We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect In Every Way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bienville House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Bienville House to your Saves list
Bienville House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   320 Decatur Street, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Worldwide
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Perfect In Every Way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

It is difficult to put into words the very warm and welcoming feeling this hotel's staff provides no matter if it is the day you arrive or the day you have to depart, and all the in between time.

Not enough can be said. This is the place ! The desk staff is up on all that is New Orleans.

If you plan a visit to New Orleans this is the place to reside. It is in the French Quarter and convenient to all that is New Orleans - by foot and public transport.

The included breakfast is just right, the attendant staff is friendly and caring.

Without hesitation we would stay again.

Room Tip: Would ask for a room not facing Decatur Street during Marti Gras.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
We are so happy to hear you had such a wonderful experience at Bienville House Hotel. We are thrilled that you felt so warmly welcomed by our staff throughout your stay. We appreciate you taking time out to share your review here and hope to see you again on your next visit to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    263
    86
    48
    38
See reviews for
127
326
24
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights during Mardi Gras and it was just right. Great location despite the fire station across the street as we were staying during party season so noise was to be expected. Our room was large but the bathroom was tiny one of the reasons I can't give it full marks. The reception staff were freindly and helpful. Did not realise that breakfast was a small table with some coffee, muffins and toast, even missed it one morning at about 9:30 so worth checking out. The bar and restaurant were closed due to Mardi Gras so did not get a chance to try their food.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
We appreciate you taking time to share your recent experience of your stay at Bienville House Hotel during Mardi Gras. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit to New Orleans and your stay with us! We hope to see you again soon on your next visit the The Big Easy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Really enjoyed my stay here. The staff was wonderful; courteous and professional. The room were simple, clean and the high ceilings made it feel very large. Unfortunately I did not have the opportunity to sample their food. It is walking distance from the French Quarter which is perfect due to limited parking in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for taking time out to share your recent experience at Bienville House Hotel. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, found our staff to be friendly and professional and found our location in the heart of the New Orleans French Quarter so ideal. We hope to see you again soon on your next visit to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camillus
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We have been guests at the Bienville House since 1989. When we are in the New Orleans area it is our favorite hotel to be at. The hotel is close to the French Quarter and in walking distance to many
of the shops and restaurants. Our favorite room has a balcony where you can see the Mississippi
river and sometimes a freighter going by. We love visiting New Orleans and staying at the Bienville
House is such a plus for us.

Room Tip: We like our balcony room but any room in this hotel would be wonderful. The southern décor is just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
We are so honored to hear that you have been staying with us for so many years! We are thrilled to know that you have so thoroughly enjoyed your experiences with us and that we have been a part of so many of your wonderful memories in New Orleans! We appreciate you taking time out to share your review, and we hope to see you again soon on your next visit to The Big Easy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

I travel often for work and feel I have fairly reasonable standards when it comes to hotels. At first glance, the Bienville House seems like a cute boutique hotel in a great location to enjoy all that New Orleans has to offer without traveling too far. It would not have been my top choice but my company made reservations for us to stay since we were in town for a conference. However, only the location met expectations, despite being right across the street from a firehouse (this was a non issue for me but a colleague whose room faced the firehouse had some sleepless nights from the sirens).

The hotel is old with very little improvements made over the years. The rooms are highlighted by a musty, old smell. The floors are worn, stained and they creak every time you walk on them. The walls are paper thin - I could hear my neighbors' conversations without effort. The bathrooms are tiny. The shower head was rusty and the "cold" and "hot" labels were in the wrong order. The linens are old, tattered and have holes. The pillows are flat and substandard to any hotel I've stayed. The cleaning service is questionable - it was hard to tell if my bed was truly made each day. The staff are mediocre and inconsistent. Sometimes they greet you and sometimes you are barely acknowledged. The hotel restaurant was disappointing - weird hours/daily schedule.

The one highlight was you could see that the hotel has a ton of potential. It is a cute boutique hotel that has been clearly neglected over the years. The layout is interesting and the balcony area outside each room is lovely. I am sure this was once an extremely charming hotel years ago and for whatever reason the years have simply not been kind. I would not go back or recommend this hotel until it undergoes a renovation. It just doesn't meet industry standards.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent visit to New Orleans and Bienville House Hotel. We regret that you did not receive the level of service we are capable of providing and we apologize. Your remarks are well taken and have been brought to the attention of our management team for review.

We greatly value your patronage and do hope that you will reconsider and give us another opportunity to display to you the type of hospitality and service upon which our reputation is based and which you have every right to expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Excellent location with easy walking access to Jackson Square and rest of French Quarter. Found the property to be very attractive and our room was clean and very functional. Very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Bienville House Hotel. We appreciate you taking time out to share your review with us and we hope to see you again soon upon your next visit to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I visited New Orleans last week, no major festivals were going on so for once had a choice of where to stay. I chose Bienville House because I was looking for a boutique hotel. I was very pleased with my experience overall. The location is on Decatur, so it is near the river. It was convenient for daytime activities and a short walk to Bourbon St. at night. The staff was friendly when I had questions, the room was large and clean, and the shower had good water pressure. We even got a room facing the courtyard and had a balcony, which was a nice addition. Breakfast is included - nothing fancy, just the basic continental breakfast. The only complaint, and it is minor, is the elevator is small and sometimes slow. However, considering the building was built long before elevators, I was grateful they had one. I would definately choose to stay at this hotel again if given the opportunity.

Room Tip: Be sure to book a room with a window if that is important to you. They have some rooms without wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience of your recent stay at Bienville House Hotel. We are so happy to hear that you had such a wonderful visit to New Orleans and enjoyed your stay with us! We're glad to know that you found our staff friendly, your accommodations comfortable and our location in the New Orleans French Quarter to be ideal. We appreciate your patience with the elevator, and do hope to see you again on your next visit to The Big Easy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bienville House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bienville House

Address: 320 Decatur Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#35 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#62 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bienville House 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just as the French Quarter is perfectly situated in the heart of New Orleans, the Bienville House New Orleans hotel is perfectly situated in the midst of the historic French Quarter. Having just completed a multi-million dollar renovation, the 83-room hotel is a truly distinctive downtown New Orleans hotel establishment.  It has a sense of style and grace only to be found in America’s most interesting city, within this New Orleans' boutique hotel accommodations in the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bienville House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bienville House Hotel New Orleans
Bienville Hotel New Orleans
Bienville New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bienville House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.