, in every way. Great location within walking distance of most important things. As usual it was great not having a car there....crowded parking so we were glad to avoid that. I'd give it a 5 star rating, but you could hear everything in the room next to us and up and down the hallway. It's an old hotel that I think was once a house of ill repute, but it's otherwise just terrific. We didn't have a balcony, but that sort of thing isn't an issue for us, a nice court yard area was there, so could have used that. Cobra427sc

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for the kind review of Bienville House! We're so happy you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This hotel is a great location for NOLA. The rooms very comfortable, great bed, nice linens. We arrived on a weekend when there were 3 wedding parties staying at the hotel. We did not get into our room until 4:30 or so even though checkin is at 3:00 p.m. Staff was very apologetic. The hotel is very quaint and cozy. Not too large and impersonal. Continental breakfast is not anything special. We were in a room that faced the fire station and had a step down the minute you walked into the door of the room.. I nearly killed myself when I walked into the room even though there is a sign on the door that tells you to watch your step. The trash truck also comes along at the crack of dawn if you are in a room that faces Decator street. It was still a lovely place. There are rooms on the 4th floor that have small patio's with tables and that would be a nice place to stay if I were to return to stay there. The front desk staff recommended a great place for breakfast right around the corner and we surely thank her for that. It was the Fluer de Leis cafe. I hold back from 5 stars as I was a bit irritated that we left early in the morning to go on a tour and did not return until nearly 3 p.m and our room still had not been cleaned. The staff came about 4 p.m. and we were in the middle of getting ready for the wedding. However on the day we checked out of the hotel we were a little after noon returning from breakfast and the front desk person was quite curt about check out being at 12 noon and when we went up to get our luggage our room key had already been disabled. I was irritated that the two days prior there was no rush to get us checked in or clean our room but when it was time to leave it was a big rush to get us out to clean the room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with Bienville House.

I regret that you did receive the level of service we are capable of providing and I apologize. Your remarks are well taken and have been brought to the attention of our management team for review.

We greatly value your patronage and glad you enjoyed so many other aspects of our hotel. We hope to see you in NOLA again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed at the Bienville House this past week and really enjoyed the visit. Our room was number 416, we had asked for an upper floor and also a king bed. There are few king rooms in this hotel as it seems they have mainly doubles. The fourth floor has many gardens if you just want to relax for a while. The hotel location is great, five minutes from the heart of Bourbon Street, Canal Street, Jackson Square or most anywhere you want to wander. The staff was extremely polite and very helpful. Morning breakfast was standard fare with yogurt, bagels, pastry, etc. My one word of caution, and what prevented a five star rating was that our room was small and our bathroom was literally 3x8 feet. When I got out of the shower it was difficult to attempt to dry off without hitting a wall on either side. I guess they sort of squeezed the room in the corner, we made do. Would we return, absolutely.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with Bienville House. We are glad you enjoyed your trip! The Bienville House is a historic property, and with that comes a unique floor plan with varying room sizes. We have tried our best to preserve the history of the building while still providing guests with a comfortable place to stay. We appreciate your understanding, and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everywhere
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Went to the Alabama vs LSU championship and stayed here while in town. Very good location!! It was very close to the fanfare and it was a great place to crash after spending the day in NOLA. Great resturants are nearby and you can walk to almost all places of interest.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
So pleased you enjoyed your stay at Bienville House. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, AL
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Since there were three wedding parties at the hotel, we were not able to get a room with a balcony...could also be because we booked through Expedia. Our room was spacious with frig, microwave, and coffee maker. Very clean and with a four poster bed. I would have liked a more appealing breakfast, but Cafe Dumonde is nearby. Our car was parked on site which was nice although parking in NOLA is always ridiculous. Staff was very friendly. Will stay here again...if I can get a balcony room!

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony. You hear the garbage truck at 4 am if you are in room 216.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us! Next time you visit, we would love the chance to accommodate a room request for a room with a balcony, just let our front desk staff know when booking!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Canaan, Connecticut, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is a very quaint hotel right on the edge of the French quarter...close enough to stroll but far enough to avoid the noise of Bourbon street. Would definitely go back....The staff was helpful and courteous





Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Bienville House! Thank you for the kind review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Bienville House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bienville House

Address: 320 Decatur Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#35 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#54 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bienville House 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just as the French Quarter is perfectly situated in the heart of New Orleans, the Bienville House New Orleans hotel is perfectly situated in the midst of the historic French Quarter. Having just completed a multi-million dollar renovation, the 83-room hotel is a truly distinctive downtown New Orleans hotel establishment.  It has a sense of style and grace only to be found in America’s most interesting city, within this New Orleans' boutique hotel accommodations in the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Otel and getaroom.com so you can book your Bienville House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bienville House Hotel New Orleans
Bienville Hotel New Orleans
Bienville New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bienville House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.