We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Orleans 3 days” 3 of 5 stars
Review of St. Pierre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added St. Pierre to your Saves list
St. Pierre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   911 Burgundy Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70116 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #108 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Lima, Peru
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“New Orleans 3 days”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Great location near all the good restaurants and attractions.
Nice little patio and OK room.
Some construction going on. May be quiet when done
Extremely basic breakfast, not good. Better to go somewhere else for breakfast.


  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    139
    81
    52
    89
See reviews for
61
162
17
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

St. Pierre is a beautiful hotel located in the French Quarter! The service we received from Murphy was absolutely amazing! He was so helpful and accommodating. Such a wonderful experience to meet such a caring and customer service oriented young man that cares deeply about his guests' experience! We visited the hotel when they were going through renovations so we were not able to experience the entire hotels' charm unfortunately but it was a beautifully kept hotel! Thank you so much for a great stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Visited here several years ago and the room was very old and dank, was one of the prior Burgundy hotel rooms. Was somewhat reluctant to give it another shot, but husband said lets, due to the reviews and reports of restoration. We were very happy with our room which was on one of the courtyards, connected to the office. Would consider this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Loved this place. Great room - King Balcony overlooking the street. Very quiet for only 2 or 3 blocks from the Bourbon St madness over Halloween. Neighborhood seemed very safe. Great market/sandwich shop on the corner.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate City, New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We had a great time at the St. Pierre in New Orleans. There were four of us in two rooms. Our cousin joined us in her own room for a couple of days. First of all Murphy at the front desk was delightful. All week his smiling face helped us find restaurants, places to visit and arranged cabs. Troy was also charming and helpful. Our rooms had been renovated and were clean and cozy. It was a home away from home with an outstanding housekeeping staff. Yes it is under construction and by next year will be more modern, but we had no complaints. We loved drinking the coffee and eating fresh doughnuts and biscuits out in the courtyard every morning and it is far enough from Bourbon Street that the noise isn't outside your window every night. If you are looking for an ultra modern posh new hotel the Pierre won't be for you, but if you want to experience the charm of old New Orleans, you will be very happy there. Thank you to the staff and management.

Room Tip: They are renovating the rooms one at a time. You might want to ask them for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Upon first entering the hotel we were greeted with a younger annoyed person at the desk who begrudgingly handed us a key. The pool is small and The courtyard is beautiful but the rooms are dusty and lacking. We could hear the other guests talking clearly which is understandable for an older building. The room was extremely small and barely decorated but throughout the maze of the hotel you can read about history of jazz and New Orleans. It is moderately priced and is in a great location in the quarter but the staff are distant to the guests. Oh and the delivered breakfast and stale coffee were better suited for the gentlemen working on the hotel than the guests. I recommend paying a little extra for a nicer room if you can afford it.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I am in the process of looking for alternative lodging, even though I have already paid for the next two days. The rooms are very old (which is not normally a bad thing when kept up), musty and cheaply furnished. Stains everywhere on the carpets, holes in the bathroom door, baseboards that are filthy and look like they have not been cleaned in many months. No working internet, no working telephone to even call the front desk, and I had to wait for over an hour for housekeeping to locate an iron and an ironing board this morning (this is listed as standard with every room). In addition, there is no clock in the room and an old box TV. This looks more like the Goodwill or Salvation Army guesthouse as opposed to a charming historical hotel. To make matters worse, I asked John at the front desk a very simple question about when he thought the internet might be working, his reply, "I don't know"...That's it!!! I have travelled the world over and am a New Yorker, so I am not unfamiliar with historic, small and charming. It cost nothing to upgrade the rooms, with just a little soap and water and a staff that actually cares about the clients. I will say the younger gentleman that was at the front desk when I checked in (sorry I didn't get his name) was much more pleasant and helpful. I would opt for the YMCA before I would ever stay at HOTEL HELL again. All this is coming from a person most would characterize as an "eternal Optimist" I will say that the location and neighborhood are fantastic...too bad this does not translate to quality customer service and clean rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vickie P, General Manager at St. Pierre, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
We appreciate your feedback and we are sorry you were unhappy with your room. Your feedback is important to us as we share it with our staff in striving to continue to improve the guest experience here.

This hotel is under new management and our rooms and lobby are currently under renovation. New furniture and bedding have been ordered along with flat screen televisions. We are currently halfway finished with replacement of the old furniture and TV's. Carpet and draperies are also being replaced. Please understand that it is a process and does take time so as not to inconvenience our guests during the process.

Irons and ironing boards are also on order for each room but we have not advertised these as "in room" until the upgrade is completed. We do state that they are "available upon request."

Our rooms are cleaned daily. We have forwarded your feedback to our housekeeping department and assure you this will be investigated as this is not our standard.

We apologize for the interruption of your phone service and WiFi. Unfortunately, we have experienced brief occurrences due to the construction work being done in the main lobby.

As you can see from our reviews many of our guests have had positive experiences and for any who have not, every effort is being made to address those concerns as we progress.
This hotel is a historic gem with a great location and loads of ambiance. As stated we are improving our product as quickly as possible but it is a process. It is not our policy to mislead anyone at any time.

Please accept my apologies for not meeting your expectations. Should your travels bring you back to New Orleans, please give us another chance to show you true Southern Hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Pierre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Pierre

Address: 911 Burgundy Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70116
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Pierre 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the National Register of Historic Places, the Hotel St. Pierre, with its authentic French Colonial cottages dating back to the 1700's, embodies the architecture, romance, and ambiance of a bygone era. Contributing greatly to the hotel's charm is the relaxed atmosphere of this quiet residential section of the French Quarter. One would never guess its proximity to world class dining, culture, and the lively nightlife of Bourbon Street. Secluded lush tropical courtyards, balconies, pools, and fountains help make this the perfect spot for a family vacation, romantic escape, or storybook wedding, as well as for incentive trips, reunions, and family vacations. Valet parking available for $32.95 plus tax per vehicle per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your St. Pierre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Pierre Hotel New Orleans
St Pierre New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Pierre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.