We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD FOOD & SERVICE” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Russell's Marina Grill

Russell's Marina Grill
8555 Pontchartrain Blvd, New Orleans, LA 70124-2451 (Lakeview)
504-282-9980
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #273 of 1,516 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: Lakeview
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“GOOD FOOD & SERVICE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great place for breakfast. Have outside seating to accommodate our dog. The server was great as was the food. My wife had the French toast made with whole grain bread with bacon and berries $14.15. Small orange juice $2.99. I had eggs, ham, potatoes and toast $7.99 and a side of country gravy $1.59. A very busy place with limited parking but well worth stopping there.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    12
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A local favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Fresh ingredients well prepared. The BBQ shrimp and grits are just too good ... Pair it with Big Al's blood Mary and you will be set for a NOLA kind of day!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Canaan, CT USA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Part of a New Orleans Tradition”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Before Katrina New Orleans was a twenty-four hour city.  The Walgreens on Canal Street had not closed in living memory.  Cafe du Monde  and Morning Call served Cafe Au Lait and Beignet around the clock.  Party goers would stop there on their way to the 3am (fishermen's) mass at St. Roch's Church.  

More recently, but clearly part of the tradition, Russell's Marina Grill operated around the clock.  It too was a favorite of those late to bed or early to rise.  It also served breakfast to those late to rise.  After Katrina Russell's served only breakfast from 5am until noon.  The problem was not so much lack of patronage as lack of staff.  Russell's is now open to 10pm; a measure of the City's return to normalcy.  

So, Russell's is part of the tradition of New Orleans breakfast.  It sits between the cafe' and fine dining Breakfast at Brennan's.  It has a vast menu.  Breakfast includes everything from pancakes and pain perdue to omelet's to Eggs Benedict.  The quality and variety of these dishes is several notches above what one might expect from a pancake house or diner, at least in part because of the volume.  

Some of you may have eaten an Onion Mumm at the Outback Steakhouse chain.  It got there from Oz 
via Russell's which introduced it to the US.

While always crowded, somehow the wait is rarely very long and the service very prompt.  While large family parties are popular and welcome, the wait may be a little longer.   I usually give my name to the hostess and then order my Bloody Mary at the bar.  By the time I have had my first sip, the hostess is calling my name.  

Russell's is a part of my every visit to New Orleans.  Great New Orleans dishes are served at family prices   Make it part of your next visit.  

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

I can't remember the name of the omelette, but it comes with fried oysters (can't do it for breakfast, so I replace them with grilled shrimp), tomatoes, artichoke hearts and cheese and is topped with their amazing house-made remoulade. I always get my daughter their delicious sweet potato pancakes. The heart healthy California omelette was good as well, but the fresh tasting remoulade is what always sends me back to the previously mentioned omelette. The only suggestion I would have is to change the biscuits because they're a little too dry to soak up the spicy hollandaise sauce that tops another omelette filled with shrimp. It's definitely worth the trip.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bfleb433
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Russels Is Open For Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

A well kept secret is that Russels is open till 10 pm. This restaurant is generally packed for breakfast and lunch but if go at dinner is quiet. Get the onion mumm or fried artichoke hearts as a starter! The dinner specials we had were 13.99 and were steak or redfish with soup/salad and dessert. A tasty bargain!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Russell's Marina Grill also viewed

 

Been to Russell's Marina Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Russell's Marina Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.