We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable place to stay in the french quarter that's away from the noise.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. Pierre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added St. Pierre to your Saves list
St. Pierre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   911 Burgundy Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70116 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #108 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Houston, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Affordable place to stay in the french quarter that's away from the noise.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

We wanted to stay in the French quarter for under $200 per night without a reservation on President's Weekend, and this was the only place I could find. It turned out to be a great find. I would recommend this hotel to any budget traveler who wants to visit the French quarter.

The room is very basic--no microwave, fridge, hairdryer, or even a clock. But it's very roomy, cozy, clean, comfortable and located in a beautiful historic building. It's a short 10-minute walk to anything you might want to see in the French quarter, but two blocks away from where all the noise comes from. So at the end of the night, you can go back to your room and get a good night's sleep. Both nights we were there, we did hear some of our neighbors come in late (and drunk), but the noise didnt last too long and I think that's the best you can hope for if you want to stay in the French quarter.

The hotel has free parking, but it's very limited. Our first night, we parked on St. Louis in a lot for $25 per day, but the next day we found a spot. They have a security guard watching the lot who lets people in and out, so that was nice.

The hotel has free breakfast and a jacuzzi as well, but I did not partake in either, so I can't comment on them. There is a small grocery store next door that is convenient if you forget anything. I bought a jug of bottled water there.

Overall, just the right place to stay in the french quarter, in my opinion. And if you do visit the french quarter, I highly recommend you stay there, rather than drive or take a taxi from elsewhere. It was much more enjoyable that way.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    139
    81
    52
    89
See reviews for
61
163
17
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

We loved this hotel, the staff could not have been nicer. They went out of theirway to be helpful and always available. It is nice to have more parking than other similar hotels nearby. If you want a French Quarter historic and reasonably priced hotel, select this one. It is a nice, safe walking distance to Bourbon Street, but far enough away to be quiet.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niceville, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

I made a huge mistake when booking our stay that would have really caused problems for our trip, thank goodness the reservation staff caught the mistake and made contact with me. I dealt with the manager (Gary) in trying to get issue resolved, he was very understanding and helpful, for which I am most grateful. He went above and beyond in helping me out, truly customer focused.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, MS
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

We stayed one night at the St. Pierre Hotel. The location is great; away from lots of noise but close enough to walk to everything in the French Quarter. If you are looking for plush accomodations and a lavish room, this is not the place for you. Our room consisted of a double bed, dresser, night stand, 19" TV, one picture above the headboard, and an extra twin bed placed in vacant space in the room. The temparature is controlled by a window unit. Our room which was suppose to be non-smoking did have a smokey smell to it. Could have possible come from smoking neighbors, which is not the hotel's fault. Our bathroom was actually spacious, but it was not updated by any means. The room was very clean, which was a little bit of a surprise to me because sometimes the old hotels in New Orleans can be dingy. Our stay was quiet, but the walls of the hotel do seem to be very thin. As neighbors were leaving in the morning, we could hear more noise than just the occasional "bump."

The hotel staff was friendly and accommodating, though we did not have any issues that required any special assistance from them. Free parking is nice if you are able to get a spot in the lot. There is a small continental breakfast that comes with your stay.

Overall, I was pleased with our stay. The rates at the St. Pierre are very reasonable, but with that you have to give up some of the frills of a more expensive hotel. I was safe, comfortable, and the room was very clean. I would stay here again. After all, who spends time in their hotel room in New Orleans?

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

Beware of the St. Pierre. It may be acceptable for a group a college-aged travelers coming to New Orleans to revel in the Bourbon Street nightlife, but it is substandard at best for anyone else. I stayed in one of the Jazz Suites with a small group of friends (5 in all) and my experience was not a good one. I expected a little French Quarter "charm" given the location (which was the only redeeming quality), but old, dirty carpet, mismatched furniture, and a bathroom thas was simply frightening is not what I consider charm. Too many things in disrepair to even begin to list them all.

The "so-called" continental breakfast was box of donuts from the convenience store down the street and a couple pots of coffee. Not to mention the breakfast area doubled as a break area for the hotel staff.

In total my group spent $1300+ for our four night stay at St. Pierre. I guess it goes without saying we overpaid. Frankly, I am wondering where the hotel revenue is being spent. It is certainly not on room upgrades, cleaning supplies, or breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

We stayed for three nights over the New Years holiday weekend for a room that was terribly overpriced. The beds were too small and there were no refrigerators, microwaves, hair dryers, or clock radio. We were not provided with a newspaper, nor were there any available. There were 70 rooms but only 17 parking spaces. It was stressful to find a place to park where we would not get ticketed. My 71 year old husband has diabetes and it was difficult for us to walk ten blocks with our child from a pay parking garage to the hotel because they didn't have sufficient parking. The area is extremely dangerous and the continental breakfast was very poor. There was no fruit, hot chocolate, oatmeal, waffles, or even grits. Do not stay here! It is a rip off for the money.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

I have NEVER stayed in a hotel as disappointing as the St. Pierre. It was a total dump, the staff was insolent and uncooperative, and there were absolutely no ammenities. Location OK,, but too far uptown, really. The price was cheap - I guess you get what you pay for. I told my friend that if I couldn't stay in a place at least half as nice as my own home, it wasn't worth it to travel. Apparently and shockingly it was recommended by the New York Times, which I will never again have faith in. Updated ??? I don't THINK so.
I have one piece of advice. AVOID THIS PLACE LIKE THE PLAGUE. I rate this a ZERO.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Pierre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Pierre

Address: 911 Burgundy Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70116
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Pierre 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the National Register of Historic Places, the Hotel St. Pierre, with its authentic French Colonial cottages dating back to the 1700's, embodies the architecture, romance, and ambiance of a bygone era. Contributing greatly to the hotel's charm is the relaxed atmosphere of this quiet residential section of the French Quarter. One would never guess its proximity to world class dining, culture, and the lively nightlife of Bourbon Street. Secluded lush tropical courtyards, balconies, pools, and fountains help make this the perfect spot for a family vacation, romantic escape, or storybook wedding, as well as for incentive trips, reunions, and family vacations. Valet parking available for $32.95 plus tax per vehicle per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your St. Pierre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Pierre Hotel New Orleans
St Pierre New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Pierre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.