We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Good, the Bad & the Clueless” 2 of 5 stars
Review of St. Pierre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added St. Pierre to your Saves list
St. Pierre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   911 Burgundy Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70116 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #109 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
1 review
“The Good, the Bad & the Clueless”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Nice, interesting place. Great location. Should get better because it's currently under renovation.
That's all for the good.
The bad started as soon as we got there. It took 30 minutes to check us in, some computer reservation issue, because we booked through AmEx. The clerk was clueless, unfriendly and unapologetic.
The room was small but nice but also musty. There were kittens living under the stairway??? We stayed 2 days but they never cleaned our room. No one knew why-they offered to clean it then but we had just returned from a long day in the city so we declined.
They offer free continental breakfast but it was pretty sad for what is supposed to be a nice hotel.
We needed to leave early the next morning (9am) and asked that our car be returned to the lot across the street - they park your car in some remote lot for $37/night - but they forgot and we had to wait 40 minutes for them to bring the car around. After complaining to them they refunded the 2 nights parking. We nearly missed our flights.
It's a shame that such a beautiful place is so poorly run.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vickie P, General Manager at St. Pierre, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable review. Your feedback is very important to us and will be shared with all departments of the hotel. The experiences you described are not characteristic of the level of service we strive to provide, and we apologize that your stay was unsatisfactory.
As you know, we’re currently under a partial renovation so we’re using a smaller temporary location for the front desk and the breakfast area. Because of the size of the temporary breakfast area we’re limited to a smaller variety of items that we can serve. The new breakfast & seating area will allow us to be more creative with the buffet items.
I met with our Director of Housekeeping in an effort to understand what went wrong with the lack of cleaning services to your room, and I’ve been reassured this will not happen again. As for the delay at check in, due to reservations made through AMEX and problems with parking, I need a little more information, such as your room number or last name. I want very much to resolve these issues moving forward.
Homeless cats have been reported throughout the French Quarter, as we have some that have obviously taken residence here. I’ve reached out to WAIF Nola for help. WAIF is a group of neighborhood volunteers who trap, neuter and return feral and stray cats. Hopefully this will resolve the current situation.
Again, please accept our sincerest apologies for not exceeding your expectations. If your travels bring you back to our city, please consider giving us another chance to provide you with type of customer service you deserve. Please call me at our hotel (504) 524 4401 or feel free to email me at: vpowell@frenchquarterinns.com. I look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    130
    75
    49
    88
See reviews for
58
156
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
st. louis
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed during a busy weekend. While the staff were exceptionally friendly, we found the hotel lacking in various services. Between not having water for a bit one day and the relocated lobby/breakfast area in a suite due to construction, we felt we didn't get a fair value for the price paid. A friend (who booked online with an outside provider) had a much smaller room with an air conditioner that she claimed set off the fire alarm one night. The only fix suggested by staff was to set the air conditioner another way. Cleaning service appears that it may only be provided on an "as needed basis," as we were asked a couple of times if we needed it. One day they didn't ask and when no one came by mid-afternoon, we obtained our own towels.

According to staff, the hotel was bought from someone and construction is underway. However, for those experiencing the transition, our stay was a disappointment.

Room Tip: According to a staff member, online reservations may be given a smaller room. Book directly with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vickie P, General Manager at St. Pierre, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. Your feedback is important as we share them with our staff as we strive to provide excellent customer service. I’m saddened that we fell short during your visit. As you know, we’re currently under a partial renovation so we’re using a smaller temporary location for the front desk and the breakfast area.

We believe this to be a charming historic French Quarter gem with tons of potential and most of our guests see it as such. While every effort is being made to upgrade our lobby and guest rooms, we have only been here a few short months and this is a process that takes time. New bedding, mattresses, head boards, furniture, flat screen televisions, mini-refrigerators, and microwaves are on order and our lobby and rooms will be completely redone by the first of the year.

During your stay with us our city was preparing for Tropical Storm Karen, the information at that time lead us to believe that we were under threat of severe weather conditions, so we implemented the exchange of towels service since most of our guest rooms are exterior rooms. When the storm was downgraded, full housekeeping services should have been restored. I apologize that you had problems with our housekeeping services while with us.

Please accept my sincere apologies for your inconvenience. We hope you will give us another chance to provide the type of customer service our guests deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joplin, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We had stayed at the St. Pierre last Nov, and had a wonderful experience, which was our reason for booking there again, for a stay of four days. We were told when we arrived that the hotel had sold to a different corporation about a month after our previous stay. Now, you couldn't ask for a better location, the prices are right, and the staff is all it should be. Parking (when available), we learned, is no longer included; the hotel offers only valet service at $30.00 per day; we parked at a Central Parking location not far away for less than that (by the way, always go to neworleans.centralparking.com for printable discount coupons.) Our room was cramped but bearable until the air conditioner decided to conk out; the deskman very nicely moved us to another room, rather palatial by comparison. On the previous stay, there was coffee available in the breakfast room at all times; it is now open only from 7:00 to 10:00 AM; it may, however, be available at the front desk. (I'm waiting for Community Coffee to be ruled a controlled substance; I sure find it addictive!) All in all, it just wasn't as enjoyable an experience as the previous visit. I can still recommend the St Pierre, but with some reservation. If you go, remember it's a very old building, with guest rooms that are mostly carved out of what were once service rooms for the main house; don't expect a luxury spa experience. It's worthwhile to spend the money for a good-sized double room. My last quibble; what is the purpose of a headboard that is attached neither to the bed nor to the wall? In both rooms, they were simply jammed in between the wall and the bed frame, thus bumping against the bricks every time you moved the pillow. Curious.

