We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bienville House

Save Saved
You added Bienville House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bienville House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   320 Decatur Street, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

In an excellent location in the French Quarter to explore everything the area has to offer on foot including the terminal for river cruises on the famous steamboat 'Nachez' and Bourbon Street which comes alive at night.

The hotel has maintained its character during a recent refurbishment and offers quality, clean accomodation at affordable prices. The small outside pool and patio an added bonus though NOLA was very cold when we were there on the run up to Mardi Gras.

The only downside is the breakfast area and what is on offer. Machine ( though acceptable) coffee, cereals, pastries and toast.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    285
    229
    73
    40
    35
See reviews for
102
271
23
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

New Orleans is loaded with hotel options. This one will not disappoint if you you want convenient charm. Lovely courtyard and pool, breakfast (albeit limited) and excellent location is all you need.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

I stay at the Bienville House whenever I go to New Orleans. The hotel and rooms are always clean. The staff is wonderful and knowledgeable. The location is perfect. This is the Hotel I recommend to friends visiting The Big Easy.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

This was a great place to stay during Mardi Gras. It's far enough away from the noise Bourbon Street, but close enough to all the action so you can get there when you feel the need. It's in the French Quarter and central to all the restaurants and shopping. The staff are wonderful and know the area if you need any guidance.

We stayed in a room with a small balcony which overlooked the beautiful courtyard and swimming pool. By the way, I swam in the pool most every morning. Very refreshing.

Angela booked our stay and I can't say enough about her. She went out of her way to ensure our group had a great experience and is very knowledgeable about Mardi Gras and what to see & do while there. This made our stay even more enjoyable.

They offer a continental breakfast in the lobby every morning. Very good, and the lady attending it is friendly and attentive.

The Iris restaurant is just off the lobby and although we were too busy to try the food (next time!), I did stop in for cocktail (or two) and found the mixologist, Sharon, to be one of the best I've had the pleasure of meeting. She can mix all the classics, but if you are adventurous she can make you one of her specialties which are amazing.

All in all, this is a fun place to stay. No hotel can be perfect, but it's really the staff who make or break a hotel. And this place has that covered.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We just returned from a 4 night stay and found this hotel to be excellent in all respects, and the location is fabulous. We stayed in a Sun Deck room on the 4th floor, facing the back, which was very quiet and spacious for a boutique hotel. Staff was excellent, everything was clean and well cared for, continental breakfast was fresh and adequate. This hotel is central to the
French Quarter, to the Riverfront area and also to get to the St Charles streetcar line to travel out to places like the WW II museum, and the Garden section. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Sun Deck room are a nice size and no one above you. We did not use the patio area outside but that i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

The Bienville House was recommended to us by people that lived in New Orleans. The hotel is quaint and the location is perfect. We were close enough to Bourbon Street to walk but not so close that we felt that we could never sleep! I ran every morning along the river front which as easy to get to from this hotel. We opted for a room without a balcony or view but our room was much more spacious than our friend's room with the balcony/view. We highly recommend taking the Katrina tour which was actually more of a NOLA history tour.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake Village, Ca.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We spent a week at this hotel, which I chose for location, although the prices were quite good.The free breakfast buffet was extensive, with a helpful little lady serving as hostess. I walk with a cane, so I found a step-free ramp to the main street, two city blocks to the waterfront, close to the cathedral, street cars and every classy restaurant in the French Quarter....we walked everywhere, every day, with great ease. We did not visit the Jazz joints, but the Hard Rock and House of Blues were visible nearby. We did not know the Music Fest was going on, and a few days later Navy Day /tall ships came to the park...Really great ! The tour buses left the Jax Brewery depot, the paddleboat tour and carriage rides were all very close. Coming and going to the airport, the shuttle seemed to avoid heavy traffic by some quick routes...effortless travel. This bouteque hotel is located just right....try it....you'll love it !

Room Tip: We had a balcony king room, just over the entrance. The N.O. fire house faced our room, and on two l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bienville House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bienville House

Address: 320 Decatur Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bienville House 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just as the French Quarter is perfectly situated in the heart of New Orleans, the Bienville House New Orleans hotel is perfectly situated in the midst of the historic French Quarter. Having just completed a multi-million dollar renovation, the 83-room hotel is a truly distinctive downtown New Orleans hotel establishment.  It has a sense of style and grace only to be found in America’s most interesting city, within this New Orleans' boutique hotel accommodations in the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Bienville House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bienville House Hotel New Orleans
Bienville Hotel New Orleans
Bienville New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bienville House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.