We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sinful deserts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angelo Brocato Ice Cream

Angelo Brocato Ice Cream
214 N Carrollton Ave, New Orleans, LA 70119-5109 (Mid-City)
(504) 486-0078
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 1,604 restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Bakery, Dessert
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Mid-City
Forest Lake, Minnesota
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Sinful deserts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

In New Orleans you should always have dinner in one place and after dinner drinks and sweets elsewhere. This allows you to sample many places and enjoy the cool evenings. I truly loved this place, well over 100 years old. The Italian ices and the pastries were just great as was the service and the friendly atmosphere

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    227
    58
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford, Connecticut, United States
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Yummy and fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Reminded me of small shops in Rome and Florence! You order at the counter and wait at a table. The staff is energetic and friendly. No wait (we were there at 6:30 pm) - ordered capuccinos for there, and pastry to go, sat and sipped our coffees (my daughter who lives here, I was visiting). Gelato looked so good, but we went for cannoli to bring home (full from dinner). Will definitely go again to try some gelato! Parking can be tough - we cheated and went around the block to Bienville.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“As good as in Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I'm not a huge fan on ice cream but love a good gelato. Been to Italy many times and went out of my way there to make sure I had the best gelato. I have to say I was Impressed with gelato at this place. I had : salty caramel, pistachio and hazelnut flavors. Pistachio was my absolute favorite as it wasn't too sweet and just perfectly balanced. Definitely would come back here!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Little Ice Cream Shoppe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Small establishment but, as they say, "good things come in small packages". Old time ice cream served with smiles. Great place to take a special someone for dessert of just a sweet cool off.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A must go in New Orleans!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We found this on TA and we took the trolly there, it is very convenient and right by the Carrollton Ave Station. We were curious about the high ranking on TA as a ice cream place and it turns out it makes perfect sense. It is handed over in family by 4 generations now I think and the first owner is from Sicily Italy, which made all the coffee, ice cream and dessert very Italian. And the staff there are just so friendly and fun. They gave us a lot of good suggestions on where to go and what to eat~

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angelo Brocato Ice Cream also viewed

 
New Orleans, LA

Been to Angelo Brocato Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angelo Brocato Ice Cream, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.