We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in the Big Easy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bienville House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Bienville House to your Saves list
Bienville House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   320 Decatur Street, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Rome, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Luxury in the Big Easy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Bienville House is an amazing boutique hotel. We received emails prior to our arrival and after we returned home. The staff was helpful and very nice. We stayed in a balcony room facing the pool courtyard. It is truly a beautiful place with old world charm. The breakfast is strictly continental, however the coffee was great and the pastry was fine. The hotel is easy walking distance to all of the French Quarter attractions. Parking is $20.00/day and is off site. The staff instructed us to call the valet at least 20 minutes in advance for our car. Check-in and check-out were easy with no wait. I highly recommend Bienville House for an upscale, low key, New Orleans experience.

Room Tip: Balcony overlooking pool/courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with the Bienville House. Thank you for taking the time to write a review - we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    264
    86
    48
    38
See reviews for
127
327
24
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
west palm beach, fl.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Just got back from 3 days in NO. We stayed at the Bienville House. It is a small boutique type hotel perfectly situated in the French Quarter. Clean and pleasant surroundings. They offer a free continental breakfast from 7 a.m. to 10 a.m. which was a nice touch. Good to be able to get up and get breakfast before heading out to walk the Quarters. They have a pool which is a nice touch. The room was ample and well furnished. They had just about everything you would need for a weekend stay. If you are into working out they have reciprocal privileges at a nearby hotel. But for us, walking the quarters each day was enough exercise. It was a fun trip.I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: We had room 415 which was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at Bienville House! Thank you for writing a review - we hope to see you back in NOLA soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

From our arrival the staff were very friendly and helpful. Miss Cynthia recommended Deanie's to us for delicious local dinner nearby. The room was beautiful - very clean and spacious with lots of French Quarter charm. Came with great wifi, complimentary water and coffee in the room and a basic breakfast of pastries downstairs. The pool area in the courtyard was pretty to sit outside in. Location was also great for wandering around the French Quarter. We would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review about Bienville House! You're happy - we're happy! Please join us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan Falls, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Bienville House for four nights on our first visit to NOLA. The staff was very nice, friendly and always had a smile. We had room 353 with a courtyard view. The room was beautiful and the bed comfortable. We didn't use it but it was nice to have the 4 cup coffee maker in the room, nice flat screen TV and close to the ice machine. The location was excellent. Easy walking distance to everything from antiques, French Market and restaurants. Our two favorites were Café du Monde and Johnny's Po-Boys. If we ever go back we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Glad to hear you and your wife had a great trip! We're so glad you stayed with us and we hope you will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I stayed overnight at the Bienville House on a quick trip to NOLA. It was a charming little place with a pool in the center courtyard. You felt like you were in the old world with the stone surrounds and fountain. The staff was extraordinarily friendly and the breakfast was superb. THe best of all was the location, you were right off bourbon street but not in the ruckus and could walk safely everywhere.
I had an "interior" room which had no window so that was kinda weird but they disclosed this up front. The decor was fantastic, and a welcome robe in the closet.
I would choose this place again and certainly recommend.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a window. The ones overlooking the courtyard with a balcony were beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind review! We are glad to here you enjoyed your stay and we hope you will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Staff was very nice and attentive. Valet parking was easy and my room was neat, clean and nicely decorated with a comfortable sofa .Had great toiletry items and plenty of towels. TV was nice and had a 4 cup coffee maker and the coffee was very good.

Room Tip: I liked the balcony rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your positive review on TripAdvisor! So glad to hear you enjoyed your time with Bienville House. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemphill, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I recently stayed here with 2 other ladies. This a beautiful small hotel. The room was lovely and the courtyard with a small pool was beautiful. The staff very helpful and courteous. This is the only place I will be staying on future trips to New Orleans.

Charlotte L.

Room Tip: The 4th floor patio rooms are great, also the rooms overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at Bienville House! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bienville House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bienville House

Address: 320 Decatur Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#37 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#62 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bienville House 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just as the French Quarter is perfectly situated in the heart of New Orleans, the Bienville House New Orleans hotel is perfectly situated in the midst of the historic French Quarter. Having just completed a multi-million dollar renovation, the 83-room hotel is a truly distinctive downtown New Orleans hotel establishment.  It has a sense of style and grace only to be found in America’s most interesting city, within this New Orleans' boutique hotel accommodations in the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Otel, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bienville House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bienville House Hotel New Orleans
Bienville Hotel New Orleans
Bienville New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bienville House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.