We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of St. Pierre

Save Saved
You added St. Pierre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. Pierre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   911 Burgundy Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70116 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #109 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Atlanta, GA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Basic but good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The location is good for accessing Bourbon Street. We, a group of women, felt perfectly safe walking back and forth even in the wee hours of the night/morning. The front desk staff were very helpful. If you aren't spending much time in your room it's perfectly adequate. I only saw the cottage we stayed in and it was underwhelming in terms of decor and comfort. But it did have a fridge and microwave. The water temperature in the shower was very good but the pressure left a lot to be desired. I'd say it was worth what it cost, but it may be worth spending more somewhere else if you want something nicer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    120
    71
    46
    85
See reviews for
55
137
16
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, Colorado
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We loved the St. Pierre. This was an anniversary trip to the Big Easy and the St. Pierre was a big part of it. If you like the history of New Orleans, you will like the St. Pierre.

This hotel is a national historic landmark. It is hundreds of years old but updated to add modern amenities. The staff is very helpful and the location is great. The room was comfortable and the hotel was so quiet you wouldn't know that you were only two blocks from Bourbon Street.

There were some downsides. The wi-fi was spotty and the pools were more ornaments than swimming pools. But the beds were comfortable, the staff aimed to please, and price was right.

I can't say enough about John at the front desk. He went out of his way to make sure we were happy. We would come back again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

According to the drawings in the lobby, the St. Pierre is going to be very nice once the renovations are complete. Otherwise, I would agree with most of the other reviews I have read. The hotel has lots of character and the people who work there are great--very friendly and helpful. The bed was reasonably comfortable and our room was very clean. Internet service was completely useless in the rooms. The location is great--close enough to every place you want to be but far enough off the beaten path to be quiet.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the lobby if you want to use the Internet in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was a girls weekend and we had a wonderful time! Although we are from the New Orleans area we acted like tourist and did touristy things. The hotel was wonderful, full of romance and character. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This property has many good qualities, but it also has some big misses too. The good: location is spectacular, staff very friendly, rooms are servicable, and it's filled with French Quarter charm. The misses: rooms are way overpriced, breakfast is a joke, wifi is unusable, you'll always have to ask for towels, and don't be surprised by bugs in the rooms and bathrooms. And one of the maintenance guys tried to sell me weed. Maybe that should be a plus?

So overall not an awful experience, but for the money there are much better places in the French Quarter to stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a room Not on Burgundy st or you'll hear drunks all night. And don't forget the d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vickie P, General Manager at St. Pierre, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. Your feedback is important as we share them with our staff as we strive to provide excellent customer service. I’m saddened that we fell short during your visit. As you know, we’re currently under a partial renovation so we’re using a smaller temporary location for the front desk and the breakfast area. Because of the size of the temporary breakfast area we’re limited to a smaller variety of items that we can serve. The new breakfast & seating area will allow us to be more creative with the buffet items.

Because we are environmentally friendly we have a certain number of towels that we placed in each room based on room type. While we certainly don’t want our guests having to continually request more towels, in the future, please let us know if you require additional sets each day and we’ll make those notations on your reservation.

We are diligent in our efforts to address all guests concerns, so in addition to the twice monthly contracted pest control treatments, we’ve requested an additional treatment in response to your comments.

Please be mindful of our zero tolerance policy regarding drugs or any other unlawful activity. I humbly ask that you contact me regarding your final issue so that we may address your comment and take the appropriate action if need be. I can be reached @ 504.524.4401.

Again, please accept our sincerest apologies for not exceeding your expectations. If your travels bring you back to our city, please consider giving us another chance to provide you with type of customer service you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane Valley, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

St. Pierre is a collection of buildings, some of them historic. Lobby and breakfast room are soon to be remodeled and furnishing in rooms replaced. We stayed in the Peyroux House which is one of the oldest blgds in NOLA. Nice beds. Slept well. Bathroom was small and shower was ok. Location for the price is unbeatable! Close enough to walk anywhere in French Quarter. But far enough to sleep undisturbed. Two nice pools to cool off in after a walk on a hot day. They are private and cozy. Staff is delightful. If you're not looking for lots of bells and whistles this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vickie P, General Manager at St. Pierre, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the St. Pierre Hotel. I want to especially thank you for your lovely comments about your stay at our hotel. We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We loved our stay at the St. Pierre. Our room was big and clean. Bed was super comfy, which is important after walking around New Orleans all day! It was in a great location from bourbon street and close to a couple of really eclectic restaurants. The hotel staff was nice and friendly, the Valet guys were nice too. Just make sure you get EVERYTHING out of your car because it could end up a few blocks away in a parking garage. We will definitely be coming back the the St. Pierre for our future trips to New Orleans.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vickie P, Manager at St. Pierre, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us here at the St. Pierre Hotel and for taking the time to post your review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and I am looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to St. Pierre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Pierre

Address: 911 Burgundy Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70116
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Pierre 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your St. Pierre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Pierre Hotel New Orleans
St Pierre New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Pierre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.