We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angelo Brocato Ice Cream

Angelo Brocato Ice Cream
214 N Carrollton Ave, New Orleans, LA 70119-5109 (Mid-City)
(504) 486-0078
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 1,673 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Dessert, Bakery
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Mid-City
New Orleans
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The gelato is absolutely delicious. The staff is friendly and gets to know their regular customers. It's the perfect place to go with friends or with a date. If I don't look out the door I can easily convince myself that I am in Italy.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    69
    11
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Missouri
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Oct 2013 review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We took a streetcar and it was way out of the way but so worth it! The service was great and so was the food. The gelato was outstanding, the pistachio was incredible! They were out of cannoli so my husband left disappointed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yadkinville
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful Cannoli's and Gelato”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Family members took us to this neat little place for desserts. The tasty cannoli's are made right in front of you as you order, and the ice cream is delicious too. It was a really nice treat. Don't worry about the calories!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Water Valley, Mississippi
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great desserts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This was on my list of places to visit when I planned our trip to New Orleans and I wasn't disappointed. We went for dessert after dinner; the line was long but went quickly. Although very crowded, our service was cheerful and friendly. I had the Baked Alaska; my husband had the spumoni, both very good. I also bought a cannoli and another pastry to go and we enjoyed every bite. I will put this on my list again for my next visit to NO.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Delicious off-the beaten path way to dessert bliss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

It's out of the typical tourist circuit, but well worth the side trip. Dozens of Italian cookies and traditional gelato flavors are only enhanced by friendly service. With this many white haired New Orleans ladies queuing up for the friendly service, you know it has to be good.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angelo Brocato Ice Cream also viewed

New Orleans, LA
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Angelo Brocato Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angelo Brocato Ice Cream, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.