We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taste the past!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angelo Brocato Ice Cream

Angelo Brocato Ice Cream
214 N Carrollton Ave, New Orleans, LA 70119-5109 (Mid-City)
(504) 486-0078
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 21 Ice Cream in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Dessert, Bakeries
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Coffee & Tea, Dessert, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Takeout
Neighborhood: Mid-City
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Taste the past!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is the way Ice Cream used to be in some ways and is better than it ever was! The decor is totally retro. The choices are mind-boggaling (Ice cream, italian ice, and dozens of types of pastries). The search for a parking space is worth the effort, as is the wait in line. Incerdible ice cream, although my wife and I usually go for the Italian Ice. We always take our favorite out-of-town guests there. You can be siure there is no place back home than even compares. It is the best!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    332
    77
    12
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Ice Cream!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

After eating at Katies for lunch walked here for some ice cream. The Ice cream was excellent! Would recommend it if in the area. Portions are average, and selection is decent. Price is what you would probably expect. Atmosphere is quaint and service was excellent.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Old School Awesomeness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

A destination place? I'm not sure. A place to visit while in the neighborhood? Definitely. We were at the nearby sculpture garden at NOMA and popped in for a taste. The staff were so friendly and the space was adorable. Gelato, biscotti, espresso were all authentic and flavorful.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Meh”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Read great reviews so we decided to stop by on an uncrowned Wednesday afternoon. Older lady who waited on us reminded my Italian wife of her short-tempered, crabby aunt, but hey, everyone has a bad day. Our coffee was luke-warm and our pastries were C- at best. Guess we should have had the gelato. People wait in line for this? Roxy's in Times Square blows this place out of the bayou. BTW this is the first negative review I've ever written.... couldn't help myself.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
47 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“New Orleans Tradition”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Do not worry about the lines. Just wait your turn and order everything because it's all good. I order here for parties all the time. the baba au rum and cannolis are great for dinner parties. The Gelato is amazing. Zuppa Ingles and coconut are my favorites. The strattachelli is the other. cookies are good old fresh traditional Italian treats. You will go back!!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angelo Brocato Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Angelo Brocato Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angelo Brocato Ice Cream, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.