We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bienville House

Save Saved
You added Bienville House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bienville House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   320 Decatur Street, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Mobile
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Just returned from a wonderful two night stay. Everything was perfect.. Great location. Easy parking. Wonderful complimentary continental breakfast with service. Beautiful room with balcony overlooking lovely courtyard. Will be back for sure.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view or join the "I prefer" program offered on website for extra per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review of your recent visit to New Orleans and stay with us at Bienville House Hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to do so. We are so glad to hear that you had such a wonderful experience. We're happy you enjoyed your balcony, our breakfast and our location. We hope to see you again soon on your next visit to the Big Easy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    287
    232
    74
    41
    36
See reviews for
104
275
23
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evans, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Hotel had older charm. Our overall experience was great. We had a room over looking courtyard and pool. Noise was not a problem. Service staff was great! Location related to Bourbon Street was great. Hotel staff recommendations for food were excellent. Road work was going on during our stay but noise level above courtyard was not a problem.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience of your recent visit to New Orleans and stay with us at Bienville House Hotel. We are thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful experience and enjoyed our accommodations, pool area and location in the New Orleans French Quarter. We hope to see you again soon on your next visit to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

if you like loud road construction, the smell and noise of road equipment, bumper to bumper traffic right outside your window, then you will love the bienville house location. if you like having to call housekeeping every day to remind them that there are three people staying in your room and not two and could you please bring another set of towels, you will love it here. if you like sharing the same bar of soap with two other people for 5 days, if you like the fire alarms going off first thing in the morning and no explanation as to why or if you like not having heat in your room then you will love it here.

Room Tip: do not get a room in the front, very loud. do not get a room higher up, smell moldy,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review your experience at Bienville House Hotel. We regret that you did not receive the level of service we are capable of providing and we apologize. Your remarks are well taken and have been brought to the attention of our management team for review.
We greatly value your patronage and do hope that you will reconsider and give us another opportunity to display to you the type of hospitality and service upon which our reputation is based and which you have every right to expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

When we stay in the french quarter we always try to stay at the Bienville House. It is the perfect location- block from Royal street, 2-3 from Bourbon, short walk to Jackson Square. It is easy to get to and get out when driving. Great bar, beautiful courtyard, and top notch service.

Room Tip: Tip: get an exterior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
We are so thrilled to hear that you have enjoyed many wonderful stays with us at Bienville House Hotel. We are happy to hear that you love our location, accommodations and service. We appreciate you taking time out to share your review with us here and do hope to see you soon on your next visit to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at the Bienville House at Halloween time. I'm glad we decided to stay here rather than at a hotel on Bourbon Street. Bourbon Street can be really crazy and LOUD, especially if there's any reason to party. The Bienville is in the French Quarter and just a few short blocks to Bourbon Street. Everything is within walking distance. A continental breakfast is included...pretty basic but ok. Free WiFi was also a big plus. The staff was very attentive and friendly and seemed as if they were actually happy to have us as guests!!! A very nice touch making us feel welcome. The room we had was kinda small for 3 people but was clean. A good experience :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your experience of your recent visit to New Orleans and your stay with us at Bienville House Hotel. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed our accommodations, the continental breakfast and free WiFi. We're glad to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. We hope you will join us again on your next visit to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

A group of us stayed here one night before our cruise. It was very easy to get to and the location was perfect for us. The rooms were a little dated but clean. Beds were very comfortable and they had a nice little continental breakfast and the attendees were absolutely some of the nicest people we met and very accommodating! I would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
We appreciate you taking time to share your experience at Bienville House Hotel. We are thrilled to know that you and your friends had a wonderful stay before departing on a cruise vacation. We are so happy to know that our staff was able to make your stay extraordinary. We hope to see you again soon on your next visit to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingman, Arizona
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I have to be honest and say that this wasn't my first choice or even my third choice but it was a good choice.

The location is great. It is away from the craziness of Bourbon Street but close to everywhere we wanted to. Every staff member was friendly. Free WiFi was a plus.

It is an old hotel so we expected the small and slow elevator, lack of plug and small bathroom. The problems we did have were we couldn't open the doors to the balcony. I think the rain had made them swollen. The other problem was the rumbling we experienced. We were on the second floor, second to last room. There was a very loud rumbling in the hall way and sometimes our bed would start vibrating from it. We were out and about so much it was enough to change rooms over. I like that the clothes closet was large enough to put our suitcases in helping with space problem in the room.

Can't comment on the breakfast since we never use it. With all the other wonderful food at your fingertips I don't know why anyone would eat at their hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your experience at Bienville House Hotel. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your remarks regarding the balcony doors and noise are well taken and have been brought to the attention of our management team. We're glad you were able to explore the French Quarter and found our location to be a perfect central point to do so. We hope to see you again on your next visit to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bienville House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bienville House

Address: 320 Decatur Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bienville House 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just as the French Quarter is perfectly situated in the heart of New Orleans, the Bienville House New Orleans hotel is perfectly situated in the midst of the historic French Quarter. Having just completed a multi-million dollar renovation, the 83-room hotel is a truly distinctive downtown New Orleans hotel establishment.  It has a sense of style and grace only to be found in America’s most interesting city, within this New Orleans' boutique hotel accommodations in the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Bienville House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bienville House Hotel New Orleans
Bienville Hotel New Orleans
Bienville New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bienville House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.