We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location -shame about the service!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of St. Pierre

Save Saved
You added St. Pierre to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. Pierre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   911 Burgundy Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70116 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #107 of 153 Hotels in New Orleans
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Nice location -shame about the service!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

When my daughter and I checked in the clerk was too busy ordering his lunch menu on the phone to help us- we had to wait. The first room looked ok until my daughter found her bed had not been changed and there were strands of dark hair in her bed (she's blonde). So next room- dark stain on ceiling -very small and run down looking but beds ok and it was late. Power went off everytime we used the hairdryer! 2 visits by fat freddy the cockroach but I had to draw a line when it tried to get under our door- but at least the clerk apologised when I asked for the can of Raid! We were lucky to be there when some great girls were visiting and so that company made for a fun visit. Location good. Buildings pretty but the management need a shake up -there are employees I would promote and some I would sack. This could be a great boutique hotel what a shame the managment or lack of it let it down -it needs investment on it to bring it up to an acceptable standard- it has potential but not at the moment!

Room Tip: The jazz museum and garden ground floor should be avoided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    127
    74
    47
    86
See reviews for
57
148
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

well, we were pleasantly surprised to find this 200 year old hotel quite nice after being told not to stay here! Our room #146 was clean, linens fresh, big king sized 4 poster bed with frig and a charming walk out onto a small veranda via the large window!
Just off Bourbon street made it quiet at night to sleep but only a minutes walk from the activity!
Everyone was very accomodating and helpful. Bang for the buck, the place to stay. I did hear that if you stayed in the main hall, it was a bit noisy if people walked in late.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houghton Lake
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

All the employees were gtreaty, they took care of every need/questions we had. Troy was the best, he always asked if all was ok and made sure we knew best placves to go see/eat. A must stay and we will bne returning in the future.
D. Walton
Houghton Lake, mi

Room Tip: ask for room 147, really a nice setting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Place is a dive! Only nice I can say is that it is in a convenient location. Don't upkeep very well. Electricity goes out often, shower pressure inconsistent at best. Roaches have been spotted. Even cheap with their tiny bottles of soap, shampoo and body wash. Some of he clerks can't be bothered to call a cab for you!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We were in town for the weekend to attend a wedding and chose this hotel because we waited too long to book a different hotel and the price was right. At first glance, in the hotel lobby the place seems a little old but it had "New Orleans charm" so we weren't too worried at first. When the very nice bellman, Anthony (mentioned by a previous reviewer) took us to our room - across the street and through an iron gate that we were assured "stays locked 24/7", we got a little suspicious. Once through the somewhat run-down courtyard, we were shown our room. It contained the smallest double bed I have ever seen, plus another single bed in a little room off of the main room. The carpet was dirty, the cleanliness of the bed (bedspreads, at least) was questionable and there is was only one little chair to sit on - no other places to sit. The TV was old a tiny - not too much of a concern because we weren't planning on watching a lot of TV, if any - but the furnishings were odd. The bathroom was old but seemed clean - except the mirror above the sink was hung so high that I could only see the top of my head (admittedly, I am only 5' 1"). Husband and I decided to just roll with it, as we weren't planning on spending a lot of time in the room. After settling in a bit, walking around the Quarter and coming back to get ready for evening festivities, we came back and noticed how very unsecured the door was - it couldn've been easily opened by one swift kick or push, despite the fact that it was locked. (In hindsight, perhaps this is why it was situated behind the locked gate?) There were gaps large gaps at the top and bottom of the door.....the room smelled very musty....etc.

Alas, we made a "plan B" and stayed at another hotel that night. We simply checked out, did not ask for a refund, we just wanted to go. The man at the front desk did not seem phased by the fact that we checked out only hours after checking in and that we had a reservation for two nights. He took our keys and we were on our way.

