We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Angelo Brocato Ice Cream

Angelo Brocato Ice Cream
214 N Carrollton Ave, New Orleans, LA 70119-5109 (Mid-City)
(504) 486-0078
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 1,603 restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Bakery, Dessert
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Mid-City
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

It was pretty good, though it's definitely not the 2nd best restaurant in New Orleans. We had ice cream, cannolis, and an Italian soda. Good, pretty good, but not out of this world like I'd expect for the #2 restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    224
    57
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evans, Ga
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Went here after a long hot day of sight seeing. The Gelato was great. Would have liked to try the cookies and all their other goodies, but had no room left after eating the gelato. Should have gotten some to go, but my children are not big sweet eaters, so I would have eaten them, and I do not need the calories.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The cannoli's are AWESOME, I have not tasted better anywhere thus far, the mini ones are the best. The ice-cream is also pretty good.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“My favorite place in New Orleans to eat sweets and drink coffee!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I am a native of New Orleans, and this has been my favorite place to eat sweets and drink coffee since I was fetus. Seriously, monenem ate dere when I was jus' a tadpole. I bring all of my out-of-town guests there, and have never heard a single complaint.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Gelato!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We loved Angelo Brocato's! The gelato was so delicious that we came back the next day before leaving New Orleans. This is the type of place where you can come, have a coffee and read the newspaper with your pastry (or just go straight to the gelato). Just don't miss this very old, authentic Italian place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angelo Brocato Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Angelo Brocato Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angelo Brocato Ice Cream, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.