We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Quiet Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bienville House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bienville House to your Saves list
Bienville House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   320 Decatur Street, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
richmaond va
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Quiet Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Great boutique hotel to stay in French Quarters. Since it is a smaller hotel we got to interact with staff. Front desk would always address us by name. Our room was nice sized, clean and set in New Orleans decor.. Had french doors leading to patio that overlooked pool, river and street so we were able to watch horse and buggies go by.. Had continental breakfast every morning and fresh lemonade and cookies were put out for guests every afternoon. Got to mingle with other guests which made it feel more like a family atmosphere. Had a fire station across the street so we felt safe coming in late at night. Our hotel area was not noisy at night and we were in walking distance to all of the great restaurants and attractions..This was our second time staying here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balacony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    298
    99
    53
    43
See reviews for
163
373
29
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

What a beautiful place on a perfect location! But....not well kept, everything needs to be cleaned up properly. hallway and room really dusty and dirty! bathroom not clean at all, stains on de towels! Breakfast... a disaster: 3 tables inside for the whole hotel, as it was raining and nobody could sit outside imagine the chaos!!
Absolutely not a 4 star hotel on the inside

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent visit to New Orleans and Bienville House Hotel. We regret that during your stay you did not receive the level of service we are capable of providing and we apologize. Your remarks are well taken and have been brought to the attention of our management team for review. We greatly value your patronage and do hope that you will reconsider and give us another opportunity to display to you the type of hospitality and service upon which our reputation is based and which you have every right to expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

I recently had a two week class in New Orleans. I originally booked The Holiday Inn, on Royal. I checked into The Holiday Inn and immediately checked out. It was so nasty. Thankfully The Bienville House accommodated me for my stay. Thank you again! I will never stray from The Bienville House again!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin,Tx
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Me and my family went to New Orleans for a 2 day trip and decided to stay at this Hotel. It was an amazing stay for the location and the price. My room was very clean with french doors opening to a balcony of my own. The staff was friendly and the location was wonderful at the French Quarter. This was my first time staying at this hotel and I was very impressed and satisfied. They have valet parking and a breakfast/lunch buffet. The House of Blues is one block right across the street and Bourbon St. is three blocks up...with the Audubon Aquiarium just 2 blocks down.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We have stayed here twice in the past year and have been pleased both times. Great service. Clean rooms. Rooms are beautifully decorated while leaving the historic beauty of New Orleans. The location is wonderful for those who wish to explore The French Quarter on foot.

Room Tip: Rooms in the rear have quick access to terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

This was my first stay at the Bienville House. The occasion was Tales of the Cocktail. BH, a sister property to the ToC HQ, the Monteleone, turned out to be a great choice. The vibe is boutique hotel. Charming small pool and courtyard. Our room, though smallish, was well furnished with French doors opening onto a tiny balcony. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful .Although it is located in a heavily touristed part of the French Quarter and very near the House of Blues, our room was relatively quiet although we did hear the boat whistle in the morning and were awakened by fire engines dashing to the scene of the Hubig's pie factory fire (a tragedy for anyone raised on those yummy treats as I was). Being an old building,BH had its quirks. Only one (very slow) elevator that had a propensity for getting stuck. Our room keys never seemed to work so we constantly had to get them reswiped. The blow dryer in the room mysteriously disappeared and reappeared and my cell phone kept turning itself on and off and flashing in one part of the room. The staff blamed it on the resident ghost. Like almost every hotel in the FQ, this one allegedly is haunted. BH houses one of the best small restaurants in the FQ, Iris, which boasts fabulous food and a romantic atmosphere (and I'm not just saying that because my fiance proposed while we were there). All in all, this is one of the better, more reasonably priced hotels in the FQ. Not my favorite hotel ever in New Orleans, but I would definitely stay here again for an FQ-based event.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville, Missouri, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

This was the third time my wife and I have stayed at the Bienville House Hotel. Every request we made was filled in a timely and pleasant manner by the desk clerks and bellmen. The accomodations were well maintained and clean and the decor made you feel like you are staying in the French Quarter. Didn't get a chance to eat at the hotel restaraunt, but the bar was entertaining with quality and creative drinks.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bienville House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bienville House

Address: 320 Decatur Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#31 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#36 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#48 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bienville House 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just as the French Quarter is perfectly situated in the heart of New Orleans, the Bienville House New Orleans hotel is perfectly situated in the midst of the historic French Quarter. Having just completed a multi-million dollar renovation, the 83-room hotel is a truly distinctive downtown New Orleans hotel establishment.  It has a sense of style and grace only to be found in America’s most interesting city, within this New Orleans' boutique hotel accommodations in the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bienville House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bienville House Hotel New Orleans
Bienville Hotel New Orleans
Bienville New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bienville House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.