We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a pleasure to stay at Bienville House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bienville House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Bienville House to your Saves list
Bienville House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   320 Decatur Street, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Cape Canaveral, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Always a pleasure to stay at Bienville House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Location, location, location...the Bienville House has it. In addition, it has a great staff (thank you, Cynthia) and lovely, comfortable rooms. I always feel right at home in this hotel and would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting New Orleans.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our location and found our rooms comfortable. We will be sure to pass on your kind words about Cynthia and hope you'll be back to see us again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    262
    86
    48
    38
See reviews for
127
326
24
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We were in New Orleans to attend our daughter's wedding. Bienville House's location was perfect and the staff made what could be a hectic time, enjoyable. Without hesitation, they helped with requests that are not usually made. And what a help Cynthia was at the front desk. We'll certainly consider Bienville House for our next trip and plan to recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: There are a limited number of rooms with balconies. You must request them when making your reservat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay for your daughter's wedding and found our location to be perfect for your needs. We will be sure to pass along your kind words about Cynthia and look forward to having your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaale
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This was a pleasant stay in New Orleans. he hotel was located very near the center of the town, and it was in addition quite peaceful.. There will always be some noice from the streets but it was not disturbing us.
The rooms was spacious and very nuce, we got a location against the pool area, wich was nice. The frontdesk was very helpful with all requests we had.
There was a small breakfast at the hotel with only a few tables inside, but if there is good weather then the tables outside by the pool was very nice.
The Pool itself was not that inviting, at first sight it seemed a bit dirty, but it wasnt, it was only a colour that made us think so, so when you where at the pool you could see that it was ok, but still, we did not try it out.
We went right out into a busy street, a lot of eating places and squares right nearby, so location was very good.
Sp this was a hotel that can be recommended..

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the pool area for quiet positioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our location and found our staff helpful. We hope you'll be back to see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Clean, comfortable & close to everything. We had a garden view room with a small terrace. The décor is beautiful. We ate at the bar downstairs and it was very good. This is one of the few places in the French Quarter that will let you book for one night. We loved the B&B feel of the establishment. Its a nice break from the chain hotels we normally stay in. The front desk & concierge were very helpful with any questions we had. It was also nice to have a place to park our car as driving/parking in the area is not ideal. Everything we wanted to do was within walking distance from the hotel. I would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden/pool view as the street view can be rather noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank your for taking time to review our hotel! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your terrace, as well as our convenient location. We greatly appreciate your feedback and hope you will be back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We had a late arrival, but had not problem finding or checking into the hotel. The front desk staff was so helpful, even telling us the best places to eat late night. We were pedestrian and the hotel was convenient to multiple eating establishments. The room faced a "back street" but it was clean and confortable. We ultimately were happy that we did not have one on the front because it was quiet at night. We asked questions at the desk every morning on directions and attractions and every one was spot on. The staff was friendly and efficient, and they made really helped us have a great taste of NOLA. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank your for taking time to review our hotel. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and the recommendations of our staff. We greatly appreciate your feedback and hope you will be back to enjoy our hotel again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I loved our stay at the Bienville House. We had a 4th floor, patio room. The patio was cool, with lots of lush plants and a small table. The room was comfortable and as expected for NOLA not large. The 3 of us had plenty of room. The staff was a bit of a mixed bag but overall nice. The front desk staff were super helpful and very sweet, the valet was great and the departing bell hop as well. The bell hop on arrival seemed pretty stressed. He was the only one working and it was a busy time when we arrived. Also, the lady at the continental breakfast was a bit off putting. You could tell she didn't like the fact I like to fix my own coffee. :) The pool is a great little pool in a nice courtyard. Bienville House is located in a great New Orleans locations. It is an easy walk to Jackson Square, Bourbon Street or Riverwalk. I'll be back! Oh, the lady in the next room seemed alarmed when there was loud music playing upon arrival. One should not expect silence anywhere in the French Quarter. It was simply a Riverboat playing load must and passed withing 20 minutes.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We are thrilled you loved your stay and enjoyed your room accommodations. We will be sure to pass along your comments about our staff and will look to improve this aspect of our hotel in the near future. Come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Quaint European style hotel. Lots of history and lovely furnishings. However, we were given small corner room with king bed-- had to turn sideways to walk around bed. Bath door opened onto toilet. Paid $169/night but got smallest room.. Much lower rates with larger rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to review our hotel. We are very sincerely sorry you felt your room was too small and uncomfortable. We have made a note of it and will look to improve this aspect of our hotel in the future. Please come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bienville House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bienville House

Address: 320 Decatur Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#35 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#62 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bienville House 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just as the French Quarter is perfectly situated in the heart of New Orleans, the Bienville House New Orleans hotel is perfectly situated in the midst of the historic French Quarter. Having just completed a multi-million dollar renovation, the 83-room hotel is a truly distinctive downtown New Orleans hotel establishment.  It has a sense of style and grace only to be found in America’s most interesting city, within this New Orleans' boutique hotel accommodations in the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bienville House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bienville House Hotel New Orleans
Bienville Hotel New Orleans
Bienville New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bienville House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.