We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little overrated, I feel.....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Angelo Brocato Ice Cream

Angelo Brocato Ice Cream
214 N Carrollton Ave, New Orleans, LA 70119-5109 (Mid-City)
(504) 486-0078
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 1,602 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Bakery, Dessert
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Mid-City
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A little overrated, I feel.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

If you want a real chocolate eclair, go to a french bakery. The eclairs were good, but nothing special. The small cannelloni's were fresh and crispy and made on the spot. However, the filling was just OK, a little grainy with not much flavor.

The coffee (cafe au lait) was also average.

The seating is not conducive to lingering as it is not comfortable (wrought iron seats).

We did not sample the gelato, for which it is famous. The range seemed excellent. Definitely not the second best restaurant in New Orleans in my opinion.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    63
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Experience Old New Orleans First Hand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Gelato, cannolis and the coffee are delicious but I can't go there without getting the Strawberry Ice. It is so cool and refreshing. The staff are very friendly and will let you sample just about anything. Going inside is like going back in time...A great experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Forget the calories~”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Phenomenal bakery items that are just too hard to resist! I went on and had to have some gelato to top it off. Delicious! Very polite and friendly staff, too. Worth hunting down for an exceptional treat or two... or more!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

It was pretty good, though it's definitely not the 2nd best restaurant in New Orleans. We had ice cream, cannolis, and an Italian soda. Good, pretty good, but not out of this world like I'd expect for the #2 restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evans, Ga
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Good treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Went here after a long hot day of sight seeing. The Gelato was great. Would have liked to try the cookies and all their other goodies, but had no room left after eating the gelato. Should have gotten some to go, but my children are not big sweet eaters, so I would have eaten them, and I do not need the calories.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angelo Brocato Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Angelo Brocato Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angelo Brocato Ice Cream, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.