We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect - ate here twice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Plate Cafe - CLOSED

Blue Plate Cafe
1330 Prytania St, New Orleans, LA 70130-4316 (Lower Garden District)
504-309-9500
Menu
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Neighborhood: Lower Garden District
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Perfect - ate here twice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Delicious, fresh breakfasts. We ate here twice because it was near our hotel. The goat cheese scrambled eggs were perfect and the service was friendly and efficient.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    71
    19
    6
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
FL
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Locals Cafe,Hardworking Owner, Excellent & Creative Dishes, Personable Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

When visiting my daughter & her family in New Orleans a visit to the Blue Plate Cafe for breakfast is a must for us! Lunch was also a delight with smaller dishes of appetizers such as crawfish cakes with cornmeal and delicious homemade soups. A full menu is available along with traditional po-boy sandwiches, hamburgers and Ms. Diliberto's "specials" .

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just plain good food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

breakfast was like out of mom's kitchen. Except better!, Sorry Mom!
Not expensive and the service was like family with no squabbles.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

While in New Orleans recently, we were fortunate to be staying right across the street from the Blue Plate Cafe. We ate there twice, and I wish we had eaten there a few more times so I could have tried out more items on the menu. The first time, I ordered Eggs And Cakes, which is two crawfish cakes topped with fried eggs and crawfish sauce and homefries. OMG - it was soooo good. The next day for lunch I had the oyster Po-boy with a pile of crispy french fries - I wish I could go back and have another one!!! I'll just have to wait 'til next year. All of the food was great, and the service is exceptional.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Terrific breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Terrific service and breakfast. Open Monday -Friday only ( as I understand), for breakfast and lunch. Charming service, interesting menu, and delicious food and good coffee too.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Plate Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Plate Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.