We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint old hotel with lots of character and convenient location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bienville House

Save Saved
You added Bienville House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bienville House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   320 Decatur Street, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Johnson City, Tennessee
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Quaint old hotel with lots of character and convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I loved our stay at the Bienville House. We had a 4th floor, patio room. The patio was cool, with lots of lush plants and a small table. The room was comfortable and as expected for NOLA not large. The 3 of us had plenty of room. The staff was a bit of a mixed bag but overall nice. The front desk staff were super helpful and very sweet, the valet was great and the departing bell hop as well. The bell hop on arrival seemed pretty stressed. He was the only one working and it was a busy time when we arrived. Also, the lady at the continental breakfast was a bit off putting. You could tell she didn't like the fact I like to fix my own coffee. :) The pool is a great little pool in a nice courtyard. Bienville House is located in a great New Orleans locations. It is an easy walk to Jackson Square, Bourbon Street or Riverwalk. I'll be back! Oh, the lady in the next room seemed alarmed when there was loud music playing upon arrival. One should not expect silence anywhere in the French Quarter. It was simply a Riverboat playing load must and passed withing 20 minutes.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We are thrilled you loved your stay and enjoyed your room accommodations. We will be sure to pass along your comments about our staff and will look to improve this aspect of our hotel in the near future. Come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    286
    234
    74
    41
    36
See reviews for
105
276
23
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Quaint European style hotel. Lots of history and lovely furnishings. However, we were given small corner room with king bed-- had to turn sideways to walk around bed. Bath door opened onto toilet. Paid $169/night but got smallest room.. Much lower rates with larger rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to review our hotel. We are very sincerely sorry you felt your room was too small and uncomfortable. We have made a note of it and will look to improve this aspect of our hotel in the future. Please come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

We loved everything about our stay at the Bienville House! From the very first warm welcome, staff went out of their way to make sure our first trip to New Orleans was special. The location on Decatur made walking through the French Quarter easy, our room was lovely and elegant, and our grandson really enjoyed the courtyard pool. Our local AAA office recommended the Bienville as THE place to stay...and we agree!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We greatly appreciate it and are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our location and that your grandson enjoyed our courtyard pool. We hope you will all be back soon to enjoy our hotel again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We checked in on a Wednesday for one night stay. The front desk was professional and called us on my cell phone when the room was ready. My niece and I stayed in a room with two double beds. I paid $159 for a two-double bed room. the room is nice, and traditional to the area.
We stayed in 401 and they had pretty patio areas that were so open and looked lovely with the flora!
The room also had an ice machine and elevator right across from us, (kitty corner) but either no one filled up ice, or it was pretty quiet. We slept just fine in the very comfortable beds.
The breakfast was toast, bagels, muffins, and sweet rolls. They had cereal, milk, juice, coffee (out all the time?) and butter, jam-cream cheese.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to review our hotel. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and were happy with your room accommodations, as well as our breakfast spread. We hope you'll be back to see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We just returned home from our trip to New Orleans. This is the second time we stayed at Bienville House. We would never stay at one of the large, impersonal chains in town. Bienville is in the perfect location for all of the sights of NOLA. All staff are kind, professional and very eager to help. We love Miss Cynthia and Miss Beverly, the lovely ladies who run the run front desk. The folks in charge of the breakfast bar go out of their way to make sure you are pleased with your food. We enjoyed having our breakfast in the gorgeous courtyard next to the beautiful pool. It was a treat to enjoy the complimentary lemonade and cookies the hotel provides for guests every afternoon. The door men were always patient with answering all of our tourist questions. Our room was spacious, clean, quiet and very comfortable. The a/c was functioning beautifully which is important with the heat this time of year. We were fortunate to share the elevator with the hotel Manager once and he seemed genuinely interested in our stay being a happy one. We are looking forward to our next visit to New Orleans and the Bienville will always
be our hotel of choice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to review our hotel! We are thrilled you enjoy your stay, our breakfast, as well as our cookies and lemonade. We will be sure to pass your kind words on to our management team and we look forward to having you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Loved this hotel,the cleanliness,the location,the staff,everything,and Shiva58,the breakfast room staff,they were so helpful and friendly and we will remember them for a long time,they helped to make our holiday,so nice to meet genuine characters.

Room Tip: If we were to visit again we would have one of the rooms with a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope you come back and try one of our rooms overlooking the courtyard!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murray, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The Bienville House is a beautiful hotel located in the French Quarter on Decatur, within walking distance of everything but far enough from everything to be peaceful. It's well maintained & has a historical New Olreans feel.

This was our second stay with them, upon entering the room we were greeted with soft spa music playing, Perrier water, a giftbox of pralines, free wifi, and a welcome back note. The staff was extremely friendly (always greated us by name) and very helpful. They really know how to make you feel special!

*Please note that the cheapest rooms have no windows...this seems to be missed on their website by some.

Room Tip: We have only stayed their twice but both time we stayed on the riverside. Quiet & nice to watch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to New Orleans and stay with us at Bienville House Hotel. We appreciate you taking time out to share your review with us here, and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bienville House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bienville House

Address: 320 Decatur Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#29 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#39 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bienville House 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just as the French Quarter is perfectly situated in the heart of New Orleans, the Bienville House New Orleans hotel is perfectly situated in the midst of the historic French Quarter. Having just completed a multi-million dollar renovation, the 83-room hotel is a truly distinctive downtown New Orleans hotel establishment.  It has a sense of style and grace only to be found in America’s most interesting city, within this New Orleans' boutique hotel accommodations in the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Bienville House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bienville House Hotel New Orleans
Bienville Hotel New Orleans
Bienville New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bienville House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.