We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, staff, small rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bienville House

Save Saved
You added Bienville House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bienville House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   320 Decatur Street, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
NJ
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great location, staff, small rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed at the Bienville House this past week and really enjoyed the visit. Our room was number 416, we had asked for an upper floor and also a king bed. There are few king rooms in this hotel as it seems they have mainly doubles. The fourth floor has many gardens if you just want to relax for a while. The hotel location is great, five minutes from the heart of Bourbon Street, Canal Street, Jackson Square or most anywhere you want to wander. The staff was extremely polite and very helpful. Morning breakfast was standard fare with yogurt, bagels, pastry, etc. My one word of caution, and what prevented a five star rating was that our room was small and our bathroom was literally 3x8 feet. When I got out of the shower it was difficult to attempt to dry off without hitting a wall on either side. I guess they sort of squeezed the room in the corner, we made do. Would we return, absolutely.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with Bienville House. We are glad you enjoyed your trip! The Bienville House is a historic property, and with that comes a unique floor plan with varying room sizes. We have tried our best to preserve the history of the building while still providing guests with a comfortable place to stay. We appreciate your understanding, and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    286
    234
    74
    41
    36
See reviews for
105
276
23
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Everywhere
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Went to the Alabama vs LSU championship and stayed here while in town. Very good location!! It was very close to the fanfare and it was a great place to crash after spending the day in NOLA. Great resturants are nearby and you can walk to almost all places of interest.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
So pleased you enjoyed your stay at Bienville House. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, AL
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Since there were three wedding parties at the hotel, we were not able to get a room with a balcony...could also be because we booked through Expedia. Our room was spacious with frig, microwave, and coffee maker. Very clean and with a four poster bed. I would have liked a more appealing breakfast, but Cafe Dumonde is nearby. Our car was parked on site which was nice although parking in NOLA is always ridiculous. Staff was very friendly. Will stay here again...if I can get a balcony room!

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony. You hear the garbage truck at 4 am if you are in room 216.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us! Next time you visit, we would love the chance to accommodate a room request for a room with a balcony, just let our front desk staff know when booking!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Canaan, Connecticut, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is a very quaint hotel right on the edge of the French quarter...close enough to stroll but far enough to avoid the noise of Bourbon street. Would definitely go back....The staff was helpful and courteous





Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Bienville House! Thank you for the kind review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nola, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We live here and love to go down to the Quarter, but rarely spend the night. Last Saturday after a great day of fishing in the Gulf, we stayed at the Bienville House, had dinner and went to the theatre. The satf was exceptionally friendly, attentive and helpful. from Lucious at the Valet, to Cynthia ant the front desk to the manager in the bar after the show; when we need just one more bottle of wine before bed. all were warm and welcoming!
Lovely charming decor, great rooms, great bar feel, nice courtyard with a fountain and pool

Room Tip: Within walking distance of everything you must see in the City! Interior rooms are probably quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
It sounds like you had a wonderful trip to New Orleans. We're so happy we could have been a part of it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in October for 3 nights. It was a very comfortable hotel to stay at. They give you a free continental breakfast every day. The hotel is located right in the heart of the French Quarter close to everything.

The staff was very helpful, particularly Beverly, who told me where to go to get good meals. I highly recommend it and would stay there again.

Room Tip: I stayed oh the Decatur side of the street in a king room. Some rooms have balconies but I believe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of Bienville House! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

From start to finish our time at Bienville House was great. Room was small but very nice very clean and a very comfortable bed. Court yard area with pool was also very nice. Staff was always helpful and nice. But there is always a but. The continental breakfast was fair at best, never saw any fresh cut fruits only some apples and bananas boxed cereals. The danish were bland and I think defrosted. The hotel is in a perfect location close to everything but far enough away from the noise. If you book ask for a room on the backside they fail to tell you that across the st is a firehouse. I would not recommend for young children more for adults.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
We are so pleased that you found the Bienville House to be so clean, comfortable, and helpful. We certainly agree! We hope to see you again in NOLA soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bienville House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bienville House

Address: 320 Decatur Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#29 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#39 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bienville House 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just as the French Quarter is perfectly situated in the heart of New Orleans, the Bienville House New Orleans hotel is perfectly situated in the midst of the historic French Quarter. Having just completed a multi-million dollar renovation, the 83-room hotel is a truly distinctive downtown New Orleans hotel establishment.  It has a sense of style and grace only to be found in America’s most interesting city, within this New Orleans' boutique hotel accommodations in the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Bienville House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bienville House Hotel New Orleans
Bienville Hotel New Orleans
Bienville New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bienville House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.