We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint hotel in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bienville House

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 10 more sites!
Bienville House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   320 Decatur Street, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 152 hotels in New Orleans
Burlington, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Quaint hotel in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

What a great place to stay as home base for a weekend (or longer) of exploring the French Quarter and beyond. Only a few blocks from Jackson Square, Harrah's Casino, the river front, art shops of Royal Street, this hotel is just far enough from Bourbon St. to get away from the noise and chaos.

The hotel is beautifully decorated. The rooms are spacious and well equipped. We had a standard interior king room (no windows), and it was not at all claustrophobic. The mattress and pillows were comfy. The bath amenities were nice, and the complimentary bottled water was a great addition to the tea and coffee maker in the room. The hotel has free wi-fi in the room and common areas, but the signal strength was sketchy. There is also a PC for guest use in the lobby.

The staff were some of the warmest I've met. The folks at the front desk greeted us with a warm smile and asked about our adventures of the day, each time we walked into the hotel. The couple who look after the continental breakfast are so sweet, always ready to toast a bagel, or pour a coffee for the guests.

The hotel was very quiet. Even with a large wedding party in the hotel we didn't hear anything in our room. The courtyard and its heated pool are stunning - an amazingly tranquil place to enjoy a coffee or a cocktail.

There is a restaurant attached to the hotel. We had dinner there on the last trip but it was number of years ago so I don't want to comment.

Overall I highly recommend this hotel. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Save a few $$ and take a standard interior room. It's very quiet, and you'll hardly notice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
We are so glad to hear you have had such wonderful experiences with us at Bienville House Hotel. We're so glad to know that you have thoroughly enjoyed our accommodations, pool area and location. We appreciate you taking the time to share your review with us. We hope to see you again soon on your next visit to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    260
    217
    66
    38
    34
See reviews for
91
250
23
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Bienville House is strange. It is a number of old buildings morphed into one crazy hotel. Our room was third floor, down a ramp, turn right, pick the right hallway and turn left, another left, bingo. The room was small but very clean. I think the rooms are very different from each other because of the way the place has morphed. The last reviewer said he had no windows, we had three, in a very small room. There is no reason to not stay here.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
We appreciate you taking time to share your review of your recent stay at Bienville House Hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and do hope that you will join us again on your next visit to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Let me start with the good.

The hotel is quaint and pleasant. The staff is attentive, particularly over the free continental breakfast (coffee, tea, juice, pastries, cereal, bagels). There are complimentary apples also available at all times if that's important to you. The location is convenient to Bourbon and Canal streets and only a $7 cab ride or 15 minute walk to Frenchman St.

The room was cute. An impressive four-poster bed dominated the room and was as comfortable as one would expect. The furniture was all functional and appealing. The bathroom, while small, was completely sufficient. The room came with two very nice robes.

Now for the bad. Keep in mind that this is not a bargain hotel, which is why I gave it the 2-star rating. We paid $250/night for this room.

Our room had no windows. I don't mean that there just simply a small window that looked at the side of the adjacent building. I mean ZERO windows. Even prison cells are mandated to have a window. It made the room feel quite oppressive. The towels were thin and seemed to be driving toward the end of their life-cycle. Our neighbors in the Iberville Suite was clearly in town to party since we had the pleasure of hearing them come and go (music included) from 9 pm to 6 am. Obviously the quality of the other guests is not the hotel's fault, I point this out to illustrate how poorly insulated the rooms are from each other. In fact, as I write this now from the bed I can hear the occupants of the adjacent room talking about where they are going to party tonight.

Had this been a bargain hotel and we were paying $100/night this would have been a 4-star experience. But for this price-point it was just sheer disappointment.

Room Tip: I STRONGLY recommend that you ask for a room with a window. I never imagined I would ever have to ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your review of your recent stay at Bienville House Hotel. We are truly sorry that you did not receive the kind of service we are capable of providing and which you deserve. Your comments have been brought to the attention of our Management team for review. Regarding windows in rooms, we ask our guests to remember this is an historic hotel and we are unable to change the location of the windows. At your next visit, at the time of check in and if availability permits, if your room is not satisfactory please let the staff know and we will help you switch to a room more of your liking.

It is our wish to offer our guests comfortable accommodations with particular emphasis on personal attention. We value your patronage and hope that you will join us again on your next visit to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Just returned from a wonderful two night stay. Everything was perfect.. Great location. Easy parking. Wonderful complimentary continental breakfast with service. Beautiful room with balcony overlooking lovely courtyard. Will be back for sure.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view or join the "I prefer" program offered on website for extra per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review of your recent visit to New Orleans and stay with us at Bienville House Hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to do so. We are so glad to hear that you had such a wonderful experience. We're happy you enjoyed your balcony, our breakfast and our location. We hope to see you again soon on your next visit to the Big Easy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evans, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Hotel had older charm. Our overall experience was great. We had a room over looking courtyard and pool. Noise was not a problem. Service staff was great! Location related to Bourbon Street was great. Hotel staff recommendations for food were excellent. Road work was going on during our stay but noise level above courtyard was not a problem.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience of your recent visit to New Orleans and stay with us at Bienville House Hotel. We are thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful experience and enjoyed our accommodations, pool area and location in the New Orleans French Quarter. We hope to see you again soon on your next visit to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

if you like loud road construction, the smell and noise of road equipment, bumper to bumper traffic right outside your window, then you will love the bienville house location. if you like having to call housekeeping every day to remind them that there are three people staying in your room and not two and could you please bring another set of towels, you will love it here. if you like sharing the same bar of soap with two other people for 5 days, if you like the fire alarms going off first thing in the morning and no explanation as to why or if you like not having heat in your room then you will love it here.

Room Tip: do not get a room in the front, very loud. do not get a room higher up, smell moldy,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review your experience at Bienville House Hotel. We regret that you did not receive the level of service we are capable of providing and we apologize. Your remarks are well taken and have been brought to the attention of our management team for review.
We greatly value your patronage and do hope that you will reconsider and give us another opportunity to display to you the type of hospitality and service upon which our reputation is based and which you have every right to expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

When we stay in the french quarter we always try to stay at the Bienville House. It is the perfect location- block from Royal street, 2-3 from Bourbon, short walk to Jackson Square. It is easy to get to and get out when driving. Great bar, beautiful courtyard, and top notch service.

Room Tip: Tip: get an exterior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
We are so thrilled to hear that you have enjoyed many wonderful stays with us at Bienville House Hotel. We are happy to hear that you love our location, accommodations and service. We appreciate you taking time out to share your review with us here and do hope to see you soon on your next visit to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bienville House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bienville House

Also Known As:
Bienville House Hotel
Bienville House Hotel New Orleans
Bienville Hotel New Orleans
Bienville New Orleans
Address: 320 Decatur Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#26 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#58 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bienville House 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just as the French Quarter is perfectly situated in the heart of New Orleans, the Bienville House New Orleans hotel is perfectly situated in the midst of the historic French Quarter. Having just completed a multi-million dollar renovation, the 83-room hotel is a truly distinctive downtown New Orleans hotel establishment.  It has a sense of style and grace only to be found in America’s most interesting city, within this New Orleans' boutique hotel accommodations in the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Preferred Hotels, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Bienville House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bienville House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bienville House to your Saves list