We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOLO Food with Attitude” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Joint

The Joint
701 Mazant Ave, New Orleans, LA 70117
(504) 949-3232
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 1,630 Restaurants in New Orleans
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Corrales, New Mexico
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“NOLO Food with Attitude”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Mat is the cook and a brilliant one he is. We went on a Saturday and ordered a pork dish and other BBQ items. The food was great and the ambiance superb. It had many families there on a late afternoon, adding to the festivity. It truly was a great meal for BBQ and the chef was a great person....talented, convivial and very hospitable. Hope there is more of his talent spread about in the future.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    312
    100
    31
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“smokin outside the french quarter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This bbq joint is just a short bus ride from the French quarter to the up and coming Bywater area. Agroup of 6 shared several W plates-beef brisket pulled pork and several ribs. Hubby's ribs were smaller than mine but all flavors were spot on. Smoky moist deliciousness. Read good reviews about the chicken but it was a tad dry to us. Sauces on the table. Pineapple habenero/fabulous. A red slightly tingy sauce / good and a vinegar based one that we left alone but was good if that is your thing. Tried all the sides except the salad. Mac and cheese creamy and cheesy. Baked beans not too sweet which we liked. Cole slaw very fresh and crunchy- could have used a bit more Mayo for me. Potato salad also fresh and good. Had to take some to go boxes. Also added grits with smoked corn- yummy. Pecan pie finished the meal. Happy people!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin, USA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“RIB Heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This place does it up right! Simple, fun and oh so delicious! Good menu, prices and an all around fun spot. Just a neighborhood, corner restaurant with all you could ask for.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biloxi, Mississippi
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Faaaaaaaaaannnnnnnntastic!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Just delicious. Period. We had the "W special", which is generously heaped with both beef brisket and pulled pork, and both were smoked perfectly. Our sides were baked beans (also perfect) and coleslaw(fresh, crunchy, light on mayo...perfect!!) I think this was something like $12.99- such a deal. Two of us shared and were more than happy. The Joint is inexpensive, staff is friendly, the atmosphere is fun, the place is clean, and it's just damn good BBQ. Go there.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garfield, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic, as Usual”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Yesterday, we went back to the Joint. We've been coming down to New Orleans for a visit for the past four or five years. The food is fantastic, the music is entertaining, and the culture is so unique. Each time we come down for a visit, we always go to The Joint at least once. We found this place when Guy Fieri featured it on Diner's, Drive-Ins, and Dives back when it was located on Poland Street. My husband got the rib and brisket combination place with baked beans and slaw. I got the rib and pulled pork combo plate with the beans and potato salad. We're NEVER disappointed when we go to The Joint. The meat just falls off the bone of the ribs. The brisket and pulled pork both have this wonderful, smoky flavor, and is pull-apart tender and juicy. They smoke this stuff until it is perfect in the back courtyard. Oh, to be a neighbor next door and smell that smoker all day and night! The smell just delightfully assaults your senses as you walk up to the place. Yesterday was my sister-in-law's birthday, so I got a slice of key lime pie and a slice of pecan pie for her and her husband to share. I never got their pie before. Both slices were delicious. Perfect finish to a perfect meal.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Joint also viewed

New Orleans, LA
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to The Joint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Joint, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.