We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet but close to the action” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. Pierre

Save Saved
You added St. Pierre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. Pierre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   911 Burgundy Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70116 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #109 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Boulder
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Quiet but close to the action”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Loved this place. Great room - King Balcony overlooking the street. Very quiet for only 2 or 3 blocks from the Bourbon St madness over Halloween. Neighborhood seemed very safe. Great market/sandwich shop on the corner.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    120
    71
    46
    85
See reviews for
55
137
16
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Margate City, New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We had a great time at the St. Pierre in New Orleans. There were four of us in two rooms. Our cousin joined us in her own room for a couple of days. First of all Murphy at the front desk was delightful. All week his smiling face helped us find restaurants, places to visit and arranged cabs. Troy was also charming and helpful. Our rooms had been renovated and were clean and cozy. It was a home away from home with an outstanding housekeeping staff. Yes it is under construction and by next year will be more modern, but we had no complaints. We loved drinking the coffee and eating fresh doughnuts and biscuits out in the courtyard every morning and it is far enough from Bourbon Street that the noise isn't outside your window every night. If you are looking for an ultra modern posh new hotel the Pierre won't be for you, but if you want to experience the charm of old New Orleans, you will be very happy there. Thank you to the staff and management.

Room Tip: They are renovating the rooms one at a time. You might want to ask them for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Upon first entering the hotel we were greeted with a younger annoyed person at the desk who begrudgingly handed us a key. The pool is small and The courtyard is beautiful but the rooms are dusty and lacking. We could hear the other guests talking clearly which is understandable for an older building. The room was extremely small and barely decorated but throughout the maze of the hotel you can read about history of jazz and New Orleans. It is moderately priced and is in a great location in the quarter but the staff are distant to the guests. Oh and the delivered breakfast and stale coffee were better suited for the gentlemen working on the hotel than the guests. I recommend paying a little extra for a nicer room if you can afford it.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I am in the process of looking for alternative lodging, even though I have already paid for the next two days. The rooms are very old (which is not normally a bad thing when kept up), musty and cheaply furnished. Stains everywhere on the carpets, holes in the bathroom door, baseboards that are filthy and look like they have not been cleaned in many months. No working internet, no working telephone to even call the front desk, and I had to wait for over an hour for housekeeping to locate an iron and an ironing board this morning (this is listed as standard with every room). In addition, there is no clock in the room and an old box TV. This looks more like the Goodwill or Salvation Army guesthouse as opposed to a charming historical hotel. To make matters worse, I asked John at the front desk a very simple question about when he thought the internet might be working, his reply, "I don't know"...That's it!!! I have travelled the world over and am a New Yorker, so I am not unfamiliar with historic, small and charming. It cost nothing to upgrade the rooms, with just a little soap and water and a staff that actually cares about the clients. I will say the younger gentleman that was at the front desk when I checked in (sorry I didn't get his name) was much more pleasant and helpful. I would opt for the YMCA before I would ever stay at HOTEL HELL again. All this is coming from a person most would characterize as an "eternal Optimist" I will say that the location and neighborhood are fantastic...too bad this does not translate to quality customer service and clean rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vickie P, General Manager at St. Pierre, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
We appreciate your feedback and we are sorry you were unhappy with your room. Your feedback is important to us as we share it with our staff in striving to continue to improve the guest experience here.

This hotel is under new management and our rooms and lobby are currently under renovation. New furniture and bedding have been ordered along with flat screen televisions. We are currently halfway finished with replacement of the old furniture and TV's. Carpet and draperies are also being replaced. Please understand that it is a process and does take time so as not to inconvenience our guests during the process.

Irons and ironing boards are also on order for each room but we have not advertised these as "in room" until the upgrade is completed. We do state that they are "available upon request."

Our rooms are cleaned daily. We have forwarded your feedback to our housekeeping department and assure you this will be investigated as this is not our standard.

We apologize for the interruption of your phone service and WiFi. Unfortunately, we have experienced brief occurrences due to the construction work being done in the main lobby.

As you can see from our reviews many of our guests have had positive experiences and for any who have not, every effort is being made to address those concerns as we progress.
This hotel is a historic gem with a great location and loads of ambiance. As stated we are improving our product as quickly as possible but it is a process. It is not our policy to mislead anyone at any time.

