We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old School Awesomeness” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angelo Brocato Ice Cream

Angelo Brocato Ice Cream
214 N Carrollton Ave, New Orleans, LA 70119-5109 (Mid-City)
(504) 486-0078
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 1,630 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Bakery, Dessert
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Mid-City
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Old School Awesomeness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

A destination place? I'm not sure. A place to visit while in the neighborhood? Definitely. We were at the nearby sculpture garden at NOMA and popped in for a taste. The staff were so friendly and the space was adorable. Gelato, biscotti, espresso were all authentic and flavorful.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    65
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Meh”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Read great reviews so we decided to stop by on an uncrowned Wednesday afternoon. Older lady who waited on us reminded my Italian wife of her short-tempered, crabby aunt, but hey, everyone has a bad day. Our coffee was luke-warm and our pastries were C- at best. Guess we should have had the gelato. People wait in line for this? Roxy's in Times Square blows this place out of the bayou. BTW this is the first negative review I've ever written.... couldn't help myself.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“New Orleans Tradition”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Do not worry about the lines. Just wait your turn and order everything because it's all good. I order here for parties all the time. the baba au rum and cannolis are great for dinner parties. The Gelato is amazing. Zuppa Ingles and coconut are my favorites. The strattachelli is the other. cookies are good old fresh traditional Italian treats. You will go back!!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, New Jersey
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent every time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I stop here at least once every trip to New Orleans, and Brocato never fails! This time was gelato and a cannoli with pistachio to go. Both were outstanding!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is a great spot a short drive from the French Quarter. Conviniently located on the trolley line, the shop offers delicious gelato, pastries, cookies, coffe, etc. There tends to be a line, but don't let that deter you - it's worth it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angelo Brocato Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Angelo Brocato Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angelo Brocato Ice Cream, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.