We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taste the past!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angelo Brocato Ice Cream

Angelo Brocato Ice Cream
214 N Carrollton Ave, New Orleans, LA 70119-5109 (Mid-City)
(504) 486-0078
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 1,605 restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Bakery, Dessert
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Mid-City
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Taste the past!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is the way Ice Cream used to be in some ways and is better than it ever was! The decor is totally retro. The choices are mind-boggaling (Ice cream, italian ice, and dozens of types of pastries). The search for a parking space is worth the effort, as is the wait in line. Incerdible ice cream, although my wife and I usually go for the Italian Ice. We always take our favorite out-of-town guests there. You can be siure there is no place back home than even compares. It is the best!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    226
    59
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good Ice Cream!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

After eating at Katies for lunch walked here for some ice cream. The Ice cream was excellent! Would recommend it if in the area. Portions are average, and selection is decent. Price is what you would probably expect. Atmosphere is quaint and service was excellent.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Old School Awesomeness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

A destination place? I'm not sure. A place to visit while in the neighborhood? Definitely. We were at the nearby sculpture garden at NOMA and popped in for a taste. The staff were so friendly and the space was adorable. Gelato, biscotti, espresso were all authentic and flavorful.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Meh”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Read great reviews so we decided to stop by on an uncrowned Wednesday afternoon. Older lady who waited on us reminded my Italian wife of her short-tempered, crabby aunt, but hey, everyone has a bad day. Our coffee was luke-warm and our pastries were C- at best. Guess we should have had the gelato. People wait in line for this? Roxy's in Times Square blows this place out of the bayou. BTW this is the first negative review I've ever written.... couldn't help myself.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“New Orleans Tradition”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Do not worry about the lines. Just wait your turn and order everything because it's all good. I order here for parties all the time. the baba au rum and cannolis are great for dinner parties. The Gelato is amazing. Zuppa Ingles and coconut are my favorites. The strattachelli is the other. cookies are good old fresh traditional Italian treats. You will go back!!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angelo Brocato Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Angelo Brocato Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angelo Brocato Ice Cream, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.