Might be okay for some, just not for us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

A group of us stayed at the St Pierre during a recent convention. We had a good deal of fun because we could unwind by one of the pools during the evenings drinking wine bought at the convenience store across the road. I had a small room with a balcony, which would have meant sleepless nights if we had been closer to Bourbon, but here it was mercifully quiet. The crowds drop within a block of Bourbon, which in my view is overcrowded and rather over-rated. There are some good restaurants on and near Burgundy, and many more along Frenchman Street which is 15 min walk away.
In the hotel I liked the variety of rooms and the eccentric character (in the UK we value eccentricity). The shower in my room was not great - pressure was too low, but it was good enough. The balcony was narrow but wide enough to sit out on. Looking in my friends rooms showed the wide range - those refurbished recently looked pretty good. The mix of buildings and courtyards was a great antidote to the standard modern concrete chain hotels. Breakfast was basic but good. I liked the unsweetened porridge oats, and the coffee usually tasted more like coffee than in many American hotels. Bagels and pastries seemed OK. WiFi was free and worked pretty well.
During our stay the staff were very helpful and friendly.
I would stay again, but might also try the Andrew Jackson. I have stayed in several of the regular chain hotels in New Orleans in the past and enjoyed this one better - despite its limitations.

Room Tip: If you want new carpets and more modern furniture try to get a recently renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

In 2011, some friends and I stayed at the Hotel St. Pierre's sister property on Royal, the Andrew Jackson. The Andrew Jackson wasn't a fabulous hotel but it wasn't terrible. It was affordable and it was mostly clean. So for a long weekend in October, we opted for the St. Pierre and one of its jazz suites because the Andrew Jackson was booked.

We read the reviews online and almost immediately began to regret our choice, but then we arrived and maybe the bad reviews were a blessing in disguise because our room certainly exceeded our expectations.

There were five of us and we stayed in the largest suite, which was upstairs on the west side of Burgundy. The stairs to our room were steep and narrow.

We had two full beds, a king bed and two full bathrooms. The full beds were very comfortable with relatively fluffy pillows and plenty of blankets. The sheets were clean and smelled fresh.

The room itself smelled just slightly musty, but then again, it's New Orleans. The room and the hotel ARE old so it was to be expected. However, the carpets must have been filthy because walking barefoot in the room was not a good idea.

The bathrooms were nothing special, but they were adequate. Towels smelled fresh and looked clean. One bathroom lacked a mirror over the sink, and the water pressure in that one was very low. But the bathrooms and the showers were not disgusting. They were clean, no mold or mildew to speak of. The bathrooms *appeared* to have been recently renovated with new tile around the bathtub and a new coat of paint, but the vanity was still a discount vanity/Home Depot floor sample.

The air conditioning worked great, in fact, almost too great. One member of our party had to stay bundled up all weekend because the AC was working too well.

The furniture is dated and mismatched, but again, modern furnishings weren't high on our checklist. We simply wanted a clean, affordable, convenient and comfortable room. We got that.

It is just a short walk to Bourbon St, although some of the streetlights on a nearby street were out, so it was very dark coming back to the room, but we never felt unsafe.

Parking is limited, but we were very fortunate to find a space in the lot. We had a little accident on the way in where we lost a side window in the car. It was going to be the next day before it could be repaired. Anthony, one of the staff members, took great care of us when we arrived, took our bags to our room, and helped us park the car so that it could be secure until the repair tech arrived.

The free breakfast is also adequate -- bagels, doughnuts, cereal, oatmeal, juice and coffee. Get there early for the best selection.

All in all, it wasn't a terrible experience. We didn't have any of the horror stories other guests have reported -- no bugs, no mice, no filthy sheets, no rude employees. Yes, the hotel seemed a little on the ragged side but it didn't make for an unpleasant trip. For the money and the convenience, it was just right. But then again, we could have just been lucky.

Room Tip: The cottages seemed to be cleaner and more up to date than the one in the main part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Pierre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Pierre

Address: 911 Burgundy Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70116
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 153 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Pierre 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your St. Pierre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Pierre Hotel New Orleans
St Pierre New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Pierre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;