We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip Advisor Racking is well-Founded” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Plate Cafe - CLOSED

Blue Plate Cafe
1330 Prytania St, New Orleans, LA 70130-4316 (Lower Garden District)
504-309-9500
Menu
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Neighborhood: Lower Garden District
Flagler Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
97 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Trip Advisor Racking is well-Founded”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We found this excellent restaurant using the Trip Adviser’s App. It was a short walk from our hotel just off St. Charles Street. The restaurant is small so I bet the lunchtime crowd could cause a wait. They are only open Monday through Friday for breakfast and lunch. Our server was very nice and helpful with the menu. We had the stuffed catfish and I can highly recommend it. After eating there I can concur that the ranking at trip advisor is well-founded

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    19
    6
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
138 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Perfect - ate here twice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Delicious, fresh breakfasts. We ate here twice because it was near our hotel. The goat cheese scrambled eggs were perfect and the service was friendly and efficient.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Level Contributor
84 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Locals Cafe,Hardworking Owner, Excellent & Creative Dishes, Personable Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

When visiting my daughter & her family in New Orleans a visit to the Blue Plate Cafe for breakfast is a must for us! Lunch was also a delight with smaller dishes of appetizers such as crawfish cakes with cornmeal and delicious homemade soups. A full menu is available along with traditional po-boy sandwiches, hamburgers and Ms. Diliberto's "specials" .

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just plain good food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

breakfast was like out of mom's kitchen. Except better!, Sorry Mom!
Not expensive and the service was like family with no squabbles.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

While in New Orleans recently, we were fortunate to be staying right across the street from the Blue Plate Cafe. We ate there twice, and I wish we had eaten there a few more times so I could have tried out more items on the menu. The first time, I ordered Eggs And Cakes, which is two crawfish cakes topped with fried eggs and crawfish sauce and homefries. OMG - it was soooo good. The next day for lunch I had the oyster Po-boy with a pile of crispy french fries - I wish I could go back and have another one!!! I'll just have to wait 'til next year. All of the food was great, and the service is exceptional.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Plate Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Plate Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.