We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with helpful and friendly staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bienville House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bienville House to your Saves list
Bienville House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   320 Decatur Street, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location with helpful and friendly staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed with a few friends over Christmas, 2012. Hotel was walkable from most attractions in the French quarter.. They also have a convenient parking lot for your car.

Room opens up to this lovely patio with a table and four chairs.. Given the weather, was nice to hang there while waiting for friends or just sipping on some coffee and browsing the net.

A more comfortable bed would have been welcome since my back didn't quite agree with the slightly saggy ones they had.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay at Bienville House Hotel. We are so glad to hear you had such a wonderful stay and had a chance to relax on the tranquil patio between adventures exploring the French Quarter. Your remarks about your bed have been noted and have been brought to the attention of our management team. We hope to see you again on your next visit to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    332
    116
    59
    45
See reviews for
188
412
32
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I stayed at the Bienville House for a wedding this fall. It was nice enough. For the price, I thought the rooms were small and the bathrooms even smaller. While this is to be expected for a historic hotel like this, I would have liked more space and a more comfortable bed. The hotel is in an excellent location - walking distance to nearly everything you could want to do. The lobby and bar area were very nice and the staff was accommodating.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay with us. We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your visit to New Orleans. We do ask you to consider the nature of New Orleans’ old buildings and the measures taken to modernize them while preserving their integrity.. We have tried our best to preserve the history of the building while still providing guests with a wonderful space to stay while visiting New Orleans. We're glad that you enjoyed your visit and do hope to see you again on your next visit to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Prairie, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Bienville House was great!! Cynthia at the front desk was so nice and accomodating. When the heat couldn't be fixed in my in-laws' room, she upgraded them to the "penthouse suite". The rooms were so charming and clean. The location is great for walking everywhere and the breakfast was a nice way to start the day. Can't wait to go back when it warms up and really enjoy the courtyard and pool with all the beautiful plants and flowers. Will definitely return!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review your stay at Bienville House Hotel. We are so glad you had such a wonderful stay with us. We are thrilled to hear that you found our staff to be nice and helpful. We're happy Cynthia was able to accommodate your needs during your stay. We would love to see you again when New Orleans warms up so you can enjoy the pool and courtyard area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

I had a wonderful staybat this historic hotel. The service was fantastic and the rooms were beautiful. Beds very comfortable. If I had to say anything negative it would be that the bathroom is a little small. I would definitely recommend this place.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
We're so glad to hear that you so thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us at Bienville House Hotel. We're happy you enjoyed your accommodations and our hotel service to be exceptional. We appreciate you taking the time to share your review with us here, and hope to see you again on your next New Orleans visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Bienville House for 3 nights in mid-December. The check in was very quick, the room was ready. Our air conditioner was working fine on a contrary to many complaints.
The concierge Cynthia and Beverly, were both wonderfully welcoming and warm, always giving directions and welcoming back to find out how we are enjoying our stay.
The breakfast lady was very nice too and we didn't have any shortage of cereal or yogurt or anything.
The hotel is an old charm, close to everything and we will definitely stay there again when in New Orleans.

Room Tip: looking in a court yard are with balconies and quaiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
We appreciate you taking time out to share your review of your stay with us at Bienville House. We're thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful experience! We're so glad that Cynthia and Beverly were so welcoming and helpful and you found your accommodations to be excellent.. We hope to see you again the next time you visit New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bexleyheath kent
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

this boutique hotel was in the perfect position to explore the city. first impression wasnt that nice the lady on reception was on the phone at the time ordering a pizza and checking us in as well. gave us our key cards and pointed to lift. no breakfast is at this time etc... at least our room was better. two large double bed tea and coffee, we faced the fire station this wasnt a problem except the window didnt open so you had to have the air-con on. the beds were comfortable although the first day they forgot to make our bed we had no towels or tea. we had to phone down and a maid bought 2 of each. breakfast although was continential it was cereals apples yogurts and pastries. thats if there were any fruit or yogurts out. the lady who guarded the coffee machine and was in charge of the toaster, i think they came out of her salary, cos u had to ask for them and one day there was no cereal at all. she even cleared up before 10 one morning taking away the milk. we asked for hot water every morning for our tea. and as we were there for 7 days we thought she would remember as we were the only english but no she still offered us her coffee and we had to ask for hot water. the staff on the whole were very pleasant despite our first impression

Room Tip: rooms over the courtyard and swimming poor have balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your experience of your stay with us at Bienville House Hotel. We regret that you did not receive the level of service we are capable of providing and we apologize. Your remarks are well taken and have been brought to the attention of our management team for review. We are glad to hear that you had an overall nice stay and do hope to see you again on your next visit to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This boutique hotel felt like a dream in the heart of the French Quarter. Great walking distance (only 3 blocks!) from Canal St and Bourbon St. The hotel felt friendly and was very lovely! The staff was equally as charming as the cozy (and petite) rooms.

The pool was a bit small, but still very refreshing for hot Nawlins days in the summer. My only complaint (and this is really splitting hairs) is that the towels and sheets were changed only every 3 days, unless otherwise requested, due to the drought.

A big concern of mine was that one evening my boyfriend and I returned to our room very late and the door was ajar. Not simply unlocked... OPEN. I was scared for several reason, however nothing seemed to be missing or damaged. Upon checkout the following morning we notified the staff and they assured us that if any items were later report missing by us they would make every effort to correct things.

Overall, a dream vacation!

Room Tip: Bottom floor does not have real windows, make sure to get one that does!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your stay with us at Bienville House Hotel. We are so glad to hear that you had a wonderful visit and enjoyed our location and the ability to easily walk to the attractions in the New Orleans French Quarter. We're glad you were able to relax by the pool for a refreshing reprieve from exploring the city. We're glad to know that our staff was able to help you with the incident with the door and it caused you no inconvenience. We hope to see you again soon on your next visit to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#18 of 155 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 456 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#43 of 155 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 1,809 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 155 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 4,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#8 of 155 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,792 reviews
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#34 of 155 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 1,682 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#21 of 155 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bienville House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bienville House

Address: 320 Decatur Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#34 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#57 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bienville House 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just as the French Quarter is perfectly situated in the heart of New Orleans, the Bienville House New Orleans hotel is perfectly situated in the midst of the historic French Quarter. Having just completed a multi-million dollar renovation, the 83-room hotel is a truly distinctive downtown New Orleans hotel establishment.  It has a sense of style and grace only to be found in America’s most interesting city, within this New Orleans' boutique hotel accommodations in the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com and Otel so you can book your Bienville House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bienville House Hotel New Orleans
Bienville Hotel New Orleans
Bienville New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bienville House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.