We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Gelato I have had to date...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angelo Brocato Ice Cream

Angelo Brocato Ice Cream
214 N Carrollton Ave, New Orleans, LA 70119-5109 (Mid-City)
(504) 486-0078
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 1,630 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Bakery, Dessert
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Mid-City
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The best Gelato I have had to date...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

I was in town for a HCIC conference and was determined to try this place based upon the reviews on this site. My co-workers tagged along for the ride and we were NOT disappointed. It is not within walking distance if you are staying in the French Quarter so you will need to take a cab or take the canal street car up there. It definitely is worth the short ride! The most delicious stracciatella gelato I have had. If you love gelato GO THERE.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    65
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
324 helpful votes 324 helpful votes
“Neighborhood Fixture”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

It's out of the way, difficult to find parking and it's always crowded but if you like Italian ice cream and pastries, this is the place to go. It rivals similar places in the North End in Boston.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, New Jersey
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Another Home Run!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

This is another stop I make every time I'm in New Orleans. I wanted to try something different, so I had a slice of cake made with the filling used in their excellent cannoli topped with marzipan for icing. A side of Pistachio gelato rounded off this sweet treat. I can't remember the name of the cake, but I sure will remember to get it the next time, and there will absolutely be a next time! The latte was great and the service was excellent also! For all of this I give Brocato's five stars.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO USA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Spumoni and Canoli”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

My home town has a "Little Italy" so I was curious as to whether the Spumoni and Canoli would be good...and it was. Worth the trip to try these great desserts. I ordered them to go so I could take them to my hotel room. They were great.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harahan, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Best Gelato in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

A New Orleans tradition! Excellent gelato and yummy cannoli! They even have a cannoli kit where you can fill your own. Wide assortment of Italian cookies, biscotti, and spumoni. What's not to love?

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angelo Brocato Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Angelo Brocato Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angelo Brocato Ice Cream, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.