We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an Enjoyable Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bienville House

Save Saved
You added Bienville House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bienville House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   320 Decatur Street, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“What an Enjoyable Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We were in New Orleans to attend our daughter's wedding. Bienville House's location was perfect and the staff made what could be a hectic time, enjoyable. Without hesitation, they helped with requests that are not usually made. And what a help Cynthia was at the front desk. We'll certainly consider Bienville House for our next trip and plan to recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: There are a limited number of rooms with balconies. You must request them when making your reservat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay for your daughter's wedding and found our location to be perfect for your needs. We will be sure to pass along your kind words about Cynthia and look forward to having your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    286
    234
    74
    41
    36
See reviews for
105
276
23
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vaale
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This was a pleasant stay in New Orleans. he hotel was located very near the center of the town, and it was in addition quite peaceful.. There will always be some noice from the streets but it was not disturbing us.
The rooms was spacious and very nuce, we got a location against the pool area, wich was nice. The frontdesk was very helpful with all requests we had.
There was a small breakfast at the hotel with only a few tables inside, but if there is good weather then the tables outside by the pool was very nice.
The Pool itself was not that inviting, at first sight it seemed a bit dirty, but it wasnt, it was only a colour that made us think so, so when you where at the pool you could see that it was ok, but still, we did not try it out.
We went right out into a busy street, a lot of eating places and squares right nearby, so location was very good.
Sp this was a hotel that can be recommended..

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the pool area for quiet positioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our location and found our staff helpful. We hope you'll be back to see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Clean, comfortable & close to everything. We had a garden view room with a small terrace. The décor is beautiful. We ate at the bar downstairs and it was very good. This is one of the few places in the French Quarter that will let you book for one night. We loved the B&B feel of the establishment. Its a nice break from the chain hotels we normally stay in. The front desk & concierge were very helpful with any questions we had. It was also nice to have a place to park our car as driving/parking in the area is not ideal. Everything we wanted to do was within walking distance from the hotel. I would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden/pool view as the street view can be rather noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank your for taking time to review our hotel! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your terrace, as well as our convenient location. We greatly appreciate your feedback and hope you will be back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We had a late arrival, but had not problem finding or checking into the hotel. The front desk staff was so helpful, even telling us the best places to eat late night. We were pedestrian and the hotel was convenient to multiple eating establishments. The room faced a "back street" but it was clean and confortable. We ultimately were happy that we did not have one on the front because it was quiet at night. We asked questions at the desk every morning on directions and attractions and every one was spot on. The staff was friendly and efficient, and they made really helped us have a great taste of NOLA. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank your for taking time to review our hotel. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and the recommendations of our staff. We greatly appreciate your feedback and hope you will be back to enjoy our hotel again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I loved our stay at the Bienville House. We had a 4th floor, patio room. The patio was cool, with lots of lush plants and a small table. The room was comfortable and as expected for NOLA not large. The 3 of us had plenty of room. The staff was a bit of a mixed bag but overall nice. The front desk staff were super helpful and very sweet, the valet was great and the departing bell hop as well. The bell hop on arrival seemed pretty stressed. He was the only one working and it was a busy time when we arrived. Also, the lady at the continental breakfast was a bit off putting. You could tell she didn't like the fact I like to fix my own coffee. :) The pool is a great little pool in a nice courtyard. Bienville House is located in a great New Orleans locations. It is an easy walk to Jackson Square, Bourbon Street or Riverwalk. I'll be back! Oh, the lady in the next room seemed alarmed when there was loud music playing upon arrival. One should not expect silence anywhere in the French Quarter. It was simply a Riverboat playing load must and passed withing 20 minutes.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We are thrilled you loved your stay and enjoyed your room accommodations. We will be sure to pass along your comments about our staff and will look to improve this aspect of our hotel in the near future. Come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Quaint European style hotel. Lots of history and lovely furnishings. However, we were given small corner room with king bed-- had to turn sideways to walk around bed. Bath door opened onto toilet. Paid $169/night but got smallest room.. Much lower rates with larger rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to review our hotel. We are very sincerely sorry you felt your room was too small and uncomfortable. We have made a note of it and will look to improve this aspect of our hotel in the future. Please come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

We loved everything about our stay at the Bienville House! From the very first warm welcome, staff went out of their way to make sure our first trip to New Orleans was special. The location on Decatur made walking through the French Quarter easy, our room was lovely and elegant, and our grandson really enjoyed the courtyard pool. Our local AAA office recommended the Bienville as THE place to stay...and we agree!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We greatly appreciate it and are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our location and that your grandson enjoyed our courtyard pool. We hope you will all be back soon to enjoy our hotel again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bienville House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bienville House

Address: 320 Decatur Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#29 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#39 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bienville House 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just as the French Quarter is perfectly situated in the heart of New Orleans, the Bienville House New Orleans hotel is perfectly situated in the midst of the historic French Quarter. Having just completed a multi-million dollar renovation, the 83-room hotel is a truly distinctive downtown New Orleans hotel establishment.  It has a sense of style and grace only to be found in America’s most interesting city, within this New Orleans' boutique hotel accommodations in the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Bienville House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bienville House Hotel New Orleans
Bienville Hotel New Orleans
Bienville New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bienville House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.