We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Kept Secret in New Orleans” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angelo Brocato Ice Cream

Angelo Brocato Ice Cream
214 N Carrollton Ave, New Orleans, LA 70119-5109 (Mid-City)
(504) 486-0078
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 1,630 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Bakery, Dessert
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Mid-City
Alabaster, Alabama
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best Kept Secret in New Orleans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The wait is well worth it! This hidden gem is away from all the hustle and bustle of the French Quarter. There is a variety of homemade gelato that is absolutely delicious. The chocolate dipped cannoli is a must try.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    65
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monee, Illinois
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“It was ice cream and gelato.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We went at about 9pm. It was nice that they were open later. I had a cream puff and rum raisin ice cream. It was good. It wasn't the best I have ever had. I enjoyed the decor but the bar and the Chinese restaurant next door kind of ruined it a bit. Oh and the off duty police officer doing security at the door too was different for an ice cream shop.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

It's a tradition to go to Bracato's for fig cookies and cannoli's in my family. Me and my siblings went there recently and got the gelato and holy cow the rum custard was delicious! My brother got that flavor and I totally hijacked it from him! I also tried the Black Forest cookie and that was delish! The staff was super helpful and nice. The line was super long but they still were nice when I asked to sample a couple of gelato favors.
I plan to make the gelato a stample purchase there now.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“great gelato and cannoli”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We took a pint of Italian Kiss gelato back to our hotel and it was great - took chocolate dipped cannoli's home and they were great 2 days later

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Have been going here all my life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I love this place. It is very much old New Orleans. The blood orange ice is fabulous. I am also partial to the cannolis. They make a small and large size, so you can have gelato and a small cannoli.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angelo Brocato Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Angelo Brocato Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angelo Brocato Ice Cream, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.