We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly decent for the price...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Wall

Golden Wall
914 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70112-2504 (Central Business District)
504-523-3217
Improve this listing
Ranked #713 of 1,630 Restaurants in New Orleans
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
222 helpful votes 222 helpful votes
“Surprisingly decent for the price...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

First, set your expectations: This is a somewhat dumpy looking (albeit reasonably clean) place on Canal Street, mainly popular for takeout Chinese. But let me tell you, when you've spent days eating way overpriced gumbo and etouffe and running about $50 per person tabs for lunch routinely, you need a break. This place is convenient to several hotels, including the Ritz Carlton, Hyatt, Saint, Marriott Pere Marquette, and others. It is very reasonably priced. I got enough garlic chicken and vegetables and a quart of wonton soup to feed 2 adults -- for about $13. For $25, you can feed a family of four. Is it upscale Chinese? No way. But it's decent takeout for a very appealing price. The wonton soup is quite good. Garlic chicken good too. Triple delight not as good; didn't like the texture of the beef (over tenderized mystery meat, as common in cheap Chinese places....). But overall, for a quick takeout urge -- it's good.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    8
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Beaconsfield, Canada
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“The delivery was timely and food hot and tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had food delivered to our resort/hotel on Chartres, when we called in our order they said 30 to 35 minures and it arrived exactly in 35 minutes. It was hot in the containers and we found the food was very tasty.
For anyone ordering Chinese food while staying in the French Quarter, I really recommend the Golden Wall.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Quick eating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Food was over cooked. Atomsphere was good, staff friendly, and place clean. The location was good and in walking distance from my hotel.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Loved it so much, we ate dinner here twice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We love our Chinese food, and especially the Chinese food in Australia. The Chinese meals served at this restaurant were on par with Australia. We were in New Orleans for 2 nights, and both nights had dinner here. Loved the food, loved the no frills atmosphere and totally enjoyed our dinners.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3rd Chaise to the Left
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Even during Isaac deliveries were fast and hot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I often get food from the Golden Wall delivered when I am in New Orleans. They were one of the places delivering longest during Isaac this week. I give the delivery guys kudos!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Wall also viewed

 

Been to Golden Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Wall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.