Please accept my apologies for not meeting your expectations. Should your travels bring you back to New Orleans, please give us another chance to show you true Southern Hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Nice, interesting place. Great location. Should get better because it's currently under renovation.
That's all for the good.
The bad started as soon as we got there. It took 30 minutes to check us in, some computer reservation issue, because we booked through AmEx. The clerk was clueless, unfriendly and unapologetic.
The room was small but nice but also musty. There were kittens living under the stairway??? We stayed 2 days but they never cleaned our room. No one knew why-they offered to clean it then but we had just returned from a long day in the city so we declined.
They offer free continental breakfast but it was pretty sad for what is supposed to be a nice hotel.
We needed to leave early the next morning (9am) and asked that our car be returned to the lot across the street - they park your car in some remote lot for $37/night - but they forgot and we had to wait 40 minutes for them to bring the car around. After complaining to them they refunded the 2 nights parking. We nearly missed our flights.
It's a shame that such a beautiful place is so poorly run.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vickie P, General Manager at St. Pierre, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable review. Your feedback is very important to us and will be shared with all departments of the hotel. The experiences you described are not characteristic of the level of service we strive to provide, and we apologize that your stay was unsatisfactory.
As you know, we’re currently under a partial renovation so we’re using a smaller temporary location for the front desk and the breakfast area. Because of the size of the temporary breakfast area we’re limited to a smaller variety of items that we can serve. The new breakfast & seating area will allow us to be more creative with the buffet items.
I met with our Director of Housekeeping in an effort to understand what went wrong with the lack of cleaning services to your room, and I’ve been reassured this will not happen again. As for the delay at check in, due to reservations made through AMEX and problems with parking, I need a little more information, such as your room number or last name. I want very much to resolve these issues moving forward.
Homeless cats have been reported throughout the French Quarter, as we have some that have obviously taken residence here. I’ve reached out to WAIF Nola for help. WAIF is a group of neighborhood volunteers who trap, neuter and return feral and stray cats. Hopefully this will resolve the current situation.
Again, please accept our sincerest apologies for not exceeding your expectations. If your travels bring you back to our city, please consider giving us another chance to provide you with type of customer service you deserve. Please call me at our hotel (504) 524 4401 or feel free to email me at: vpowell@frenchquarterinns.com. I look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. louis
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed during a busy weekend. While the staff were exceptionally friendly, we found the hotel lacking in various services. Between not having water for a bit one day and the relocated lobby/breakfast area in a suite due to construction, we felt we didn't get a fair value for the price paid. A friend (who booked online with an outside provider) had a much smaller room with an air conditioner that she claimed set off the fire alarm one night. The only fix suggested by staff was to set the air conditioner another way. Cleaning service appears that it may only be provided on an "as needed basis," as we were asked a couple of times if we needed it. One day they didn't ask and when no one came by mid-afternoon, we obtained our own towels.

According to staff, the hotel was bought from someone and construction is underway. However, for those experiencing the transition, our stay was a disappointment.

Room Tip: According to a staff member, online reservations may be given a smaller room. Book directly with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vickie P, General Manager at St. Pierre, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. Your feedback is important as we share them with our staff as we strive to provide excellent customer service. I’m saddened that we fell short during your visit. As you know, we’re currently under a partial renovation so we’re using a smaller temporary location for the front desk and the breakfast area.

We believe this to be a charming historic French Quarter gem with tons of potential and most of our guests see it as such. While every effort is being made to upgrade our lobby and guest rooms, we have only been here a few short months and this is a process that takes time. New bedding, mattresses, head boards, furniture, flat screen televisions, mini-refrigerators, and microwaves are on order and our lobby and rooms will be completely redone by the first of the year.

During your stay with us our city was preparing for Tropical Storm Karen, the information at that time lead us to believe that we were under threat of severe weather conditions, so we implemented the exchange of towels service since most of our guest rooms are exterior rooms. When the storm was downgraded, full housekeeping services should have been restored. I apologize that you had problems with our housekeeping services while with us.

Please accept my sincere apologies for your inconvenience. We hope you will give us another chance to provide the type of customer service our guests deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joplin, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We had stayed at the St. Pierre last Nov, and had a wonderful experience, which was our reason for booking there again, for a stay of four days. We were told when we arrived that the hotel had sold to a different corporation about a month after our previous stay. Now, you couldn't ask for a better location, the prices are right, and the staff is all it should be. Parking (when available), we learned, is no longer included; the hotel offers only valet service at $30.00 per day; we parked at a Central Parking location not far away for less than that (by the way, always go to neworleans.centralparking.com for printable discount coupons.) Our room was cramped but bearable until the air conditioner decided to conk out; the deskman very nicely moved us to another room, rather palatial by comparison. On the previous stay, there was coffee available in the breakfast room at all times; it is now open only from 7:00 to 10:00 AM; it may, however, be available at the front desk. (I'm waiting for Community Coffee to be ruled a controlled substance; I sure find it addictive!) All in all, it just wasn't as enjoyable an experience as the previous visit. I can still recommend the St Pierre, but with some reservation. If you go, remember it's a very old building, with guest rooms that are mostly carved out of what were once service rooms for the main house; don't expect a luxury spa experience. It's worthwhile to spend the money for a good-sized double room. My last quibble; what is the purpose of a headboard that is attached neither to the bed nor to the wall? In both rooms, they were simply jammed in between the wall and the bed frame, thus bumping against the bricks every time you moved the pillow. Curious.

Room Tip: Ground level rooms are generally larger and more comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vickie P, General Manager at St. Pierre, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your feedback so that we can use it in our ongoing efforts to improve our staff's customer service and therefore our guests' experience. Our hotel is under new management and renovation.

We believe this to be a charming historic French Quarter gem with tons of potential and most of our guests see it as such. While every effort is being made to upgrade our lobby and guest rooms, we have only been here a few short months and this is a process that takes time. New bedding, mattresses, head boards, furniture, flat screen televisons, mini-refrigerators, and microwaves are on order and our lobby and rooms will be completely redone by the first of the year.

Parking charges went in effect this past January so if you booked your reservations prior to that we could have waived those fees for your first stay with us. Please let know if that was the case so that I can make those adjustments for you.

Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience. We hope you will give us another chance after our upgrades have been completed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to St. Pierre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Pierre

Address: 911 Burgundy Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70116
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Pierre 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your St. Pierre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Pierre Hotel New Orleans
St Pierre New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Pierre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.