Room Tip: Ground level rooms are generally larger and more comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vickie P, General Manager at St. Pierre, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your feedback so that we can use it in our ongoing efforts to improve our staff's customer service and therefore our guests' experience. Our hotel is under new management and renovation.

We believe this to be a charming historic French Quarter gem with tons of potential and most of our guests see it as such. While every effort is being made to upgrade our lobby and guest rooms, we have only been here a few short months and this is a process that takes time. New bedding, mattresses, head boards, furniture, flat screen televisons, mini-refrigerators, and microwaves are on order and our lobby and rooms will be completely redone by the first of the year.

Parking charges went in effect this past January so if you booked your reservations prior to that we could have waived those fees for your first stay with us. Please let know if that was the case so that I can make those adjustments for you.

Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience. We hope you will give us another chance after our upgrades have been completed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Had the opportunity to go to a conference in Nola earlier this month. A few of us decided to go earlier and be tourists for a few days. We stayed at the St Pierre for two nights....Sept 16th and 17th. Love this place ! It's the perfect little place in the French Quarter. The staff that greeted us at our check in were the friendliest hotel staff i have seen in years....if ever. Murphy was at the front desk and Richard seemed to be the jack of all trades. Murphy was very sweet to us and i wish every hotel had a clone of him. Richard seriously needs to consider a career in Tourism. This guy went out of his way to make our stay a great one. Anything (reasonable) that we asked for was no problem for him at all.....including walking us up to their sister hotel so we could get a safety deposit box.....finding a hair dryer for me, although honestly, who was i kidding ? A hair dryer in Nola in September? .... great recommendations on restaurants and bars. Richard never seemed to be bothered with our questions and actually seemed to enjoy talking with us. Either he is the best actor ever or his interest in making our stay comfortable was genuine. I choose the 2nd option. Thank you very much guys ! Too bad every hotel didn't come with a Murphy and Richard !!
L. Neill
Vancouver, BC Canada

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vickie P, General Manager at St. Pierre, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to post your review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and I am looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar Beach, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We checked in on Saturday, September 21st and had a wonderful first impression with this beautiful historic building and a very pleasant staff. Murphy checked us in and was very nice and Patrick the bellman was very accommodating! The room was very cozy with the high ceilings, brick wall and balcony! The newly renovated bathroom was clean and very tastefully decorated. The location is perfect as you are a easy walk from all the great restaurants and entertainment the Quarter offers. My husband and I were celebrating our 20th anniversary and we were so pleased that we stayed here! We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vickie P, General Manager at St. Pierre, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Happy Anniversary! Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our property. We truly appreciate your kind words and will pass your compliments on to our dedicated staff. Our restoration project brings exciting improvements every day and we hope you will return soon to experience the difference we are making!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This was my first trip to New Orleans. I came here on business and spent the first few days at the Sheraton which was fine. A Sheraton is a Sheraton. Then I took a few personal days and moved to St. Pierre. It was amazing! The hotel is a small conglomeration of one and two story historic brick buildings with all the charm you find in the French Quarter.

My room was beautifully furnished. The bed posts were carved into swans and the nightstands and dresser had marble tops. My room also had a jacuzzi tub, and sofa. The room itself was very large.

To be very fair there was some chipping paint here and there in the bathroom but not extensive. I live in a 120 year old house myself and so a little of that sort of thing does not bother me.

The hotel is centrally located with bourbon street just a short walk away. They serve a continental breakfast consisting of doughnuts, beagles, cereal, coffee and juice. It is not elaborate but certainly enough to start the day if you don't feel like venturing out a restaurant. The staff at the hotel is incredibly professional yet friendly. I will compare this to the Sheraton where the staff is professional and nice in a professional way. At St Pierre every time you pass a staff member they smile and say hello. They are warm and welcoming,

I didn't mean to write this much but as you can tell I had a great time. The only reason I ranked them very good instead of excellent is because of a little differed maintenance mentioned earlier about the paint and low water pressure in the shower. Other then that the experience was excellent and the price was amazingly affordable ... significantly less than the Sheraton.

Room Tip: Room 200 was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vickie P, Director of Sales at St. Pierre, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
You summed up my feelings about our hotel exactly! Our historic property epitomizes the ambiance of the French Quarter. The rooms are set in French Colonial homes dating back to the 1700's. We took over earlier this year and are in the process of restoring it to it's former elegance. Alas, it is a process so we hope you will come back when we have completed the renovation. We will be upgrading the breakfast offerings once the lobby/ breakfast room area is complete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The location is good for accessing Bourbon Street. We, a group of women, felt perfectly safe walking back and forth even in the wee hours of the night/morning. The front desk staff were very helpful. If you aren't spending much time in your room it's perfectly adequate. I only saw the cottage we stayed in and it was underwhelming in terms of decor and comfort. But it did have a fridge and microwave. The water temperature in the shower was very good but the pressure left a lot to be desired. I'd say it was worth what it cost, but it may be worth spending more somewhere else if you want something nicer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Pierre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Pierre

Address: 911 Burgundy Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70116
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Pierre 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the National Register of Historic Places, the Hotel St. Pierre, with its authentic French Colonial cottages dating back to the 1700's, embodies the architecture, romance, and ambiance of a bygone era. Contributing greatly to the hotel's charm is the relaxed atmosphere of this quiet residential section of the French Quarter. One would never guess its proximity to world class dining, culture, and the lively nightlife of Bourbon Street. Secluded lush tropical courtyards, balconies, pools, and fountains help make this the perfect spot for a family vacation, romantic escape, or storybook wedding, as well as for incentive trips, reunions, and family vacations. Valet parking available for $32.95 plus tax per vehicle per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your St. Pierre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Pierre Hotel New Orleans
St Pierre New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Pierre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.